We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it so much we had our wedding here!”
Review of Hotel El Varadero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel El Varadero
Reviewed February 19, 2012

After our stay in 2010 we fell in love with this hotel and Zahara so when we were looking at where we should get married this was our first option.

You will see from other reviews that this hotel and indeed Zahara is not a typical tourist destination, it is known for attracting the Spanish for their holidays. This is not a bad thing you just need to be aware and take a phrase book or google translate!! Make an effort basically!

The hotel is a family run business owned by delightful sisters who are v hands on and helpful. The gardens and sun terrace are breath-tackingly beautiful and the food is gorgeous. Food and alcohol is expensive but value for money considering the quality. (comparative to London)

We hired a local wedding planner, Jolanda to help us plan the wedding as our Spanish skills would not have been strong enough to deal with local suppliers and her business connections and local knowledge was invaluable.

Room Tip: Beach view rooms with balconies are compact but you have large balconies with amazing views. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BexB_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 146 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2012

Having seen a real mix of reviews on Tripadvisor I was looking forward to finding out for myself just what it was like!
First you have to note that the hotel is designed for Spaniards, not for the British tourist (no matter how sophisticated or well behaved!).
The thing you have to know about this hotel is that it is the most expensive hotel in a long line of lovely hotels on a fabulous stretch of beach. I know it is meant to be Ibiza style cool, and at first glance, the rustic look is great. HOWEVER!
Service is incredibly poor. No matter how simple a (paid) request, you are met with rolled eyes and a sigh. The owners are just looking at their watches and waiting until you pay and leave.
The only beds you can lie down on outside do not have a view of the beach and sea, rather they face a large cactus. Not what I want to look at while on a beach holiday! If you would like to use the sun beds and canopies on the beach, that is extra.
The room and shower were not particularly clean, but worse of all there was a crack on the toilet seat. Not a big deal when you remembered, ever so slightly "nippy" when you didn't!
Typical service scenario - just about to jump into the shower, realise there are three cologne bottles, no shampoo, no conditioner. Run downstairs in my dressing gown. "Hi there, my room has run out of shampoo, do you have some I can take up please?". "If there is no shampoo, it is run out, there is a shop 15 minutes that way" (points out door, returns to book)...
5 Star prices, 2 Star Service. Try the Melia next door for half the price, large pool (no pool at Veradero), great service, and shampoo in your room!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Happyamelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

You get it all at El Varadero, Idillic Location, Variety of Cocktails, Superb Food, Chill out Music, Sophistication, Charm & Service from EVERY member of staff!

I recently visited El Varadero with my partner. We had one of the beach view rooms, this can sometimes mean you have a view of the beach from a mile away but this is not the case here, you are right on the beach.

The hotel has a perfect balance for tranquility, lively atmosphere, sophisticated/modern accommodation and some how they manage to be able to cater for families and couples without conflict.

The rooms are not cheap, however it is worth the money.

The restaurant caters for breakfast [9 to 12], lunch [1:30 to 16:00] and dinner [20:30 to 23:30], ensure you book your table to avoid disapppointment as this place is popular with the locals. I would discribe the food as Asian Fusion. I tried everything on the menu and it was all superb.

Maria Jose owns and runs the hotel, she is very friendly and helpful as are all of her staff. In particular Alexis was our waiter and he was an absolute superstar, speaking English and Spanish, he also helped us improve our Spanish.

The only downside is that there is not a swimming pool, however there are sunbeds on the beach, 1 minutes walk from the hotel.

I could write for hours about this hotel, Ultimately if you want luxury on the beach whilst being able to enjoy breath taking views and sunsets this is the place for you.

PERFECT!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BexB_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mayte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank mariasanrro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank manuela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
2  Thank Gonzalo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zahara de los Atunes hotels
0.1 mi away
Melia Atlanterra
Melia Atlanterra
#2 of 12 in Zahara de los Atunes
1,207 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Cortijo de Zahara THe Sense Collection
El Cortijo de Zahara THe Sense C...
#3 of 12 in Zahara de los Atunes
344 reviews
2.3 mi away
Gran Sol Hotel
Gran Sol Hotel
#4 of 12 in Zahara de los Atunes
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Antonio II
Hotel Antonio II
#7 of 12 in Zahara de los Atunes
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#5 of 12 in Zahara de los Atunes
105 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Antonio
Hotel Antonio
#6 of 12 in Zahara de los Atunes
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Varadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Varadero

Address: Urbanizacion Atlanterra, s/n, 11393 Zahara de los Atunes, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Zahara de los Atunes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Zahara de los Atunes
Price Range: $117 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel El Varadero 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach hotel, stunning views and awesome location at Zahara de los Atunes, Cádiz, Spain. Restaurant, kitchen Thai- Japan- Perú Drinks and Food Wedding and catering for party ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel El Varadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing