We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot-on in the Cairngorms”
Review of Balneden Steading

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tomintoul
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Balneden Steading
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spot-on in the Cairngorms”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just a quick review to say we had a wonderful time here in the Grain Store. The Steading is beautiful and views from the cosy lounge with the log burner & bedrooms are amazing. Anita & Richard are wonderfully helpful. Even when we got stuck in the snow and lost our way driving there they were accessible on the phone and with a shovel. A beautiful spot, already recommended it to some friends!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzyqu22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had such a fabulous time in this remote, beautiful Steading. Every attention to detail was thought of and the property was superbly equipped. I am glad that we had a 4x4 as the property was fairly tricky to access in bad weather. We had quite a lot of snow and ice during our stay. We were skiing at the Lecht, so the location was perfect.

The overall stay was everything we had hoped for and more and we would definitely like to return!

The property is highly recommended by all the family!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon and enjoyed our stay. If you want a clean, well appointed, modern finished home from home in the Highlands then this is perfect. I'm a cynic and always look for faults but couldn't fault BS. We enjoyed touring the Speyside Whisky distilleries, taking in some lochs and castles along the way. I only wish we'd been a bit more organised and taken more in.

We needed our 4x4 in Feb as it was very snowy and icy at times but then that is winter in the Highlands for you.

I recommend - The Whisky Bar at The Highlander Inn/Loch an Eileen and Glenfiddich distillery tours.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rooney99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We spent New year in The Mill, 2012/2013 and it was perfect. The quality of the accommodation and the cleanliness was to the highest standard. The kitchen is particulalry well equipt. It is a very remote location and you need to be preapred with plenty of provisions - you can't just pop to the shop on the corner!
It is very peaceful and is ideal for anyone who is looking to get away from it all and relax. The wood burning stove is lovely but be warned it does get very warm and to be honest we didn't really need to have it on.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JULIET H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Mull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Grain Store. Top quality self catering accommodation. Modern, clean, with everything you need. Warm and toasty underfloor heating. The log burner isn't really needed. A lovely wet room for a bathroom. Friendly owners on hand if you need them. And friendly chickens who say hello every morning if you given them some chicken friendly scraps.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwitRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed in the Grain Store, having stayed in the Cattleshed last year. We cannot rave about this place enough. The location is fantastic - so peaceful and quiet, and the views from the window are stunning. The accommodation is clean and cosy with everything you could want, including a log burner. The perfect place to relax and unwind. Great walks and wildlife on the doorstep - our dog loved it. We will certainly be heading back next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgieporge9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcs
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed in the Cattle Shed for a week which was great for just two. The place has been beautifully restored from old farm buildings and is comfortable, cosy and very warm. The views across from the steading are stunning. The area is great for walking,both in the area and further afield.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzieWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tomintoul
9.3 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
530 reviews
14.2 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
251 reviews
2.6 mi away
Glentorets Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Argyle Guest House
Argyle Guest House
#2 of 5 in Tomintoul
146 reviews
2.7 mi away
Richmond Arms Hotel
Richmond Arms Hotel
#3 of 5 in Tomintoul
174 reviews
4.7 mi away
Stronavaich Cairngorm Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balneden Steading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balneden Steading

Property: Balneden Steading
Address: Tomintoul AB37 9HL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Tomintoul
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Tomintoul
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balneden Steading is the ideal location for a self-catering holiday in the Scottish Highlands. Converted in 2010, this former historic steading offers 3 newly-renovated cottages to rent - The Mill (sleeps 4+1), The Grain Store (sleeps 4+1), and The Cattle Shed (sleeps 2). The Cottages can be booked individually or in combination to meet your party's needs. We also offer short breaks (minimum 3 night stay). Perfectly located at the start of the Whisky and Castle Trail, one mile from the A939 Highland Tourist Route between Grantown-on-Spey and Tomintoul, we are situated in the stunning Glenlivet Estate, within the Cairngorms National Park. We are just 30 minutes drive away from activity-filled Aviemore, yet also just 45 minutes drive from the wildlife of the Moray Firth. The breathtaking panoramic views from Balneden make it the perfect place to unwind and enjoy Highland life. We hope to have thought of everything to make your stay in The Highlands as relaxing and magical as possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balneden Steading Tomintoul, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing