We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Argyle Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Argyle Guest House
Ranked #2 of 5 Tomintoul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
long island New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Diane and Steve were wonderful.
They make sure that every guest has the best vacation possible. Our room was clean and comfortable.
The food is AMAZING!!!
I look forward to staying there again and would highly recommend them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen v v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    15
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
47
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sumner, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I just spent a week in Heaven. There is nothing better, when traveling to feel like you are home when you turn the key to your room or sit down at the breakfast table. There have been lots of reviews telling you that Diane and Steven are wonderful people and the meals are fantastic and the rooms are spotless and all of that is true (beyond true!) but it is the atmosphere that makes the Argyle House a home. Thank you Diane and Steven for making me feel homesick!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frannie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Diane and Steve do their utmost to make you feel comfortable and at home. They take such good care of you, nothing seems too much. The rooms are nice and clean, but the breakfast is outstanding! Eggs Benedict, salmon on scrambled eggs, mmm, could stay here forever!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eline76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Again, Diane and Steve were nice as ever. Breakfast was brilliant (Steve is the best B&B cook of Scotland) and the room clean. If we are near the Speyside, we will book the Argyle.
They will open a new facility near Tomintoul in October. We know them for many years now and know their quality standards. It will be fantastic.

Room Tip: Room 7 is the family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Another exceptionally delightful stay. We return there each year due to the very high standards of service, accomodaton, food. Diane and Steven are extremely pleasant friendly and welcoming, Nothing is too much of an ask. Rooms are more than adequate, very spacious, pleasant, clean and comfortable. Great range of food on offer. They have great knowledge of the area and places to visit.Diane and Steve obviously put much love and effort into offering a high class experience which is why we return on a yearly basis. We very much look forward to returning next year. We write this with very best wishes and kindest regards. Lee and Pete

Room Tip: Each room provides an excellent standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lee m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

The b&b is in a very nice location almost in the middle of Tomintoul. The hosts are very friendly and helpful. There are a few very well equipped rooms with all the expected amenities. Very importantly it was clean and tidy.
There is also an excellent breakfast selection, with something for every taste. Next door are also souvenir shops and pubs are just a fe steps further.
Oveeall it is one of the best B&B establishments I have ever been to.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kickoff101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed here with a friend while we were on a horseback riding vacation. The reservations were part of a package plan and we were delighted to find the accommodations were as great as the riding part of our vacation. Steven and Dianne welcomed us as friends, showed us to a lovely, immaculate room with a beautiful en-suite and made us feel right at home. The rooms must have wonderful sound proofing since there were people getting up VERY early and I never heard a sound. They have a great relationship with the Tomintoul Riding Centre and Dianne not only packed our lunches, she knew just what wet riders needed after a long day in the saddle. The food was delicious and they were wonderfully accommodating about my special requests. The village of Tomintoul is lovely and the countryside breathtaking. Dianne and Steve steered us to the friendly pubs, and told us about the sights (and stores) in the area. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay for the week and the Argyle Guest House is used to providing rooms and welcome for cyclists, hikers and family groups. I highly recommend the Argyle Guest House for a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatsTicket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tomintoul
0.1 mi away
The Balfour Manor
The Balfour Manor
#1 of 1 in Tomintoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
17.1 mi away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
18.9 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glentorets Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Richmond Arms Hotel
Richmond Arms Hotel
#3 of 5 in Tomintoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glen Avon Hotel
Glen Avon Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tomintoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyle Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyle Guest House

Property: Argyle Guest House
Address: 7 Main Street, Tomintoul AB37 9EX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Tomintoul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tomintoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyle Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Argyle Guest House offers 6 Large rooms and wonderful breakfasts. Tomintoul is located on the Crown Estate of Glenlivet, is the highest village in the highlands, lying at a height of 1170 ft (356m), Putting you right in the Cairngorms National Park with some of the most wonderful scenery and activities that Scotland has to offer!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Argyle Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyle Guest House Hotel Tomintoul
Argyle Guest House Tomintoul, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing