We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks again Mark and Val!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glentorets Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glentorets Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Tomintoul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thanks again Mark and Val!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Great base for the lecht, massive comfortable room with ensuite to get spread out and relax after a hard days skiing!!
Mark's breakfast was absolutely delicious and kept us going until hot chocolate time!
Couldn't ask for more from our hosts, we were treated like family.

Brilliant B&B, keep up the excellent work!
See you again next season :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mumwithtoddlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glentorets, Owner at Glentorets Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you Louisa for your wonderful review it was a pleasure meeting you and your family and we hope that you enjoyed your skiing at the Lecht on Friday. Thank you again for choosing Glentorets B&B and you are very welcome back anytime. Val & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
46
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed here at the beginning of March 2013. The owners Mark & Val made us very welcome in their B&B. We were a family of four with two small children. The room was clean and tidy, nicely decorated. Plenty of space for the four us, with separate beds for the kids. Having our own en-suite was a bonus. Good cooked breakfast, with a whole raft of choices. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milno_BF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glentorets, Owner at Glentorets Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you Alison, Jon, Alex & Lottie for your wonderful review, it was lovely meeting you all and we hope that you enjoyed your days skiing at the Lecht. We hope that you had a safe journey back home. Val, Mark & Elliott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banffshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Made a great base for a couple of weekend visits to ski The Lecht. Whenever we pass a B&B sign now, my young twins ask if we can go back! Maybe a trip in the summer to see if we can see some of the wildlife on show in Mark's fabulous photos, otherwise we'll definitely be back with the snow! Thanks to Elliott too, for playing with the children so I could have a long hot soak in the tub!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wenclem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glentorets, Owner at Glentorets Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you very much Wendy for your wonderful review it was lovely meeting you and your family and we look forward to you coming back to stay with us either in the summer or next winter for more skiing. Elliott enjoyed having some other children to play with and sharing his toys. We hope you had a safe journey back home.
Val, Mark & Elliott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed for only one night during a hiking tour and Mark and Val were wonderful and gracious hosts. We enjoyed a whisky tasting the night we arrived with them and I would highly recommend Glentorets to any one in the area as everything was relaxing and uncomplicated. The rooms were very clean and we enjoyed a great breakfast before we started our next day of hiking. Thanks for the hospitality! Rose & Jörg

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glentorets, Owner at Glentorets Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you Rose & Jorg for your lovely review it was lovely to meet you both and we enjoyed sharing our love of whisky with you both. Hope you both had a lovely Christmas and New Year. Say hello to your parents from us. Hope to see you both again. Val & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here late December in the family room with large on suite facilities which was spotlessly clean. Home cooked food was delicious and plentiful. Glentorets was a lovely friendly and welcoming bed and breakfast, we will recommend to all our friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glentorets, Owner at Glentorets Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you Martin for your very kind review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here over the Christmas period and the home cooked food that you had during your time here, we do hope that you will both return to stay at Glentorets again in the near future. Happy New Year, Val, Mark & Elliott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

A very comfortable and warm place to stay. My husband and I were very well looked after all weekend. We did a tour of the local area and Mark and Val were very accomodating at making our breakfast at 5:30 in the morning. I have never stayed at any other B&B where the owners were so willing to do whatever they could to assist you in your holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glentorets, Owner at Glentorets Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you Sophie for your wonderful review we are so pleased that you enjoyed your weekend at Glentorets, we do go out of our way to make guests feel welcome that is all part of our service. We have in the past served breakfast to guests at 5.30am if they have organised a day out which has an early start or if they are working in the area we just like to make sure that all our guests are happy and properly catered for. We hope that you managed to spend some time in Ballater and that the weather stayed nice for you and that you had a safe journey back to London. It was lovely to meet you both and we hope that you enjoy the rest of your time on your travels. Val, Mark & Elliott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of October in the Conglass room which was excellent. We ate in for 2 of the nights and the home cooked food was lovely as were the breakfasts. Glentorets is a lovely homely place to stay in a very beautiful and peaceful area. We did 2 walks from the doorstep with lovely views and visited the beautiful beach at Lossiemouth. There are lots of other interesting and beautiful places in the surrounding area that are easily accessible from here. We visit Scotland every year and have stayed at many different types of accommodation from hotels to cottages and b&b's. Glentorets is one of the best places we have stayed in and when we visit this area again we will definitely stay here. Val and Mark are new to this business but are very professional and naturally good at it due to their warm and friendly personalities. If you like a piece of home from home when you are on holiday this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose the Conglass room if you prefer en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glentorets, Owner at Glentorets Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you Janet and Mike for your wonderful review, you are right that the area in which we live is beautiful and although we have now been here for a year there is much much more to explore. We love the b&b business and meeting all these wonderful people from all over the world and by the response of our guests on trip advisor we must be doing something right. We hope to see you both again very soon, you are welcome back anytime. Val & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tomintoul
0.2 mi away
The Balfour Manor
The Balfour Manor
#1 of 1 in Tomintoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
11.7 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
11.4 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
15.7 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Argyle Guest House
Argyle Guest House
#2 of 5 in Tomintoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glentorets Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glentorets Bed & Breakfast

Property: Glentorets Bed & Breakfast
Address: Glentorets Conglass Lane, Tomintoul AB37 9HU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Tomintoul
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tomintoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glentorets Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Glentorets Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glentorets Bed & Breakfast Tomintoul, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing