We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glentorets Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Garth Hotel & Restaurant(Grantown-on-Spey)(Great Value!)
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Craiglynne Hotel(Grantown-on-Spey)
$86
$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nethybridge Hotel(Nethy Bridge)
$145
$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$162
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$254
$248
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Boat Hotel(Boat of Garten)
$138
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mountview Hotel(Nethy Bridge)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dowans Hotel(Aberlour)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mash Tun(Aberlour)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveler rating
146
13
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
13
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bfamily roomhaggistop marksstayed for nightsstay there againlovely hostsgreat breakfastwithout a doubtbreakfast tablenext morningroom was largeshort noticefruit juicepubs and restaurantscomfy bedhome made cakes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 159 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at Glentorets for two nights. Val and Mark were lovely, extremely helpful and friendly. The internal aspects of the house were fine and the view out the back was the stunning highlands, all hills and green, and sheep deer and pheasants. The breakfasts were delicious and almost neverending in quantity! The house was very quiet too and the facilities within the room were perfect (TV internet and coffee/tea facilities)

Only two downsides for us: firstly, the part of the street the house is in isn't the prettiest part of town so despite the house being great the first impression isn't so good. And for us, having a bathroom shared between two rooms rather than an individual ensuite was a bit out of our comfort zone.

Room Tip: 2 tips: - Be aware not all rooms have an ensuite so if this is important for you make sure which type of room you're booking. - The windows open if it gets too warm, ask Val or Mark how to do it (the triple glazing and heavy insulation can make the rooms too warm!)
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gav B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glentorets, Owner at Glentorets Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you Gav for your review of Glentorets B+B we are delighted that you liked the house, hosting, breakfast and facilities which are all the features we deem of importance to our guests.

Tomintoul is a small rural working village that is working hard to improve its image; there are only three "main streets" in the village all of which are very similar in nature; plus a village square where the hotels and restaurant are situated. We chose Glentorets for the house design itself and due to the breath taking views and scenery that we have at the rear of the property which is the main aspect that guests see in the morning whilst having breakfast.rather than the hustle and bustle of the village square which can be noisy in the summer months with tourists and passage vehicles.

Regarding the rooms at Glentorets it has been an exceptionally good summer in terms of guest numbers and the weather even in September; we are aware that some of our guests may be used to staying in accommodation with air conditioning but for the few instances when it would be needed here it is not a viable option and as you mention the windows do open wider.
We are open and honest about our B+B and what we offer guests;you booked the double room at Glentorets which we clearly state on our website has a shared bathroom with just one other room; at the time of your booking and until the day before your arrival our large ensuite room was available to book. We send a confirmation email through to our guests when they book explaining the facilities including the bathroom arrangements and providing other useful information about the village which you received and raised no concerns to. The guest in the other room with whom you shared the bathroom was always up and out before you came down for breakfast and we check this bathroom regularly when it is being shared to ensure it is clean and tidy and we inform guests that there is another toilet that they can use downstairs if the shared bathroom is in use.
We are a popular B+B and we can only recall 2 instances of guests being unhappy with the bathroom arrangements in our 2 years of running this establishment. The large bathroom you used has a lovely large shower and double bath which have proved very popular with our cycling and walking guests.
We continually assess our business facilities and the feedback we receive from our guests and welcome your comments but it is also fair to say that what is important to you is not so important to other guests who have stayed here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I was impressed with Val & Mark from first contact as I need a gluten-free diet & often find this a trial when travelling. Not only was there no problem with my requests but they told me they could also provide an evening meal - very glad of this as I knew I would be very tired on arrival - easier to know I did not have to go out again in search of sustenance!

I arrived late afternoon & was shown to a lovely double room - spotless & pleasant - shared bathroom (which was lovely - great shower!) but this was not a problem at all. I arranged a time to eat so that I had plenty space to get cleaned up and organised after walking the Tomintoul Spur of the Speyside Way. Dinner was 2 courses & very reasonable with lots of veg (which I love & which I often find there is a dearth of, for some reason!) for main course, while the Chocolate Tart served for pudding was 'to die for' - I'd go back just for that I think!!! No need to eat out with food that good, folks...

Everything relaxed, friendly but efficient - a great night's sleep & an excellent breakfast next morning - after which, Mark gave me a lift back to Ballindalloch to resume my walk.

I was sorry just to be there for 1 night only & hope to get back there soon for a more relaxing break - I would recommend Glentorets to anybody - a pleasure to be there, even briefly. Thank you for a lovely stay - it is a special place to end up at after a long day...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glentorets, Owner at Glentorets Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you Mary for your wonderful review we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Glentorets and would welcome you back any time you wish to visit. Our venture into providing evening meals has proved very popular this year and we are hoping to continue to improve this service next year.
We are happy to provide transport to Ballindalloch as we hope this will encourage more people to walk the Tomintoul spur of the Speyside way which by many accounts is one of the more scenic legs of the walk; hopefully in years to come the community or council will recognise this too and provide a daily morning transport service during the spring and summer months.
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Had a one night stay and it was a lovely surprise coming into Glentoret after the 60 mile drive from Aberdeen. Very welcoming and very clean with a lovely en-suite which had everything you could need. It was a warm evening and the room was a bit warm for sleeping, maybe a fan would help as the window did not open very much. Fitful night due to this. Excellent breakfast and what a view!!!! Would happily recommend this B&B to anybody and will definitely stay there again if in the area.

Room Tip: From a personal point of view would always want the en-suite room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glentorets, Owner at Glentorets Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you Mr Marshall for your lovely review of Glentorets B+B and we're glad that you enjoyed the lovely scenery here and on your journey across to us. We try and provide guests with all they require in their rooms or within our home and give them a hearty breakfast to start the day.

We are sorry you felt your room was a little warm, this is a bit unusual for the highest village in the highlands in September but it has been a lovely summer. I have replied to one other review with regards room temperatures in that we have had no heating on all Summer but are windows are triple glazed as it does get very cold here in Winter and our guests require the warmth then; the windows are fitted with safety catches to prevent the wind catching them and yanking them open or children falling out. The procedure to open the safety catches is explained in the room folders under the fire escape section and your bathroom also has a velux window which could be opened to also provide some airflow through the room.
We are glad that this hasn't in any way prevented you from recommending us and we hope that you are able to return to see us again
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed for 1 night, very clean, luxurious bathroom with double bath, great breakfast, only downside the room was very very warm and the window could only open a small amount, a dresser was in front of the window so no air could circulate. Not sure if our room was above the boiler or something but we didn't sleep well because of the stuffy air and heat, which was a shame.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandV69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glentorets, Owner at Glentorets Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thankyou for staying at Glentorets and for reviewing our business; we are glad you liked your room, bathroom and breakfast. We are sorry that you did not have a good nights sleep as the room was too warm for you: but there are some presumptions about this which are not correct and we wish you would have approached us about this during your stay as it could easily have been remedied - we do take our guests concerns seriously and always do what we can to ensure our guests have a comfortable and memorable stay with us.
Glentorets has triple glazed windows so as to ensure our guests comfort in the winter skiing season, these are fitted with safety catches so that windows can be left open safely without fear of children falling out of them or strong gusts of wind yanking them off the hinges - the safety catches can however be easily released to enable the windows to open much wider to the extent they can even be rotated by 180 degrees to enable cleaning without ladders. The boiler is not situated below this room and only supplies hot water upon demand during the summer as no heating is on so this will not operate overnight.
We hope that our reply alleviates your concerns and that you would consider staying at Glentorets again if you are in the highlands.
Val and Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Highly recommended. Very well furnished, spotlessly clean and very welcoming hosts. I also at dinner there two nights and the food was not only very good but a lot better than what I found the two times I ate in town (the Richmond arms, very poor, and the Clockhouse, OK)

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
Thank Grahame517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glentorets, Owner at Glentorets Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you Grahame for your lovely review; we are glad that you really enjoyed your stay with us despite the windy weather curtailing your stay. We escaped the brunt of the storms but we are sure the conditions on the mountain tops would not have been unpleasant; hopefully you will return and finish your planned walks in the future.
Best wishes
Mark and Val

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews