We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service, cold food after very long wait, wrong food, no water”

The Boat House Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 14 Restaurants in Port Rowan
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: (519) 586-9316
Hamilton
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Terrible service, cold food after very long wait, wrong food, no water”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

After a great day at Long Point, we stopped here. Too bad. A hungry 6 year old waited over an hour for his cold chicken fingers and fries. Even he said the food was not good. Wife received the wrong order, but we never saw our server again until the bill, so she just ate it. My wife's water never came, nor did a refill on the ice tea. What poor quality food. Having it served cold after a hour wait for it just added to the disappointment.And the place is not cheap. Guess you pay for the convenience of stopping in the only place in town. We certainly won't be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    34
    22
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
96 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Cook step up to the plate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Waterfront restaurant should be packed with customers but sadly its not
why? Frozen mushy fries
place is located In fresh vegetables/fish heaven
but no made in Norfolk dishes
too bad as with fresher food place would be a destination restaurant
$15for a burger n fries no slaw is a tad pricey
but at least the bun is toasted
Don't eat chicken wings

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mollnme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillsonburg
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

What a great little restaurant with a sailing ship interior design and decor. It is at the dock at Port Rowan tucked away at the bottom of the hill. Drop in by vehicle or boat (lots of docking available) and enjoy great food and service by the friendly staff. Their wings and burgers are my favorites, but find your own by stopping in. My wife and I stop in once a week over the boating season and several times over the winter months.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bellman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“UNACCEPTABLE!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

OMG - do not come here - so far we'be waited 1hour 20 minutes for a wrap/salad - still no sign of food - dish... UNACCEPTABLE!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank mxDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Very Good Pub Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Great views of the Lake and Port Rowan harbour. The food here is consistently good service is excellent. I have been many times and always the same quick service with good food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allan1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boat House Restaurant also viewed

 
Port Rowan, Norfolk County
Port Rowan, Norfolk County
 
Turkey Point, Norfolk County
 

Been to The Boat House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing