We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous stay in an ecologic environment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casitas Tenorio B&B
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 7, 2011

two quiet and pretty bungalows well furnished (shower/ toilet/ kitchenette n fridge) and surrounded by a wonderful environment. Breakfast in open air served by the two young and friendly owners. Quite a good place to stay min. 2 nights to visit the area > Rio celeste trail - Hanging bridges trail in Heliconia Lodge (at 800m from Casitas Tenorio)

The site also provide, on a separate land, a 'rain protected' campsite w.shower/toilets and an open kitchen.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paddy069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 608 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2011

Casitas Tenorio is a small 2 cabin bed and breakfast and farm on the flanks for the Tenorio volcano that is run by a wonderful young Costa Rican/Australian couple with an inspiring ethic and vision. They started this enterprise and farm recently but Donald has been a local leader in sustainable tourism and community development for years. The cabins are simple but very comfortable, clean and secure. On the property, which they will have happy to show you, they are beginning an integrating farm and trying to reestablish a forest corridor, with the help of a local non-profit group. The traditional breakfast is fresh and hearty and served in an outdoor area that feels comfortable and homey - you feel like personal guests of the hosts at all time and they can help plan and arrange your visits to the local attractions.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WesandLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

A very comfortable, clean and well equipped cabina made our brief stay in Bijagua one of the hghlights of our visit to Costa Rica. We stayed in Cabina #2 which had a coffee maker, grill and toaster with a refrigerator prestocked with coffee, cream and sugar. The birding is superb right on the property of the finca. The hosts are amazing birders and their associate Marlon is truly an expert. Access to the great trails at the Heliconia Lodge is only about 500 meters away. A more friendly place would be hard to imagine.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ardoyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

I planned a trip for my friend and I to Volcan Tenorio at the last minute, and Pip and Donald were friendly and helpful from the first phone call. Casitas Tenorio itself is a gem! The casitas are spacious and comfortable, but without losing that rustic charm. The farm - and the hosts - have a peaceful, relaxed feel about them. The service was great - they were always ready to help and made planning out 3 days worth of activities a breeze. I've lived in Costa Rica for three years and seen a lot of places, but this area is truly something special. When my family comes from the States to visit, we could go anywhere, but I plan on taking them to Casitas Tenorio! It's the kind of place that makes you truly feel like you're on vacation, away from the busyness of other areas, but not impossible to get to. Not to mention that Rio Celeste is about the coolest thing I've ever seen, and the hikes you can do in this area are some of the most stunning I've ever done. To top it all off, Casitas Tenorio is a great value! It's less expensive than the surrounding hotels (the ones I found online anyway) and you get a lot for your money. Thanks, Pip and Donald for being so helpful and accommodating! They made a trip that I scarcely took the time to plan one of my best in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

We ended up finding this little secret place while looking for a little adventure outside of our regular tour.....Donald and Pip instantly treated us like we were right at home..It felt as if we were not on vacation, but spending time with family...The breakfast that was included with the stay each day and was nothing short of awesome...Like with everything Donald and Pip do a lot of love is placed into making it special.. From from fresh eggs to home made fresh cheese , and fruit it was all first class..
Every morning while eating we were greeted by many of the local birds including two large Tucans..We were given a tour of there property and even shown the sloth they have living in the trees on there property...
They were more than helpful to point out all the things in the area that were avalible to do within a short distance. It would be best to rent a car and use them as a base for your adventures, but if not Donald and Pip are more than helpful in finding you transfers...
I highly recomend making a visit to Casitas Tenorio and let Donald and Pip share with you their " Costa Rican Hospitality" They will make you understand the true meaning of "Pura Vida", and you wont want to leave.....

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bombero590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying in this little jungle hideaway a few weeks ago in mid-January. Bijagua is swiftly becoming a hotspot for rural tourism and Casitas Tenorio is the perfect spot to base yourself as you partake in the many, many activities available nearby (i.e Rio Celeste waterfalls, horse riding to the nearby volcanoes, canopy walks, bird watching etc).
I stayed in a private cabin on the Casitas Tenorio site (the farm on which Pippa, Donald and their baby Kira live and work). It was quite spacious, and complete with a double bed and private bathroom with a gaslight heated shower that worked very well! Pippa was the perfect hostess, providing me with a towel and making me feel at home immediately. Soap was also provided in the cabin. There is a well-equipped outdoor kitchen with which anyone staying in the cabins or camping (there is ample space available to pitch a tent!) can cook. Unfortunately it was raining most of the days I was there (I´ve been told that was quite out of the ordinary- a wave of bad weather had come up from the Carribean) so I only got to do a few activities but I definitely intend to go back to visit the family whom I´ve come to know quite well! Donald is a very experienced local tour guide, born and bred in Costa Rica (I think in Bijagua itself) and he is bilingual. Meanwhile Pippa, an Australian, was very helpful to organise activities for me in Bijagua and even assisted me when I was trying to figure out where to go next in Costa Rica.
Though the farm is a fair walk from the main part of town, the hosts were very helpful to suggest local taxis for pickup which were generally quite cheap and reliable.
I will definitely go back to Casitas Tenorio (hopefully with some sunshine so I can ride some of the horses on the farm) and I would suggest plenty of people to do the same

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phina11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

The joy of staying here at this farm was that it was a completely different experience from anywhere else we had stayed in Costa Rica - coast, jungle or city.. It was like a homestaybut the beautfiully appointed cabin was set apart from the main house so there was always privacy and a chance to sit on the veranda rocking chairs and look out over the views. You can also camp there. There is an open kitchen where you can cook your own food but breakfast is included and what a feast that is! Donald is from the region and is super-expert on the area - the history, flora and fauna and tours can be arranged at very reasonable prices can be aranged. These can be into the jungle, to the hot springs, to the volcanoes which rise on both sides of the farm - If you feel a need to eat after the breakfast and dont feel like cooking yourslef there are 2 very good sodas in Bejagua AND if you are lucky and you like football you can go and watch the local 5 a-side teams fight it out in the local stadium.
The one draw back to staying at this wonderful place is the 2 1/2 K walk to it along a bone-shaking dusty road but taxis wil take you with no problem and Donald and Pip, the hosts with the most, can arrange a pick up if you give them a call from Bejagua.
Go and enjoy!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tblaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bijagua de Upala
1.2 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
775 reviews
4.4 mi away
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tenorio Volcano National Park
856 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heliconias Rainforest Lodge
Heliconias Rainforest Lodge
#4 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Tenorio Lodge
Tenorio Lodge
#3 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
338 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Los Volcanes
Hotel Los Volcanes
#5 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
21 reviews
1.7 mi away
B&B Hotel Sueno Celeste
B&B Hotel Sueno Celeste
#2 of 8 in Bijagua de Upala
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casitas Tenorio B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casitas Tenorio B&B

Address: Casitas Tenorio | 2km southeast of the Centre of Bijagua, Bijagua de Upala 21304, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Bijagua de Upala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bijagua de Upala
Price Range: $112 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casitas Tenorio B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casitas Tenorio B&B and Farm is your home away from home set on a working farm within Northern Costa Rica. We are located 3 km from Bijagua, your gateway and ideal base for birding and exploring Volcano Tenorio National Park and the incredible Rio Celeste. Enjoy the views of Volcano Miravalles from your private ‘casita’ (cottage). We are a Costa Rican-Australian couple passionate about community rural tourism, community development, sustainability, responsible travel and organic farming. We strive to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay with us here in paradise! We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Casitas Tenorio B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casitas Tenorio B&B Costa Rica/Bijagua De Upala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing