We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful, peaceful and wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B Hotel Sueno Celeste

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&B Hotel Sueno Celeste
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, peaceful and wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We fell instantly in love with Sueno Celeste. It's well-kept, clean and adorably decorated. The little duplex houses are a dream to stay in and Dominque and Daniel are so friendly. When we arrived they gave us a detailed map of the area and a sheet with a list of activities that included pricing, directions and approximate total trip times. Every bed and breakfast should be this organized! Highly recommend for anyone wanting to visit the Rio Celeste area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventurer23_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    80
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
193
479
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Sueno Celeste, thanks to the lovely decorated and clean rooms, the beautiful Rio Celeste, the homemade breakfast and the great advice Daniel and Dominique gave us. There's a very nice eco-farm nearby where you can do a tour to see orchids, snakes, frogs, butterflies and, if you're lucky, some sloths hanging around. But Daniel will tell you all about it. Be sure to take his word when it comes to restaurant recommendations!
We spent three weeks in Costa Rica, and this was one of the most special places we went, thanks to the beautiful area and the great stay at Sueno Celeste!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoortjeEnPieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
121 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our cabin at Sueno Celeste was the Toucan cabin. All of the cabins have name of animals rather than numbers. The signs pointing to each cabin, and even the tags on the key chains have a picture of that animal painted by Daniel, the proprietor. We stayed 2 nights here, and enjoyed our stay very much and would not hesitate to return.

The grounds are lovely, well-maintained, and FULL of lots of birds. There is a small pool that we did not use. It is obvious that this lodge is a work of love by Daniel and Dominique.

As you check in, Daniel gives you a book full of information about the town of Bijagua and activities in the area. You also are loaned a laminated detailed street map with the main businesses and important locations identified. He goes over it and tells about the most important, even letting you know if one has closed or a new one has opened since the map was published.

When you first enter your cabin, you get a sense of European class with a tropical touch. The bed has a mosquito net which is only there for decoration and quite attractive. There is hot water, good in the sink, but not really HOT for the shower. It is very comfortable temperature though and was fine for both of us.

Air conditioning is not needed here because of the elevation. There are a number of screened windows that provide good circulation as well as a screened main door. There is also a fan.

On the porch there is a small refrigerator, a table with chairs, and a hammock.

The only issue we had was with a little bowl of candies for guests placed in a bowl near the coffee pot (another nice thing). Some small ants had obviously found a hole in one of the packages and were enjoying the candy. We had placed a sack with food near this and the ants got into some of that food. We understand that this is tropics and insects are plentiful and very challenging to control in an environmentally sensitive way.

The breakfasts were AMAZING and included the best bread we ate in Costa Rica. It was hand-made by Dominique and we told her that she should sell it on the side. Also fruit jam which they made that was as good as any we've eaten anywhere.

It was served in an enclosed patio with large windows to see activities outside. There were hummingbird feeders that we abuzz with many different species. Also got a great picture of a Black-mandibled Toucan in direct sunlight. Got a really good picture.

While making reservations, I asked if they could arrange for a bilingual bird guide who knew the birds in the Bijagua area. Daniel connected us with Jorge Soto who was a sensational guide. I have a handicap that causes balance issues when walking, and among other places, Jorge took us to a farm where reforestation has been going on for many years on much of the property. There is also an adjacent wetland. This property has trails that are very well maintained, quite level, and easy for me to use. They are set up for night walks, so at the more challenging places, there are fences to keep hikers safe. It was perfect for me and we saw LOTS of birds.

Jorge's excellent bird guiding services are, to a large degree, what made our trip to Bijagua so enjoyable. His knowledge of the locals birds and where to see them was incredible. Saw many new species for us, and got photographs of others that were better than any we've taken before.

During that afternoon we decided to take the 1.5k trail in Tenorio Volcano NP to the waterfall on the Rio Celeste. It had rained quite a bit over the previous couple of days, so the trail was very muddy - deep mud in spots. My wife's walking stick snapped when we neared the ranger station and she fell and hurt her leg badly. A medical person who was onsite said that she thought that her leg was broken and that she should get an x-ray.

We returned to Sueno Celeste to get our insurance information before heading to the hospital in Upala. Upon arriving, she thought it was not broken and asked to wait a little while before going to the hospital. I asked our hosts about this and they gave us detailed directions for getting to the 24/7 hospital with an emergency room. They also offered their services by phone in the event that an English speaking doctor was not available when we went. Really gave us peace of mind.

They also gave us some ice, which helped a lot with the pain and swelling. Thankfully, it turned out my wife's leg was not broken.

Great place to stay with incredible hosts.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Daniel and Dominique (I think those are their names) are so helpful! Daniel goes through all the activities and things to do when you arrive and gives you a map and a booklet he has put together. Our room was simple with decorative mosquito nets and beautiful gardens outside. The shower was completely cold, but we were only staying one night so it didn't matter too much. Daniel even let us borrow his portable DVD player and some DVD's at night. Breakfast was to die for with free marmalade, bread, and eggs from the chickens. Such a beautiful place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
33141
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Simple and clean accommodations.
We were there in June and because of the elevation, neither I nor my two travel companions felt the need for air conditioning.
Excellent breakfasts with eggs, fruit and homemade bread and sometimes homemade brownies.
Run by a Belgium couple who have lived in Costa Rica for over 20 years. They were able to give us tips on local sights and on a shortcut in driving to our next destination.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmd8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in Sueno Celeste. Very nice place to stay! Perfectly comfortable, very beautiful and clean! Daniel and his wife are perfect! We had the best breakfast in Costa Rice with homemade bread and marmelade - so good!!! :) And the view observing all the Colibris was just amazing! Also the nearby places to see - very nice!
We highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitefacedmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Words will not be sufficient enough to describe. It's a must see. Sueno Celeste B&B is well taken care of. Rooms are immaculate and very comfortable. Daniel and Dominique are very hospitible. Breakfast was awesome. Everything was homemade and so fresh. My complitments to Dominique. Daniel will give you very detailed explanation of things to do and go see in the area. We went to Rio Celeste and hiked to the waterfall and the blue pools of water. It was amazing!!! Be sure to take Daniel's advise and see it all. On the grounds of the B&B they have their own trails to walk and see many things.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bijagua de Upala
2.7 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
5.8 mi away
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tenorio Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tenorio Lodge
Tenorio Lodge
#3 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Heliconias Lodge
Heliconias Lodge
#4 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casitas Tenorio B&B
Casitas Tenorio B&B
#1 of 7 in Bijagua de Upala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
12.8 mi away
Rio Perdido
Rio Perdido
#1 of 1 in Bagaces
5.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Hotel Sueno Celeste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Hotel Sueno Celeste

Property: B&B Hotel Sueno Celeste
Address: Road #6 - Between Kms 28 and 29, Bijagua de Upala 21304, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Bijagua de Upala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bijagua de Upala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Hotel Sueno Celeste 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our small Hotel-B & B offers 5 bungalows with 6 rooms, private bathrooms and a terraces. All overlooking Miravalles and Tenorio volcanoes and just 25 minutes away from Rio Celeste. You will be surrounded by a quiet and tropical garden. You will enjoy our very personalized attention and our mountain climate (1.500 ft. above sea level), only 70 minutes away from Daniel Oduber International Airport. A real resting place after discovering some of the activities offered here around such as rafting, hiking, horseback riding, volcanic activities, agro-ecological farms and 3 National Parks. In the area we have over five hundred species of birds (850 for all the Costa Rica. You will be able to see some of them from our Morpho Café Gallery where we serve our famous breakfasts and show you art and handicrafts from our of local artists ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your B&B Hotel Sueno Celeste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Hotel Sueno Celeste Costa Rica/Bijagua De Upala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing