We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B, great hospitality, beautiful nature”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&B Hotel Sueno Celeste
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed with our 5 children for 2 night's at Dominique and Daniel's place, where we were warmly welcomed. The rooms are beautiful and clean, the breakfast is great (good fruit and bread, excellent coffee). We could have spent a day more too explore the beautiful surroundings. We were uo to marvelous Rio Celeste, Daniel provides site maps and all the necessary explanations.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathalie180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (898)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 898 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

To start, we had a personalized welcome from owners Daniel and Dominique, very sympatic, Daniel speaks perfectly french english and spanish (maybe more)
great room equipped and decorated and minergic, view of the Tenorio Volcano from the bed, hot shower with a small window overlooking the sunrise and the birds singing in the morning. So many great details!
After a hearty breakfast, we were treated to a detailed explanation of possible hikes in the region, with very helpful advice!
The place is ideal to relax and enjoy nature, the garden is adorned with many typical plant species attracting hummingbirds. This place bears perfectly the name of ECO, more, owners support local activities so social. And the price is very ok !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StenRett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed just for one night but that was more than enough to experience the hospitality of the coupe that runs the hotel (Daniel, if I am not wrong and his wife)! It just happened that we got really late to the hotel and Daniel was waiting just for us. He lead us to our rooms and he kindly explained everything.

We were two couples and each stayed at a double room. The rooms are nicely decorated and really specious, as well as the bathroom.

But what took my breath away was the little cozy cabin where you have your breakfast served. It is so enchanting, made out of some fine wood..., and you are surround by nature and while having breakfast you can see and hear the chant of several birds approaching to the nearby bushes to eat. The breakfast is home prepared and is served with freshly baked bread (a bread to die for).

Finally, I cooled off a bit at the pool..., small but really nice!!!

I definitely would stay here again. The attention you get is really personalized, custom-made I would say!!! You won't regret staying here!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsaenz023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My husband and I had planned for only two nights' stay at Sueño Celeste, and I wish we had more time to spend at that lovely B&B! The helpful hosts, the comfortable room with a gorgeous view, the delicious homemade breakfast - everything makes this a perfect place to stay. Daniel helped us arrange the transportation to and from Bijagua and gave us lots of useful tips on local hikes, activities, and eateries. A very special experience was watching all kinds of colorful birds feed on the fruit right in front of the house as we were having breakfast :) I would come back in a heartbeat, and would sincerely recommend it to all my friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank didobas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

If you are looking for a confortable lodge at a very convenient price near Tenorio and Maravillia Volcanoes, if you like to feel a familiar atmosphere around you, if you love homemade bread and marmelade for breakfast and superb pancake, if you look for precious informations on the surrounding area then you need to go there.
A belgian couple who really makes you feel at home and in a paradise corner at the same time

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank millo0970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Sueno Celeste was a dream. There were four of us: my husband, myself, and two teenagers, and we spent two nights here. Daniel and Dominique were very accomodating and helpful. The cabinas are spacious and beautiful and the fresh eggs, fresh fruit, french press coffee, bread and passion fruit marmalade at breakfast were delicious, as were the beautiful birds that came to the feeder. We walked around the grounds too as the garden is gorgeous. We rented a 4WD in Liberia and drove here ourselves via Canas. The roads are paved to Bijagua - but not up the mountain to Tenorio itself. The inn was very easy to find and we enjoyed two wonderful dinners (pizza and tilapia) at the nearby sodas (little cafes) in Bijagua. Daniel gave us directions to Tenorio National Park and the hike to Rio Celeste (Blue River) was great. I even took a little dip in the hot springs. The hike is a bit muddy so bring your hiking boots, but it is definitely worth the trip. We ate lunch (almuerzo) near Tenorio at Posada La Amistad - don't miss this wonderful rural and charming soda. There is also a pool at Sueno Celeste so bring your bathing suit. The rooms have a refrigerator which was great as we had stopped at the grocery store in the town of Canas on your way to Bijagua to buy some Imperial (local) beer.

Room Tip: There are only four cabinas so don't delay in making your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weberbusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We spent 2 weeks in Costa Rica, sadly only 2 nights were at Sueno Celeste. We had a terrific stay - the room was spacious, it had the nicest bathroom of any of our hotels, the gardens and view are breathtaking. We took a birding tour to see the Rio Celeste with Jorge and he was the best guide we had throughout our travel in Costa Rica. In addition, we did a night tour with Miguel and loved his forest/garden, full of frogs, birds and flowers. We enjoyed walking on the country lane from Sueno Celeste to Bijagua - we saw so many birds, including oropendulos and their incredible woven basket nests along with happy cows and goats in the most beautiful setting. Many thanks to Daniel, Dominique, Jorge and Miguel - this was the best part of our trip, we much preferred Bijagua to la Fortuna. They helped us with all our transport and the breakfasts were the best as well!

Room Tip: THe views from the blue room were incredible - the overlook a small swimming pool. We took a dip aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TreeHouseBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bijagua de Upala
6.0 mi away
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tenorio Volcano National Park
826 reviews
2.9 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
711 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tenorio Lodge
Tenorio Lodge
#3 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Heliconias Rainforest Lodge
Heliconias Rainforest Lodge
#4 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
98 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casitas Tenorio B&B
Casitas Tenorio B&B
#1 of 8 in Bijagua de Upala
548 reviews
1.7 mi away
Finca Mei Tai
Finca Mei Tai
#3 of 8 in Bijagua de Upala
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Hotel Sueno Celeste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Hotel Sueno Celeste

Address: Road #6 - Between Kms 28 and 29, Bijagua de Upala 21304, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Bijagua de Upala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bijagua de Upala
Price Range: $110 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Hotel Sueno Celeste 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our small Hotel-B & B offers 5 bungalows with 6 rooms, private bathrooms and a terraces. All overlooking Miravalles and Tenorio volcanoes and just 25 minutes away from Rio Celeste. You will be surrounded by a quiet and tropical garden. You will enjoy our very personalized attention and our mountain climate (1.500 ft. above sea level), only 70 minutes away from Daniel Oduber International Airport. A real resting place after discovering some of the activities offered here around such as rafting, hiking, horseback riding, volcanic activities, agro-ecological farms and 3 National Parks. In the area we have over five hundred species of birds (850 for all the Costa Rica. You will be able to see some of them from our Morpho Café Gallery where we serve our famous breakfasts and show you art and handicrafts from our of local artists ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your B&B Hotel Sueno Celeste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Hotel Sueno Celeste Costa Rica/Bijagua De Upala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing