We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent holiday”
other travelers have booked this property
Terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Terrace
The lounge area The kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Terrace
The lounge area
The kitchen
The kitchen
Dining area
Main bedroom
Bunk bed room
Bathroom
Little Nod
The view
Welcombe beach
Welcombe beach from the cliff path
At the top of the waterfall
The waterfall
St Nectan's church Welcombe
St Nectan's well
Clovelly from the coast path
Clovelly harbour
The coast path
Speke's Mill Mouth waterfall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Welcombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GreenDrag...
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday”
Reviewed April 29, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Little Nod offers very well equipped and comfortable accommodation in a lovely, quiet location. The owners are very friendly and extremely helpful.
Just adjacent to the property is a lovely thatched pub, The Old Smithy that has bags of character and provides delicious food.
We visited in April 2017 with our dog and had a very enjoyable holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 1, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review and I'm so glad you had a good holiday. You will be very welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterchri...
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect pet friendly accomodation”
Reviewed February 28, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Real home from home everything for a great holiday was provided. Immaculately clean & maintained. Excellent surroundings & amenities a real gem.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 1, 2017
Thank you so much for your review and I'm glad you enjoyed your holiday. You are welcome to come back to Little Nod anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diprosesu...
Chatham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Little Nod”
Reviewed February 28, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

First impressions were how lovely, clean and cosy Little Nod was. Things just got better and better. Kitchen was generously supplied with everything you could need. A courtesy tray laid with biscuits and some milk in fridge too.Sue and Mick are so thoughtful with cupboard full of games, shelf full of books and dvds and little tourist info to help your week go well. They even left us some extra wild bird food so we could watch the many birds feed from kitchen window including the pheasant! Little Nod is in such a peaceful area so you can relax there or go to see the many beautiful places in Devon and Cornwall as well. We loved our week even though the weather didn't behave we will look back on it fondly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 1, 2017
Thank you for your review and I'm so glad you appreciated all that Little Nod and the area has to offer. Do come back again one day and see what it's like at another time of year :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SomersetG...
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“All that's required”
Reviewed January 30, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This little chalet is a great place to get away from the pressures of everyday life. It is wonderfully clean and tidy, well placed for exploring Devon/Cornwall and adjacent to one of the best pubs it has been my privilege to frequent (a bonus for the 'designated' driver).

Even washing the dishes becomes a pleasure as all the local birds flock to the feeders just outside the window.

We can well recommend Little Nod for either a quiet getaway for a couple or as a family base.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 8, 2017
Thank you so much for your review Gary and we hope to welcome you back to Little Nod one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john c
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm Comfortable and Cosy”
Reviewed November 18, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Have just returned from a week in the delightful"Little Nod", everything was spotlessly clean, comfortable, with lots of extras that made for a relaxing holiday. The weather became extremely cold during our stay, but the heating was so efficient that we had warm, relaxing, cosy, evenings after our busy days walking, Thank you Sue and Mick for a lovely week. We hope to return again hopefully when the weather is warmer for our Walking

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 18, 2016
Thank you very much for your review John & Jean and we hope to see you again one day in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry_Hai...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A really lovely little place to stay in Devon”
Reviewed October 9, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week at Little Nod Cottage recently, and had a really lovely time.

It's hard to find places that are dog friendly, and we have 2 dogs with us, so we were pleased that pets were welcomed.

We found when we arrived that Little Nod had more than we imagined. Not only a larger fridge and freezer than I've ever seen in most holiday accommodation that we've used previously, but a microwave, a toaster, and electric kettle besides the hob and oven.

The kitchen cupboards were not only there for storage space, but also contained a wide range of stuff we usually had to bring ourselves - stuff like salt, pepper, tea bags, coffee- much of it was all provided. there were other kitchen gadgets too, besides the ones already mentioned , as well as all the utensils and pots and pans needed for cooking .

The lounge also contained cupboard space - there were toys and games , as well as a whole shelf of DVDs for evenings indoors or rainy days.

Thee were two bedrooms - and although we were just ourselves , there was a second bedroom with two bunk beds for children. The main bedroom was not short of storage space either. the shower in the bathroom was also excellent- the shower head would detach from the wall and had an adjustable head to give you just the sort of shower you wanted. it was very convenient and easy to use.

Situated facing south , Little Nod also had a lawn at the front and had garden / patio furniture that was easy to erect. I got my 4 inch telescope out and had a good look at the Milky Way and the new moon while we were there - away from the city lights and in the clean , fresh sea air, you could see so many stars more clearly - this is definitely a place to go star gazing , even if you are not really into astronomy yourself - the night sky out here is breathtakingly beautiful.

For those who want to get closer to nature in other ways, we found lots of places nearby with spectacular scenery, we also were able to watch wild birds like Goldfinches and pheasants that came right up to the house . The coast also attracted surfers who wanted to ride the wild Atlantic waves as they broke on the shore and whether you interested in the geography and geology of this rugged coastline, or the history of the wrecks and smugglers, or just wanted to look at something straight out of Poldark, this was the place to be. kids would love to look through the rock pools and see all sorts of wildlife. It was more a holiday for walkers, explorers and adventurers, but of you just wanted to lie on a beach somewhere , there was a 3 km stretches golden sand about 7 miles away in Westward Ho! if you got in the car.

There were also woodland walks as well as clifftop paths all within walking distance - and as it's right on the border, we were able to reach many towns in both Devon and Cornwall by car. These included Westward Ho!, Clovelley and Bude, which was quite close and had a decent sized Sainsbury's for our Groceries shopping.

The cottage itself was situated almost right next to a really good pub , the Old Smithy , which is worth a write up in it's own right, it's not just the best pub for miles around, its also one of the best I've ever been to. the pub had a beer garden . two floors so we could take the dogs upstairs to a table out of the way, did cooked meals as well as a wide selection of beers, local and commercial - not to mention ciders as well as wines and spirits. There was a also live music from local bands and a quiz night, too, if you like that sort of thing.
Another interesting local attraction was the Welcombe Pottery.

All in all , it was a really warm welcome we got in Welcombe, and we would recommend this place to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to say - it was marvellous.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 10, 2016
Thank you Gerry for your very comprehensive review, it's much appreciated as it helps give people a real feel for this wonderful place we are so lucky to call our home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrie G
1 review
“Perfect! Home from home”
Reviewed July 28, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Perfect little bungalow in a perfect location. Attention to detail was outstanding and the information available in the bungalow made planning our days so easy and being a vegetarian the owners reviews on all local pubs/restautants/cafes helped planning meals out too.
It was clean and comfortable, the flowers and birds were just the icing on the cake.
The pub was beautiful and staff were lovely.
This was our first visit, but so looking forward to planning our next one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review Kerrie and we hope to welcome you back to Little Nod soon xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing