We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place in Bretagne” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau du Val d'Arguenon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau du Val d'Arguenon
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place in Bretagne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed 3 days at Chateau du Val in August during a trip through brittany coming from Munich.
It is a lovely, charming castle with nice hosts. The perfect place to escape for a while.
We really can recommend it. We felt like king and queen in former times.
Any time again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank digros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    19
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
34
62
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Chateau du Val d'Arguenon over August 2012.

Let's start with the pros: the location is amazing, overlooking the sea, and nested in a quiet wood.

Now the cons :
- Terrible hosts :
> Numerous comments from our hosts over the course of our stay made us feel very unconfortable, as if our presence was annoying the hosts.
> our check out was a total mess : we were 40 minutes late to do so and Mr de la Blanchardière burst out in the room, screaming that it was intolerable. He had a very threatening attitude. I could feel he was on the verge of getting physically violent. My wife was in her underwear when he burst into our room but it did not seem to bother him at all as he stared at her a couple of times and took his time to finally retreat from the room. This type of behavior is totally unacceptable from a host, whatever the circumstances. No apologies were offered at any time.

- Poor room quality :
> old and dirty decoration (not very clean wallpaper, diry carpet)
> room not well appointed at all : the restroom and bathroom were separated from the room by a curtain, allowing very limited privacy.
> Beddings were old and not very comfortable
> Very poor soundproofing : you could hear any noise of the house, at any time

- Poor service :
> Room directions were vaguely given to me - no proper welcome
> Room has been cleaned once in 3 days and smelly baby diapers were left in the bathroom - I had to take out the garbage bin myself
> No working internet connection

Overall, I would strongly recommend to avoid this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Antoine732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

What a great discovery . A most lovely home , steeped in history with a wonderful parkland garden, amazing views and delightfully restored rooms; the bedroom was particularly comfortable.It was a perfect sanctuary of peace where we were able to relax after a very long drive.A perfect base for exploring this very interesting and beautiful area and close to the excellent restaurants in St Cast de Guildo.Breakfasts were delightful with freshly baked bread, home made jams and yogurts, served in an impressive dining room.Madame de la Blanchardiere and her husband Olivier were very charming and looked after us very well providing as much local information as we needed.We intend to return to Brittany and will hope to be able to have accommodation here again. Mike & Annie Allen

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Broxwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We found this Chateau by chance. It was the most impressive accommodation of our holiday! We enjoyed the grandeur and the silence of the parc with access to a separate little beach. The castle and the rooms we stayed in were lovingly restored by the owner preserving the authentic ambience of this place. We remember the lofty atmosphere of the dining room, where the hosts offered the well sorted breakfast in a unobtrusive manner.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UlrikeDeutschland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY/USA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

We have stayed at Chateaus in France before, but I would rank this one among the best, especially when you consider the price/value ratio. It is situated in a beautiful and totally peaceful park on the ocean (but you cannot swim there). Our room was charming and the hosts were very nice and helpful, but unobtrusive (in my view some B&Bs don't afford privacy to the extent we like it - we like to be left alone).

The location is great for visiting La Cote d'Amor (Dinard, St. Malo, Mont St. Michel, Fort de Latte). There is a decent restaurant just a few miles from the Chateau (Biniou) with a gorgeous beach in front of it. There is also a restaurant in walking distance (15 minutes) from the Chateau, but we never tried this. You will get a very generous continental breakfast at the Chateau

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chateaubriand room - would chose that again ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GNTVF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Cast le Guildo
16.1 mi away
Chateaux du Val - Domaine du Val
0.9 mi away
Hotel de l'Esperance
Hotel de l'Esperance
#4 of 4 in Saint-Cast le Guildo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel le Manoir Saint Michel
Hotel le Manoir Saint Michel
#1 of 3 in Sables-d'Or-les-Pins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel des Bains
Hotel des Bains
#2 of 4 in Saint-Cast le Guildo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
9.6 mi away
Royal Emeraude Dinard - MGallery Collection
9.9 mi away
Castelbrac
Castelbrac
#1 of 23 in Dinard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau du Val d'Arguenon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau du Val d'Arguenon

Property: Chateau du Val d'Arguenon
Address: Notre-Dame du Guildo, 22380 Saint-Cast le Guildo, France
Location: France > Brittany > Cotes-d'Armor > Saint-Cast le Guildo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Cast le Guildo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful residence built in the 16th and 18th centuries, situated in a park that directly overlooks the sea. 5 bedrooms with private bath or shower and WC. 2 cottages to book for the week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chateau du Val d'Arguenon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Du Val D'Arguenon Saint-Cast Le Guildo, France - Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing