We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum yum yum”

Pizzeria El Barrigon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yum yum yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Pizza was great, but the typico food was even better! Chicken tacos, tipico plates, and great drinks.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SingapuraCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    81
    22
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice for a simple dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Nice place, good food, clean place. Service is not to slow. Pizzas are wood oven and have a nice flavor. Can buy for take out

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank VeronicaV2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
123 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Good pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wife hurt her leg in a fall hiking to Rio Celeste and was not able to go out to eat at a sit down restaurant that evening. I asked our hosts at Sueno Celeste B&B, and they told us about this restaurant, that we could get carry-out pizza. The service was very friendly, the restaurant was clean, and the pizza took about 20 minutes to be ready. We had ham and cheese and it was very good, though not typical taste of American pizza. Just what we expect and enjoy when travelling to other countries.

They also have a pretty full selection of items on their menu, and it appeared to be a very popular place with lots of customers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rustic Pizza with an authentic view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We ordered a huge pizza and four beers and it was $18. The waitress spoke a little English and was beautiful and friendly. The food was very good and we just sat and watched cars, kids, bikes, and people go by. Lots of locals standing around with dogs enjoying the peaceful view of the volcano.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Molly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good prices and so clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We ate all days there. We enjoy the tipical food and "gallo pinto" .The "batidos" were delicious and we didn´t have any stomacal problems. The water in Bijagua is very clean and the people too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AdelaidaF_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria El Barrigon also viewed

Bijagua de Upala, Province of Alajuela
Bijagua de Upala, Province of Alajuela
 
Bijagua de Upala, Province of Alajuela
Bagaces, Province of Guanacaste
 
Bijagua de Upala, Province of Alajuela
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Pizzeria El Barrigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing