We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Casado of our entire trip!”
Review of Las Tinajitas

Las Tinajitas
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Broomfield, CO
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Casado of our entire trip!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had lunch here after hiking Rio Celeste. My husband and I each had the casado. I had the chicken and it was amazing. So amazing that I wished we could have eaten here again for dinner. I tried casado in every town we visiting in CR, and this was by far the best. The prices are very reasonable. Great place!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank cfield25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    23
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marseille
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awful, from food to service”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I went to this Soda for a breakfast. First, no prices. I asked and i didn't get any clear answer. then I took a normal typical breakfast and a coffee. The waitress never gave a smile. I paid 2700 colones for a low quality gallo pinto + coffee. Next door, there is a Pizzeria, it is cheaper, the service is really nice and the gallo pinto better with more things. Make a good choice, it is just next door!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leucothea_bershka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great typical food”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Las Tinajitas is a short distance west of the main intersection in Bijagua on the south side of the road. My wife and I ate lunch here. I ordered a casado with chicken (far more than I could eat) and my wife selected several different items from the menu. Very clean with excellent service, the food is well prepared and tasty, and the cost is reasonable. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone staying in or near Bijagua. Only my wife falling and hurting herself while hiking the Rio Celeste trail kept us from returning for dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bijagua de Upala, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Typical and delicious”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

If you wanna taste the real spirit of the costarican food; this is the place you should go...
No artificial ingredients!!!
I can suggest you ask for "casados" (rice, beans, green salad, "picadillo", meat, fried ripe plantain), also I really really loved french fries....
For drink... something natural!!! Pineaple, lemonade... delicious!
Hope you enjoy if you visit Las Tinajitas!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank El_Caminante_Tico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“THE spot for lunch”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I went here three times during my stay in Bijagua. I highly recommend going here, as there aren't many sodas in the area. Going here is a no brainer. I very much enjoyed the casados for ~2500 CRC (~ $5 USD). Super clean, quick service, and wi-fi to boot. Easy to find, located on the right hand side of the road as you enter Bijagua right next door to the Pizzeria.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank voodoo-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Tinajitas also viewed

Bijagua de Upala, Province of Alajuela
Bijagua de Upala, Province of Alajuela
 
Bijagua de Upala, Province of Alajuela
Bijagua de Upala, Province of Alajuela
 
Bagaces, Province of Guanacaste
Bijagua de Upala, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Las Tinajitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing