We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay at Rio Celeste”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&B Hotel Sueno Celeste
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sittard, The Netherlands
1 review
“Perfect stay at Rio Celeste”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a wonderful time in the beautiful Sueno Celeste. The rooms are big, clean and lovely decorated. We saw a lot of birds in the garden. Every morning the breakfast was delicious. The self-made bread tasted very well (you will not get good bread very often in Costa Rica!). We stayed for three days. The frienly owners of the lodge gave us some good advices for trips in the beautiful surroundings (NP Vulcan Tenorio). With a lot of information, they can answer any question of their guests. In the town of Bijagua there are some nice restaurants, a bank (Cash-machine) and a supermarket, so everything you need as a tourist. We forgot our camara in this lodge. The owners found it in our room and send it tou our next hotel. We were really happy about this perfect service :).
When you are looking for a relaxed lodge, surrounded by beautiful nature, many animals (we even saw a Jaguarundi) and good rooms and food, then you must absolutely go to Sueno Celeste.

Room Tip: Rooms with Garden and Vulcano view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    86
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
202
520
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very nice quite place to stay. The owners are very very friendly,helpful and gave us very good advice to explore this beautiful place like rio celeste, miravalles. The room is very clean and nice decorated with coffee included and fridge.
Breakfast: Homemade bread and marmelade fresh scrumbled egg from there own chickens, fresh fruits and amazing coffee. We really liked this place and could stay longer than two nights here!! Thank you!! Miriam y Remo

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miriam_hess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Do not pass up the chance to stay at this lovely bed and breakfast. The cabins, which are beautifully decorated, are spacious and offer complete privacy. We stayed two nights and enjoyed hiking to Rio Celeste, the local Cultural festivities and dinner in town. We also enjoyed a bottle of wine on our porch over looking the well tended gardens and view of the volcano.

Daniel is an attentive host, sharing maps, directions and information. Dominique is a fantastic chef and you must try her homemade passion fruit marmalade and fresh pastries.

We intend to return and bring family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwerner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I have stayed in a variety of different places in Costa Rica and Sueno Celeste is tops. The proprietors here have paid a lot of attention to detail here and it does not go unnoticed.

The location is par none. Located ~ 3 km outside town (5 min drive into Bijagua central), it is absolutely quiet here. You can hear the sound of the rainforest at all hours and it is beautiful. You can truly see why they love living here....it is an amazing place on earth.

Everything is great....rooms are designed beautifully, mosquito nets if you need them ( I didn't), ample lighting , beautiful use of wood throughout the place, super clean, everything in perfect working order: There is no question why Sueno Celeste won an award for "Best B&B."

Highly recommended for couples (would not bring kids here, IMO), as the setting is very, very romantic. Singles will find this place a great option too, although, take it from this solo traveller -- you'll pine for another with whom to share this beautiful place : ) !

Daniel and his wife are very helpful in recommending various options for activities, which include the Butterfly Farm, Waterfalls in Bijagua and the famous Rio Celeste. However, you may just prefer the option of sitting in the hammock and doing nothing at all!

Would come back in a heartbeat and you will too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voodoo-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, CR
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We were in the worst hotel ever: "Bolaños Bay" in La Cruz, Guanacaste, the place was so disgusting, that we decided to go somewhere else; we decided to go to Rio Celeste.

While escaping from that disgusting hotel (Bolaños Bay), we had no time book a hotel; we didn't have time to lunch. We saw this place and decided to first, check the rooms, then, pay for the room.

We checked the rooms with Dominique, she was very kind and helpful so we decided to stay there.
She showed us a map and recommended some restaurants, we followed her recommendations and it was so accurate, she really knew what we were looking for.

This is the best B&B, the hosts: Daniel & Dominique prepared our breakfast, everything was home made and it was delicious, besides that, while we were eating, we saw A LOT of birds, it was amazing.

If you are looking for a place where you can relax, a great breakfast, a place where the hosts are nice, helpful and always smiling, then this will be the right choice, you won’t regret it.

Can’t wait to visit Sueño Celeste place again, highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauzumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We recently spent 2 nights at Sueno Celeste, this was our first time in Costa Rica and we couldn't have picked a better place to begin our trip, this place is a hidden gem in a beautiful little village. Daniel and Dominique were great hosts, they made their own guide to local attractions and detailed map, they were very helpful in sharing tips about the best restaurants in town and events, we went to Rio Celeste and the hanging bridges, and highly recommend both.
The B&B is beautiful, you can tell that they really paid attention to even the smallest details, our room was very clean and nicely decorated, the bathroom was great and even had a rainfall shower head, but the best part was the outdoor areas, the landscape was beautiful and we had the most amazing views of the Tenorio volcano right from our terrace, and birds singing every morning.
The breakfast was great too, fresh fruit, home made jam, delicious muffins, eggs from their hens, and delicious french pressed Costa Rican coffee, you can beat that.
I highly recommend Sueno Celeste, thank you Dominique and Daniel for your hospitality, we will visit you again soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marce53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This B&B has a great location, a short drive to Rio Celeste. The property has lovely flowers and birds. We had two rooms, which were pretty similar. Clean and functional. Air conditioning was lacking, and the fans were somewhat inadequate. There was a major ant issue and we had a hornet flying around in one of the rooms. I understand that this is a tropical area, but there should be more protection against bugs. A member of our party also got bitten up from sitting on the hammock. The pool is tiny and buggy, but was refreshing after a long hike. Daniel was very nice and hospitable. Breakfast was good. Overall, the hotel has a lot of potential, and with bug spray and ant poison and air conditioning could be very doable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yadin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bijagua de Upala
2.9 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
642 reviews
6.0 mi away
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tenorio Volcano National Park
777 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tenorio Lodge
Tenorio Lodge
#3 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Heliconias Lodge
Heliconias Lodge
#4 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
91 reviews
21.4 mi away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,297 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casitas Tenorio B&B
Casitas Tenorio B&B
#1 of 8 in Bijagua de Upala
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Hotel Sueno Celeste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Hotel Sueno Celeste

Property: B&B Hotel Sueno Celeste
Address: Road #6 - Between Kms 28 and 29, Bijagua de Upala 21304, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Bijagua de Upala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bijagua de Upala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Hotel Sueno Celeste 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our small Hotel-B & B offers 5 bungalows with 6 rooms, private bathrooms and a terraces. All overlooking Miravalles and Tenorio volcanoes and just 25 minutes away from Rio Celeste. You will be surrounded by a quiet and tropical garden. You will enjoy our very personalized attention and our mountain climate (1.500 ft. above sea level), only 70 minutes away from Daniel Oduber International Airport. A real resting place after discovering some of the activities offered here around such as rafting, hiking, horseback riding, volcanic activities, agro-ecological farms and 3 National Parks. In the area we have over five hundred species of birds (850 for all the Costa Rica. You will be able to see some of them from our Morpho Café Gallery where we serve our famous breakfasts and show you art and handicrafts from our of local artists ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your B&B Hotel Sueno Celeste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Hotel Sueno Celeste Costa Rica/Bijagua De Upala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing