We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Locanda Re Ruggero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Locanda Re Ruggero
Ranked #6 of 25 Monreale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

From the moment that we arrived to the owner waiting to greet us, to take our bags and to show us where to park, we were never disappointed.

The rooms are big, rustic, comfortable and the bathroom modern and luxurious. The hotel is connected to the restaurant where we ate on our first night .. The food is delicious and you enjoy 10 percent off as a guest.

The location is literally in the middle of town, and is a fantastic place to stay, surrounded by bars, cafes and the main sights of Monreale.

The owner could not do enough to help during our stay, even giving us a lift into Palermo when we went to visit.

Fabulous, if you are touring in this area, definitely stay and eat here.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Benemma82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    38
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
41
63
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Very clean , comfortable rooms. our room had high ceilings and you could Breath some history. lovely staff, kind and ready to help. the place is literally 3 meters far from the dome! And the price is very honest! And the bed very large! We enjoyed a lot our short stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FabioManassero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We chose to stay in Monreale outside of Palermo for our first few nights in Sicily and it was a fantastic choice! The Locanda Re Ruggero is a small, family owned B&B located just next to the cathedral in this small town. All of the staff were extremely helpful with bus schedules (bus stop around the corner and a 10 minute ride to downtown Palermo), touring recommendations, restaurants, etc. We stayed there three nights and went into Palermo two of the days and stayed in Monreale the third day - it was a wonderful thing to come home to this quiet area after the big city sights! We ate at their restaurant two nights and it was very good and filled with locals- probably the best caponata we had and we had it every night for two weeks! The rooms were very clean, nicely decorated with modern bathrooms. We were traveling with our daughter and her husband and two young children and this was the perfect spot to feel safe, comfortable and well cared for! Set a positive tone for a wonderful vacation in Sicily- highly recommend!

Room Tip: Like another writer, we were on the side street with the karaoke bar and thought it was a big Italia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dani1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2013

A beautiful B&B on the perfect spot!
Very friendly and helpful manager and staff.
Clean, modern rooms with a great shower.
Guests receive a discount in the restaurant.
Only negative point was that there was a karaoke night in the bar around the corner, with bad and loud singers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank yvetteva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Super location, good size rooms, very hospitable and helpful staff, decent restaurant at hotel (inc 10% discount)

It is a shame the mattress was a bit 'flimsy' and ‘foam’ pillows not really comfortable. Luckily we did not have to fork out the 20 Euro off-street parking as the owner helped us to find a space on the street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pjsamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Very stylish and modern, clean, comfy beds. Located right in the centre - overlooking the cathedral. Parking could be tricky, but the owner moved his own can to make the space for us. Very reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiedreP_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monreale
0.4 mi away
Hotel Guglielmo II
Hotel Guglielmo II
#1 of 6 in Monreale
138 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Bel 3
Hotel Bel 3
#20 of 98 in Palermo
742 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Ducale Suites
Palazzo Ducale Suites
#1 of 25 in Monreale
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
B&B Elvira Al Duomo
B&B Elvira Al Duomo
#5 of 25 in Monreale
121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rocca di Monreale
Rocca di Monreale
#9 of 25 in Monreale
106 reviews
0.8 mi away
Locanda del Drago
Locanda del Drago
#4 of 25 in Monreale
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Re Ruggero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Re Ruggero

Property: Locanda Re Ruggero
Address: Via Arcivescovado, 90046 Monreale, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Monreale
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Monreale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Locanda Re Ruggero 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Locanda Re Ruggero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Re Ruggero Monreale, Sicily - Province Of Palermo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing