We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful gem in the highest of the highlands!”
Review of Argyle Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Argyle Guest House
Ranked #2 of 5 Tomintoul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We spent four nights at the Argyle house in May 2013 during the Speyside Whiskey Festival. We woke up every morning to a lovely breakfast made by Steve and served by Diane. What a fabulous couple! Our room was very spacious and clean and the bed was also quite comfortable. Diane and Steve truly made us feel at home. I would definitely stay there again if I ever make my way back to Tomintoul.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Langan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 152 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

What a superb bed and breakfast this is. Right in the heart of fabulous country with a mass of attractions for all tastes from superb way marked walks to stunning historical sites and miles of wonderful landscape. Skiing at the nearby Lecht, and now lots of new mountain bike trails too on the well run Crown Estate plus their supreme wildlife tours.
The hosts are so welcoming and kind and the accommodation is extremely comfortable and clean. Lots of piping hot water, no dodgy showers and no end of help and advice if required - or equally total peace if not. Cannot recommend enough - a perfect base for a visit to the area. Breakfast is superb too- but would recommend a long walk first to get up a good appetite, or even better still one of the dawn wildlife tours - even though leaving such a comfortable room too early is hard. A great place all round.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PollyScotlandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Lovely, cosy,homely B and B, cosy comfortable rooms, superb comfy beds, rooms warm, lovely hosts in Diane and Steve, will definately return. Wonderful breakfast in the morning, nothing too much bother for Diane and Steven, they even collected us a few messages when they went to the supermarket,much appreciated.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les4756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I can't write highly enough about this guest house. Genuinely warm, friendly owners and superbly spacious rooms. The shower was a revelation. I'm not a fan of pissy showers and this one almost beat me to the floor it was so hot and heavy. The house has a 3 star rating, which amazed me, until I learned it was based on a technicality no guest would ever notice - something to do with the layout of the rooms. But take my word for it, if ever a house deserved a 4 star rating it's this one! The two breakfasts I had were great. Both involved salmon, and both times I went in hungry and come out groaning with satisfaction. The town is lovely, the surrounding countryside is beautiful (I was there to do some hiking), and you couldn't find a nicer house, run by nicer people, for such a bargain price anywhere. Absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MilesDunnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The Argyle Guest House is friendly and very comfortable. I had the fortunate opportunity to stay here while visiting my Gran, Uncle & Aunty. I cant recommend the place highly enough, the rooms are well appointed, the hosts are very friendly and the breakfast is great. My wife and i will be back again soon!

Room Tip: Our room was on-suite and was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnthonyTill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Great place to stay after snowboarding at The Lecht! Welcomed by the owners, we felt right at home from the minute we walked in through the door. The spacious bathroom was especially welcome as we all needed a long soak. Breakfast was really good too!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Had a wonderful stay at this B&B. The town is really just the main street but a few choices for eating, The Whiskey Castle and this B&B made it a very comfortable place to stay. The breakfasts were amazing. Four choices and all wonderfully prepared.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tomintoul
16.4 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
263 reviews
10.2 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
764 reviews
17.7 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
14.0 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,321 reviews
0.0 mi away
Richmond Arms Hotel
Richmond Arms Hotel
#3 of 5 in Tomintoul
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyle Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyle Guest House

Address: 7 Main Street, Tomintoul AB37 9EX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Tomintoul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tomintoul
Price Range: $65 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyle Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Argyle Guest House offers 6 Large rooms and wonderful breakfasts. Tomintoul is located on the Crown Estate of Glenlivet, is the highest village in the highlands, lying at a height of 1170 ft (356m), Putting you right in the Cairngorms National Park with some of the most wonderful scenery and activities that Scotland has to offer!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Argyle Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyle Guest House Hotel Tomintoul
Argyle Guest House Tomintoul, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing