We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Peaceful Home From Home”
other travelers have booked this property
Living room all warm and ready for Christmas 2018
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room all warm and ready for Christmas 2018
Living room 40' TV
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Living room all warm and ready for Christmas 2018
Living room
40' TV
The kitchen
The kitchen
Main bedroom
Bunk bed room
Bathroom
Shower
Terrace
Little Nod
The view
The Old Smithy Inn
The Old Smithy Inn
The Old Smithy Inn
Fire in the Old Smithy Inn
Welcombe Pottery
Welcombe beach
Welcombe beach
Welcombe beach from the cliff path
At the top of the waterfall
The waterfall
St Nectan's church Welcombe
St Nectan's well
Clovelly from the coast path
Clovelly harbour
The coast path
Speke's Mill Mouth waterfall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Welcombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
VanessaTo...
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Peaceful Home From Home”
Reviewed November 23, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We arrived at LIttle Nod in the pouring rain and were delighted to find it so warm and welcoming. There was tea, milk and biscuits waiting which were very much appreciated as it meant we could have a much needed cuppa before unpacking - even Homer and Thora (our dogs) had a Bonio each, which they were very happy about! We had intended to eat out at the Smithy Inn (which is literally 1 minute's walk from LIttle Nod) but found that we were so settled and cosy, that we didn't bother going out on our last night. The kitchen is very well equipped with everything you could possibly need and more, the heating is more than sufficient even in the coldest weather and the double glazing works so well that we couldn't hear the 40-50mph winds that were battering the landscape outside. The local countryside is beautiful and peaceful, there are lots of lovely walks and beaches to enjoy just a short drive away and if you need to venture out to the shops for supplies, you don't have far to travel. The information that Sue & Mick provide is invaluable and thoroughly comprehensive, everything you might want or need to know is provided, and the telephone (landline) was a great idea as there's no mobile signal (which is actually quite lovely). There is a free Wifi which is useful if you need to contact the outside world, but we rather enjoyed being incommunicado for a while...sometimes it's good to leave the world behind and escape for a while. Thank you Sue & Mick for all the thought and effort you put in to making LIttle Nod the perfect holiday retreat...we'll definitely be back soon.

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homely feel and attention to detail providing everything you might need during your stay.
Liked least: There was nothing not to like, it was all perfect.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 28, 2015
Thank you for your review Vanessa, you are both welcome back to Little Nod anytime :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison R
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfectly peaceful, well equipped and very comfortable, lovely walk to the sea”
Reviewed February 22, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Little Nod has everything needed for a very comfortable stay in a very quiet and peaceful location. Spotlessly clean and very well equipped.
The walk to Welcombe Mouth is lovely. This little retreat has great appeal for lovers of birds seen at close quarters from the kitchen sink. I have no hesitation in recommending Little Nod.

Date of stay: February 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2015
Thank you for your review Alison, we are so glad you had a good break and enjoyed the birds. Come back again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgette...
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
2 reviews
“Perfect winter retreat!”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We came over from Spain to spend a week in the UK during the wettest month on record. Luckily Little Nod had everything from a tumble dryer to an umbrella! Very well located only 5 mins drive to the main road, and ideally situated for exploring the whole of the south west coast. The house was very clean warm and cosy and had everything from a night light for our 3 year old, to Mr Bean DVD's to a steamer. All in all a perfect base for a family holiday in summer or winter that could not be faulted

Date of stay: January 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 26, 2014
Thank you for a lovely review, you are all welcome back anytime :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
373lynnem
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect location and accommodation”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We found Little Nod and booked sometime ago, our expectations were good based on the location, pictures and general reviews. However, these were soon exceeded. Little Nod has everything you would want from a holiday in Devon, it is well equipped, clean and very comfortable.

There are many lovely walks from the chalet itself and Sue has gone out of her way to ensure that this information is available for guests and she even supplies multiple copies of the walk instructions so that you can take them about and about.

Almost next door is the Smithy pub which serves good food and beer and all the staff are a credit to the owners Richard and Jenny. Monday nights were a highlight as all the locals appear for a folk jamming session featuring many varied instruments.

We so enjoyed Little Nod and realised how popular both the chalet and location are so whilst there we wanted to ensure that we wouldn't miss out on the dates we wanted and booked a short break later in the year and another week in 2015. Highly recommend if you are looking for a holiday that gives you access to beaches and great walks and comfortable accommodation.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Not enough vegtables at the pub!
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, Lynne. I'm glad you had such a great time and will be returning soon. We look forward to welcoming you all back to Little Nod.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret...
River John, Canada
1 review
“All you need, and more”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We loved our stay in Little Nod. Everything you need is provided (and more - Sue very kindly provided us with bath towels so we didn't have to pack them in our suitcases for our trip from Canada) It's such a cosy cottage, if we come this way again, we will definitely stay there. It's handy for side trips for such places as Westward Ho!, Clovelly, Bideford and Bude. The beds are clean and comfortable. The Smithy Inn pub next door is great and has delicious meals. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Date of stay: March 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything needed for a holiday stay was provided.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review, you are very welcome to come back anytime you are in the UK.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D P
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Little Nod is a peaceful, homely restful place to relax and unwind.”
Reviewed March 19, 2014 for a stay in September 2013

A spacious, well appointed and very comfortable haven away from it all. Spectacular sunsets, wonderful scenery with lovely walks. Our stay at Little Nod was very peaceful and restful. Hope to return next year.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 22, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoy Little Nod and are coming back again later this year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alison w
Lambourn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 13, 2014 for a stay in April 2013

Spent a perfect week at Little Nod, wonderful property and location. Little Nod is faultless-homely, welcoming and in immaculate condition. Sue and Mick are perfect hosts, providing everything one could want for, and more.I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Little Nod, and I will be returning. Thank you again Sue and Mick.

Date of stay: April 2013
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing