We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Diner food..not at its best” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunrise Cafe - CLOSED

Sunrise Cafe
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
95 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Diner food..not at its best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Have had breakfast here several times when "grandma" cooks food is good eggs are scrambled no white chunks. Omelett is yellow not white egg great home fries.service is mediocre hate having to ask for ketchup for home fries refills on coffee. Bakery goods well tim hortons does it better
place is for sale hope new owners raise the bar
lunch came with homemade soup what a joke packaged beef stock with frozen vegetables
place used to be chock full of locals no more
I know why

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mollnme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Hamburg, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Out for breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Camping near y we deceided to go out for brakfast .Not a fancy or large place but the food and service is great. Your server is the owner . Friendly and great food. Stopped in in 2012 also . Would stop again. One more thing good coffee.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Buzz96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Nice little cafe in the little town of Port Rowan.I had the fried pickerel and chips--the fish was nice and crisp,not at all oily,one of the best I've had! My partner had an omelet which was also tasty but the best part was the gluten free toast which was served with it--it was really good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CDceedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Local flavor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

This is a nice little local place. The breakfast was home cooking at its best. The owners were really friendly. I wish we would have found this place sooner. We will be ba

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lecuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A nice lunch stop!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2010

A local. main-street lunch-room - good food, good service - no frills! Enjoy!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank drm1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunrise Cafe also viewed

Port Rowan, Norfolk County
Port Rowan, Norfolk County
 
Port Rowan, Norfolk County
Port Rowan, Norfolk County
 
Port Rowan, Norfolk County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing