We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous view blocked”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mount Kinabalu Heritage Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ranau
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view blocked”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed in main building as closer to wifi access @ lobby. Room on 5th floor would have a gorgeous view of the magnificent Mt Kinabalu however was blocked by tall pine trees.Need to go down to viewing platform to appreciate the view. Room amenities basic and looks worn.Be prepared for noisy vibrating windows when the wind blows especially at night.Depending on water pressure, toilet flush can be an issue.Chalets look great for pictures but can be tricky for elderlies as a lot of stair climbing involved. Meals served in generous portions and average on taste.There is a surau for Muslim travellers located on M floor.Okay for stopover but not for long stay.

Room Tip: High floor in main building for better view.Chalets for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 818Ummy818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    21
    41
    23
    25
See reviews for
36
30
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

hotel is 7km from kinabalu park.for our party of 6 , hotel counter wanted to charge rm 30 per pax return trip . we managed to negotiate to rm 150 return altogether. nice view of forest , unable to see mt kinabalu summit. on christmas eve and day, carollers entertained during dinner. rooms vary in quality, our corner triple room did not have carpet and ceiling showed water seepage, our sons' room had carpet but no shower anchor. windows can rattle due to strong winds

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChongCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

No doubt that we enjoy the enchanting view of Mt. Kinabalu and we are very pleased with the front staff to assign us a room with such fantastic view. Some tips for family traveling with young children : the hotel room has such a wide and low window that young children must be careful of the danger of them playing near the window. We requested for a baby cot and it was already there when we checked-in, thanks to the efficiency of the staff. Other than the dull and tired room, we are very satisfied with the room view and the hotel staffs service.

Room Tip: We stayed room 07-09 and it has magnificient unblocked view. However, family with young children sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsiaRatatouille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

The room was in need of a bit of attention. We had 3 single beds and none were very comfortable. The bathroom needed modernising too. However, the hotel has such a wonderful view of Mt Kinabalu that makes up for most things. The food was average.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JudeEB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I love the natural air-cond,the air is really fresh..you can have a walk around the hotel located.the staff there also friendly..but the restaurant is sometimes not open,a bit difficult to get nearby restaurant..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelodyTeo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Room: Spacious enough for 2 person with twin bed. No aircon inside the room as they use NATURAL AIR CON... huhuhuhhuhuhuh the natural one cooler than the room temperature air con. like at London during dawn.

Bathroom: hot shower available. don't bath with cold water as the temperature level almost like freezing point....

location - high above the hill that can overlook the Kundasang town and also facing toward Mt kinabalu.

Value: good when booking early..

Room Tip: Good place to view Kundasang and Mt Kinabalu
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kennyahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kangaroo Island, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Like the perkasa in Tenom, this hotel is third world but for the view of Kinabalu that cannot be beaten from any place anywhere in the Mt Kinabalu area. Watching the clouds play around the craggy peaks of the tallest mountain in SE Asia is nothing short of awesome. This hotel is set high on a hill looking out across the valley towards this sacred megalith. Now what insanity possesses people to plant an arc of tall conifers (pines) to block most of the view except the highest peaks of the mountain? Was it some colonial-inspired madness to disguise the most wonderful asset of this country as some English retreat hidden behind tall trees? This is a view I travelled far and wide to behold only to have most of it hidden. Now get this for a stab at natural justice or whatever - if you come from zone A you pay x + + (countries like US Australia etc), Zone B countries like China pay x + and locals pay x. The ratio is 3 is to 2 is to 1. Now that is fine but the truth is the hotel is only worth x regardless of who is paying. And I don't think anyone here really cares. It is a shame for the fact that this type of hotel commands the best views and positions in the landscape and deserve care and attention.

Room Tip: Dont know - they did not upgrade and rooms appeared to be equally shabby, sad, careworn, old, some s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NibbanAh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ranau hotels
1.0 mi away
The Cottage Hotel Kundasang
0.3 mi away
Kinabalu Pine Resort
Kinabalu Pine Resort
#1 of 2 in Kundasang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kinabalu Park
Kinabalu Park
#3 of 27 in Ranau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Kinabalu Mountain Lodge
Kinabalu Mountain Lodge
#2 of 10 in Kundasang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mile 36 Lodge
Mile 36 Lodge
#3 of 10 in Kundasang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
14.3 mi away
Sabah Tea Garden
Sabah Tea Garden
#7 of 27 in Ranau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Kinabalu Heritage Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Kinabalu Heritage Resort & Spa

Property: Mount Kinabalu Heritage Resort & Spa
Address: W.D.T. 11, Mount Kinabalu, Ranau 89309, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Ranau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ranau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mount Kinabalu Heritage Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Mount Kinabalu Heritage Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Kinabalu Heritage Resort And Spa
Mount Kinabalu Heritage Hotel Ranau
Mount Kinabalu Heritage Resort & Spa Ranau, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing