We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cottage Hotel Kundasang
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ranau
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Good Location”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Very good location to view the mountain but must wake up early. The valley view from the hotel is awesome. Near the Desa Dairy farm and Kundasang Memorial park. Reasonable rate. Enjoy my day staying here.

Room Tip: Get the deluxe room get the half mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azharaida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    23
    8
    4
See reviews for
16
11
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Room is okay, clean and well maintained. Staff is quite funny, always joking. Walking distance from Pekan Kundasang. But water pressure is low! and far from Kinabalu Park if you don't have any transportation. Reasonable price.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Muhammad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keningau, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The hotel is ok for a budget hotel.. the room that we got is quite small and not very comfortable, but clean..except for the last day we were there, there were lots of flies. They need to improve their breakfast as it is the same meal every morning (fried mee hoon, porridge, boil egg and bread only every day). The water pressure is very low hence very difficult for me to take my bath. The service in the restaurant is very frustrating. It took like forever for me to had my dinner as they made the wrong order. Overall the hotel is just ok if you don't plan to stay long at kundasang.

Room Tip: Read reviews from other tourist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niza7808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We got the last room available on the Christmas Day without prior reservation, so even if the reviews were not great, we felt in luck.
The room was in the "basement", ie overlooking the hotel car park = OK for 1 night. It was clean although desperate for a refurbishement - particularly the bathroom.
All else was more or less average but the staff was pleasant and service quick. The location with a good view of Mt Kinabalu goes a long way towards making the paying of this overpriced and ageing hotel palatable.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Economic but not satisfying...
As this hotel has no elevator, its really exhausted dragging our luggage up using staircase...
A perfect spot if you want to see Mount Kinabalu since as its located at the bottom itself...
Food is just nice as it serve more on Chinese style menus..
Overall, it was just nice...

Room Tip: Direct Mount Kinabalu view ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharmila88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Economic but not enjoyable stay, suitable for youngsters but not elderly folks. The hotel has no elevator, so quite difficult for my family and i as we needed to drag our luggage up using staircase. The staffs not friendly nor very unfriendly, but i highly recommend to try the food besides, the fried rice is very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siew teng l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife pick this place..and get a very special rate by mentioning a guy named Hussen..

What I like.
Very near to Cow Farm. A must to visit.
Not so far away from the bottom of Mount Kinabalu. A perfect spot if you want to see Mount Kinabalu since it's actually located at the bottom. Need to wake up as early as 6am to see the view before the fog covers it at 9am.
Very friendly staff, although the breakfast consider okay as this is a budget hotel.

Overall, I will consider to stay here again in the future..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kazama82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ranau hotels
0.6 mi away
Kinabalu Pine Resort
Kinabalu Pine Resort
#1 of 2 in Kundasang
345 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mile 36 Lodge
Mile 36 Lodge
#3 of 10 in Kundasang
100 reviews
14.6 mi away
Sabah Tea Garden
Sabah Tea Garden
#4 of 27 in Ranau
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Celyn Resort Kinabalu
Celyn Resort Kinabalu
#4 of 13 in Kundasang
165 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kinabalu Mountain Lodge
Kinabalu Mountain Lodge
#2 of 10 in Kundasang
105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ceaser's Place
Ceaser's Place
#7 of 10 in Kundasang
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Hotel Kundasang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Hotel Kundasang

Property: The Cottage Hotel Kundasang
Address: Jalan Kundasang Kauluan, Ranau 89308, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Ranau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ranau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cottage Hotel Kundasang 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Cottage Hotel Kundasang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage Hotel Kundasang Ranau, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing