We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem not to be missed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palazzo Ducale Suites
Ranked #1 of 25 Monreale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
1 review
“An absolute gem not to be missed”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Though this review comes about a month after our stay there (5 days in mid August), I don't want to miss the opportunity to wholeheartedly recommend this wonderful hotel for anyone intending to stay in or near Monreale. Having read excellent reviews about Palazzo Ducale here we booked a suite -amazingly for the price of a room, in fact we initially thought there might have been some mistake!) which upon arrival proved even more spacious, spotless and tastefully furnished than seen in the photos! It is not often that you get first-class accommodation (and a whole suite too for that matter!) for the price of an average double room, so we were very pleasantly surprised. The only thing missing was a fridge but welcome drinks were awaiting us upon arrival nonetheless, and quite frankly we were too stunned by the beauty of the room and building in general to be bothered by this.

Our room looked out on the tiny, picturesque street where the Palazzo is located, right opposite a bakery from which the delicious smell of freshly baked bread greeted us each morning. As for location, this place is IDEAL: right in the picturesque heart of Monreale, minutes away from the Duomo (the Cathedral, a must-see by the way) , restaurants, bus service to Palermo (not ideal, but that's another story) and characteristically Sicilian fruit vendors and loads of other shops. We had rented a car and so upon arriving from Catania Daniele (who runs the Palazzo ) kindly maneuvered the car into their parking lot (as indicated by others here, parking can be an issue as the hotel is housed in such a tiny street but they will park the car for you, no worries). For the rest of the days we chose to park the car just a few streets away outside the hotel but you can have your car parked there for 10 euros per day. Daniele, and the service in general , was superb- very professional and yet very very friendly.Oh and have breakfast on the balcony if you go there in summer..wonderful.

So Daniele (and rest of staff)..well done, grazie mille for everything and many greetings to Monreale (particularly the fruit vendor on the corner and the bar right around the corner where we'd have coffee and an 'aperitivo':-) - we hope to be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    90
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
75
265
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
224 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This Italian Hotel is in an old building but is modern suites comprising of a bedroom sitting room and bathroom. It is spotlessly clean. Breakfasts are delicious, pastries from the local bakery. All the staff are very nice. Warning hire a small car so you can get down the narrow streets and park in the hotel car park!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loulou089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Beautifully renovated suites behind a huge wooden door, our suite had a balcony,was very clean and tastefully furnished.
Wi Fi was efficient and the location brilliant for Duomo, restaurants and bus into Palermo(if you don't want to drive!)
For a 2 day stay I don't think that this could have been bettered.

Room Tip: Save the hassle and get bus into Palermo
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This accommodation was recommended by the local tourist information office. On arrival we were shown a suite which was absolutely superb - fixtures, fittings and furnishings were first class, and the internet wi-fi was exceptionally quick and easy to access.
At this point, the receptionist drove me to where we had parked our car, and led me back to the hotel, whereupon she drove my car into the hotel's off road secure parking cellar.
Breakfast was served in a delightful area, by friendly and efficient staff.
When we subsequently checked out, the duty receptionist drove our car from the cellar, and positioned it in the street where we were able to drive off safely.

Room Tip: All the suites are of a consistently brilliant standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife and I were touring Sicily in May and were fortunate to choose Palazzo Ducale for our stay in the Palermo area. Accommodations are modern and impeccably maintained. The owner Daniele is often on premises, and he and his staff are very helpful and friendly. The hotel is a short walk to the incredible Monreale Duomo and many good restaurants.

Room Tip: The top floor suite can easily accommodate 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolini-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We were happy to find this place on Trip Advisor. We were going to Pioppo/Palermo to visit family and wanted to find a place near them. It is decorated well and very modern. (Surprisingly modern compared to some of the other hotels in this area). We enjoyed the large rooms and living room. It was basically a large apartment with a kitchenette area, 2 bedrooms, and one bathroom. We opted for this room so that we could have a king sized bed.

The bathroom was small, but updated nicely. The parking was convenient but we also were given a pass and allowed to park on the street for those nights we stayed out late. The breakfast was probably the only thing we didn't enjoy at the hotel. Since it is a bed and breakfast, we were a bit disappointed and only ate there once. We ended up just walking around Monreale to find our breakfast the other days of our trip.

The location is great - less than 5 minute walk to the Monreale cathedral and to many shops and a lot of great little places for food.

We would definitely go back and plan on staying there on our next trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North and South
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Palazzo Ducale Suites
This is the place to relax after the heat and frenzy of Palermo, the “cool” interiors (stylish and air conditioned) are the perfect oasis retreat for any expedition to the Sicilian capital. Service is excellent from the moment you arrive to your reluctant departure. This accommodation really lives up to the web advertising, the suite we occupied and that of our friends were first class and straight out of the images shown on line. The décor and furnishings were immaculate with really comfortable beds, soft towels and nice touches like the slippers. The suites are in a very good location just 5 minute walk from the Cathedral in a quiet side lane and walking around Monreale at night felt safer than parts of Palermo we wandered into during daylight. If you are arriving by car have your video camera ready to record Daniele shoe-horn it into the garage, anything larger than a Fiat 500 needs at least 8 forward/reverse manoeuvres to line it up in the narrow lane with the entrance. We only stayed for two nights, sadly, and had a very packed itinerary but we all agreed that the Palazzo Ducale Suites would be really comfortable for a longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandWNorthandSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monreale
0.5 mi away
Hotel Guglielmo II
Hotel Guglielmo II
#1 of 6 in Monreale
134 reviews
6.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
4.8 mi away
Alma Hotel
Alma Hotel
#1 of 101 in Palermo
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Bel 3
Hotel Bel 3
#19 of 101 in Palermo
733 reviews
0.6 mi away
B&B Al Giardino
B&B Al Giardino
#2 of 25 in Monreale
126 reviews
8.3 mi away
B&B Mondello Resort
B&B Mondello Resort
#1 of 9 in Mondello
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Ducale Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ducale Suites

Property: Palazzo Ducale Suites
Address: Via Duca Degli Abruzzi 8, 90046 Monreale, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Monreale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Monreale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Ducale Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic centre of Monreale, in a small block of flats 200 metres far from the Cathedral, there is "Palazzo Ducale Suites." The strategic position of our hotel allows you to live the historical centre and the atmosphere of the town, and to savour our traditional dishes in the nearby typical restaurants. Thanks to the closeness to Palermo (4 km far) our guests will be able to discover its art treasures while benefiting by a stay far from the town chaos. Staying at Palazzo Ducale Suites includes a large breakfast with the typical dishes of our land. Each room is well furnished, equipped with the following: bed and sofa bed, private bathroom with shower, bidet and washbasin, complete set of bedding and towels, hairdryer, television, Sky, WiFi, Internet point, supplying electric energy, cold and hot water, heating, air conditioning, independent entrance, daily cleaning. Moreover we provide a large indoor parking area. The level of the equipment and services is comparable to what you can find in a four stars hotel or boardinghouse, but the terms are definitely cheaper. Palazzo Ducale Suites is easy to reach from the motorways, the railway station and "Falcone Borsellino" Airport (PMO). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Palazzo Ducale Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ducale Suites Monreale, Sicily - Province Of Palermo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing