We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunparks Select Villa”
Review of Sunparks Ardennen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunparks Ardennen
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Sunparks Select Villa”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Good accommodation for a family of four or five. It was clean, comfotable and quiet and the chalets were not overlooking or too close together. Overall satisfied with our stay. Would recommend to others but would say it is a quiet place which for sum may be what they are looking for.


  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs

Helpful?
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    342
    296
    143
    76
See reviews for
757
113
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Before I booked a "place" for my holiday or so, reading some customer review and public rating is a must for me. I do not want to regret and complain my stay during the holiday. Well, majority great review and 7,8 out of 10, not bad! So, I booked 6 persons bungalow for 4 days in november.

Darn! This is what I got....
The bungalow is clean but you easily notice that the house does not seem occupied for a long time (maybe bad maintenance). The air is not fresh and humid. In the living room, some water comes out from the floors. It was not much, however it is quite annoying. When you accidentally step on it, dirty footstep around:(. Even more annoying that they do not provide any mop or floorclothe. Not even for your bath room, I hate wet bathroom. I think, it won't hurt the business when you invest one bath mat / floorclothe for each bathroom. Or at least you have to let us know beforehand so that we don't have to use kitchen paper or our own towel. I know this is a bungalow, in Europe we have to bring plenty basic house ware to stay, but bath mat, seriously?.

The restaurant is not recommended, over the price for such less than international buffet standard. I am just lucky that me and my friend love to cook, supermarkets are nearby!

Anyway, we still spent nice time with family and friends, when it is a nice weather, the area and surroundings are quite beautiful for short hiking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank OctopraiseManullang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vielsalm hotels

Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

"Beware the Ides of March" a famous soon to be removed Roman Emperor was told! I have warned you in advance! The same goes for this "Family" holiday resort! I firstly booked via phone after problems with their website. Got a "great" last minute deal, however I strongly advise all potential visitors to read the small print where our original cost soared by nearly 100% with "extras" including heating (my 8 year-old daughter got charged the same as the adults), cleaning, taxes and so on......

Eventually went back to their reception staff who offered a part refund, which was later declined by their head-office who "implied" I got a confirmation e-mail (which I did not). Was not impressed with a very run-down establishment in dire need of major maintenance! Thankfully the kids enjoyed the pool, although the jacuzzi's were not all working! Found all the extras very expensive (even by Belgian standards). The "creme de la creme" has to be the "International buffet" at the restaurant.... demotivated but helpful staff, cold food, not well-stocked buffet, some very strange meals which I have never seen before in my life made this culinary experience one to forget quickly! Ooh did I also mention the family at the table next to ours who removed the rather large chocolate statue next to the sweets (there obviously for decorative purposes) which was taken with to be consumed in pieces as they left the restaurant!
I mentioned my "holiday" to colleagues of mine in the TV industry who immediately replied "Aah but you see Sun Parks are not Center Parcs! Be careful!" (What a shame I had not mentioned this before! Worn carpeting, broken-off water features, rubbish everywhere..... run-down chalet... all made it a very worthwhile holiday! As the saying goes... "You get what you pay for" What a dump!

Room Tip: Try another hotel or resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertPaltiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

we ve been to a lot of centerparcs and sunparks...we know that not everything can be always 100%, but we were really surprised about sunpark ardennen. we went with 3 small kids and one toddler. we had a standard bungalow which was absolutely fine, not the newest, but everything was clean and working. at home not everything is new or has the latest style, nothing to complain about some people overhere...yes, it is crappy to use the buggy overthere, it s going up and down, but that s why you make a booking in the ardennen...it is hilly overthere!!! we got a bungalow with a little garden and a fence. the kids could play without any problems outside without us sitting next to them. we didnt see the pool because two of our kids were sick, which was a pity. the restos are nice and simply. the indoor playground was ok too...kids could get rid of some energy when it as to cold outside...for the rest, there was a big outdoor playground, which was perfect and clean. the reception was really helpful with proposing activities for kids around the parc...there was so much to do but not enough time. you were not obliged to pay the prices in that little shop (which of course is much more expensive like in every park and hotel), because there was a supermarket in 2 min drive. and there was a petrolstation just on the other side of the street which is pretty handy too...we are definetely going back but then for a week!!!!

Room Tip: we were fine with the standard bungalow, because i was too afraid that the kids might break things...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tanya210974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had a 4 days midweek stay in a 6 person standard cottage. It is a great location on a hill close to the forest, good for a hike, seeking mushrooms. There was plenty of (edible) mushrooms, and we even found blueberries mid October. There is also nice places to visit in the surroundings.

The property is in a nice setting with lot of green, but a bit dated (mid 80's?). The pool area (Aquafun) is good fun, certainly for children, but needs some repainting here and there. Seemingly they take care of water quality, frequently taking water samples. The cottage is clean on arrival, but basic, even though refurbished (new kitchen and bathroom). Heating works fine, but the lights are not sufficient, a few dark energy saving lamps in the living (though Belgium has cheap nuclear electricity), no reading lights in the upper floor bedrooms. Price is adequate (= good value) if booked with discount tariff (last minute or early booking), but the full catalog price would certainly be too much.

Only source of annoyance was noise due to footsteps of animals on our roof at night (villa # 255). Reception told us they could be martens (fouine), but we rather suspect raccoons (raton laveur), which are getting more and more frequent in central Europe. This withheld us from sleeping at times, that's why they overall rating is only average.

Room Tip: The standard cottages are fine for those who come for the outdoors and the pool area, but those who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

The area was very nice, good to walk around and close to some supermarkets. I was a little but worried after all the bad thing i heard about the park so i booked a Superior cottage. The cottage was very clean and nice! It had a rainshower and a sauna. It was very cosy with nice decorations. The park is not an option for disable people, because the road is very high and it's not easy to walk around. Maybe the park can use an update, because some parts are a little bit old. The pool was fun, with three slides. The food ( buffet) was not very cheap and it' was not good, so the bes thing to do is to buy some meat in the local shop ( spar) and hire a grill, it's very fun!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated cottage ( exclusive) It's not the cheapest but it's really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nathalievb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menen, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Once in a while most couples we know go to one or the other sunparks franchise as a quick break. So we decided to give it a go and booked a last minute deal into a select Villa at sunparks Vielsalm.
We enjoyed the time we spent as a family with our 4 year old daughter, but we can't say the sunparks location added a lot of bonus besides the aqua fun pools. The select villa was worn and a bit shabby. Most surfaces other than the floors, bathroom and kitchencounter weren't dusted nor cleaned in a long time. The available appliances rather basic : no dishwasher, only one sink, no oven. The outside bench wasn't verry inviting to sit on due to various stains and growths. The bedrooms smelled like they hadn't been aired in deccades and no matter how long we aired the rooms, the spring break smell persisted. For almost 700€ for 4 nights we can do better if we only drive a bit further away towards France, but we wanted to stay close to home this trip.
Parking regulations aren't uphold, so the brave can cruise about anywhere they want along the mostly steep hillside roads.
The prices in the shops and restaurants are a bit of a rip off even for Belgian standards. Better to take your shopping at KNAUF SHOPPING CENTER SCHMIEDE about 10 kilometers to the south, just across the Luxemburg border.
The swimming pools are basically places where you can dump your uncontrolable teenagers to get some peace of mind for a few days a weak. We were pretty bored and fed up by the place after two hours a day. No place for younger children.
Another local tradition seems to be the flocks of boy and girlscouts coming to the center for their weekly bathing sessions. How I love the smell of burned logs in the morning. The staff tries verry hard to keep the floors clean, but the later you arrive at the aqua fun the more filthy the floors in the lockerroom gets.
Sunparks just wasn't our cup of tea and we won't be bothering any of them again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MCasteleyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vielsalm
0.5 mi away
Hotel Myrtilles
Hotel Myrtilles
#3 of 3 in Vielsalm
102 reviews
7.5 mi away
Aux Massotais
Aux Massotais
#1 of 3 in Vielsalm
17 reviews
6.3 mi away
Domaine Long Pre
Domaine Long Pre
#3 of 4 in Stavelot
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Relax Hotel Pip Margraff
Relax Hotel Pip Margraff
#1 of 4 in Saint Vith
292 reviews
6.8 mi away
Boutique Hotel Dufays
Boutique Hotel Dufays
#2 of 4 in Stavelot
42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baton Rouge Motorlodge
Baton Rouge Motorlodge
#2 of 3 in Vielsalm
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunparks Ardennen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunparks Ardennen

Property: Sunparks Ardennen
Address: Rue de la Grotte 12, Vielsalm 6690, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Luxembourg Province > Vielsalm
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Vielsalm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunparks Ardennen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Sunparks Ardennen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunparks Ardennen Hotel Vielsalm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing