We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cottage Hotel Kundasang
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ranau
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Extremely small room and poorly maintained. Water pressure was so low showering was almost impossible. Missing shower curtain, missing light bulbs, only bath towels but no bath mat or hand towels etc. Fan only, no air-con.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank John_MtEden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for The Cottage Hotel Kundasang
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 53 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

Been here few times for leisure and bussiness trip. Room quite comfortable but ya, the water pressure is too low, but still ok for me. Foods was simple and same each time i visited this hotel. Overall, im satisfied!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MdmVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The room for 3 persons are good enough or a night's sleep. The room is small but clean - although the pressure for the shower was low. Location wise, it is within 5 minutes walking distance to the market.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Yes..even this hotel is old, we satisfied with their service. Paid for RM130 for double bed room , room was face to the raflessia replica. In the morning, peak of Mt. Kinabalu can be snap just fr. our room. The location of this hotel was near by pekan Kundasang, bank (only Allied Bank), stall of food, fresh vege n fruits n war memorial just by walking.
So many place of interest nearby eg: dairy farm, sabah tea ark, hot spring & fish spa by driving for a day.
No air cond in the building, and totally not necessary coz the weather quite cool.

Room Tip: pick / request a room with facing to the mount kinabalu.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shewrote_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

The hotel is old and not well maintained. The room is dark, not so clean and can hear the voice from outside clearly. Hence, don't expect too much from Cottage Hotel in Kundasang.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Our_Fairyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

This hotel nice enough to stay and the rates is affordable though no A/C. Actually A/C is not necessary as this is a place that near the hills (Mount Kinabalu) and the weather is quite cold especially at night. The room is quite clean but is not spacious.There is a mini market opposite of the hotel.

The view outside the hotel is fantastic and it's a good opportunity if you want to relax and have a leisure time over your hassle time. The air is fresh and clean too. The rates includes breakfast and steamboat buffet (Dinner or Lunch depends on your arrival time). The steamboat buffet is quite nice and the food is healthy. The service of the servants also quite nice.

There is Wifi service but it can't reach our room. We only can spend your time surfing net throuhg lobby area and they provice magazines and books too inside lobby area.

This is a hotel that near Kundasang tourist spots like Kundasang Memorial Park (5 to 10 mins walk), Kinabalu National Park ( 10 to 15 mins driving), Desa Cattle Dairy Farm ( 5 mins driving), Poring Hot Spring ( 1 hour driving) and etc.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JCChiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Nice enough hotel, kind of old but well kept. No A/C but didn't really need at at the time of year we were there. Staff were well meaning, but didn't speak brilliant English. Hotel was relatively expensive at 100+ MYR/night. Included breakfast (which was cold). About a 20MYR taxi from Kinabalu Park. Free wifi but it didn't reach our room.

Easy to get back to KK - just walk up to the main road and flag any one of the mini buses/express buses - all of which should cost 15/20MYR each person. One tip: maybe be a bit selective about which bus you flag. We were worried none would come past and ended up on a real "local" bus for 2 hours back to KK with no a/c, which seemed to go to every KK suburb before the main station - it was lucky we weren't in a hurry! :o)

Overall - decent place to stay, but we did drive past a LOT of equally nice looking hotels between Kinabalu Park and The Cottage Hotel, many of which were advertising rooms at 20MYR/night per person...which may have been a better idea than booking in advance like we did.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staceyonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ranau hotels
0.6 mi away
Kinabalu Pine Resort
Kinabalu Pine Resort
#1 of 2 in Kundasang
359 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mile 36 Lodge
Mile 36 Lodge
#2 of 11 in Kundasang
109 reviews
14.6 mi away
Sabah Tea Garden
Sabah Tea Garden
#4 of 31 in Ranau
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Slagon Homestay
Slagon Homestay
#14 of 34 in Ranau
22 reviews
2.2 mi away
Celyn Resort Kinabalu
Celyn Resort Kinabalu
#5 of 12 in Kundasang
166 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dream World
Dream World
#10 of 34 in Ranau
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Hotel Kundasang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Hotel Kundasang

Address: Jalan Kundasang Kauluan, Ranau 89308, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Ranau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ranau
Price Range: $27 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cottage Hotel Kundasang 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Cottage Hotel Kundasang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage Hotel Kundasang Ranau, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing