We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous base for Palermo and Monreale”
Review of Rocca di Monreale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rocca di Monreale
Ranked #8 of 26 Monreale B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 23, 2012

All credit to Emmanuel who is the perfect hostess. We stayed here for 2 nights after a super week in Cefalu so we could see the incredible mosaics in the cathedral of Monreale and also get some feel for Palermo (having spent an evening at the Festa di Santa Rosalia the week before (amazing). She gave us 2 adjoining rooms with balconies and incredible views over her lemon orchards and to Monreale and Palermo. We could walk easily to Monreale and also easy to drive and park (she gave good instructions).

Lovely breakfast to include fruit from her gardens and a special Sicilian breakfast cake made by her. Her father is very busy improving facilities but this will not affect your stay at all. All very clean and good value.

Highly recommend! An extra courtesy: we left out Ipad charger (good Wi-Fi) in the room and she is arranging its return to the UK!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 110 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2012

The atmosphere is very nice and Emmanuelle the owner is very kind. The rooms are perfect with an excellent view.
The only thing I will improve the Breakfast.
Is in a perfect location very near to Palermo.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margammsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Our GPS led us right to Rocca di Monreale, off the main road and a short distance to a fanciful house on a hilltop with a view of the Bay of Palermo. This is a relatively new B and B, everything was spotlessly clean and appeared to be recently built. The owner is working on a swimming pool for the use of the guests. There is a new communal kitchen, for the use of the guests.

Emanuela, our hostess, showed us to a room with a balcony overlooking the Bay of Palermo. The room had a ceramic tile floor and was decorated nicely and the bathroom was new and more than adequate. It was quiet and tranquill. She provided me with several tourist books which were very helpful during our stay. Emanuela speaks a little English, it helps if you speak a little Italian.

Monreale is certainly worth a visit for the magnificent Cathedral there, unlike any other in Italy. Emanuela would not let us leave without giving us some oranges and lemons from her organic garden. A lovely and most gracious way to way goodbye.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Bay of Palermo. If you are there during a cold spell in winter, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodiefromCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

I went to Palermo area for two days, as a part of a 7 days trip to Sicilly. As all the guides warn travellers about the chaotic traffic in Palermo & around I decided to avoid the big city and head to Monreale, which seemed much quieter. Picky as I am, I checked on google earth the location for various hotels to have a feel for the surroundings, availabilty of parking place, etc. Italian towns are fabulous, but no so great for driving given the narrow streets and scarcity of parking space and Monreale is not exception. When I found Rocca di Monreale, did not have any doubt what my choice was to be, as the place had all the atributes I was looking for: outside the busy traffic but very close to Monreale and Palermo, parking space, easy to reach, decent price. There, I was given even more: friendly hosts, spacious and clean room, big balcony with a fantastic view to Palermo and to Monreale hill, fresh air, quiet neighborhood, fresh fruits from their own yard. Driving directions: coming from Catania or Messina keep straight then take the paralel street following signs for Corso Calatafimi and Monreale. At the first major crossroad take left and keep straight. Up the hill there will be a crossroad showing Monreale 3 km right and Trapani left. Take Trapani left and you will see signs for Rocca, which is a street left befor Gugliemo hotel. If in Monreale, drive straight through the centre and follow via Venero that takes you to the other end of circumvalazione from where you take left, having Rocca on the right this time.
Monreale is easily accessible, following the Circumvalazione towards Trapani and after 2 min drive you get to a big parking place. From there up the stairs end up close to Duomo. For Palermo centre, same way as getting to the hotel (in the other direction, obviously) and from the crossroad keep straight. A glance at Google maps would give you a good idea about the streets.
The issue regarding the closed door when coming late can be easily agreed with the hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zmrky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

the family that hold the place is great. they advise us for the rest of the tour. the appartment was clean, there is a panorama to the city of palermo. the place is in a very short distance to the cathedral in monreale.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yoyo-j-m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GipsyRaoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAURA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monreale
0.1 mi away
Hotel Guglielmo II
Hotel Guglielmo II
#1 of 5 in Monreale
150 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Bel 3
Hotel Bel 3
#18 of 98 in Palermo
799 reviews
5.8 mi away
Casena dei Colli
Casena dei Colli
#33 of 98 in Palermo
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Palazzo Ducale Suites
Palazzo Ducale Suites
#1 of 26 in Monreale
479 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Rossa
Casa Rossa
#10 of 26 in Monreale
39 reviews
0.5 mi away
Locanda Re Ruggero
Locanda Re Ruggero
#6 of 26 in Monreale
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocca di Monreale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocca di Monreale

Address: Fecatello Pantuso 10, 90046 Monreale, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Monreale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Monreale
Price Range: $75 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocca di Monreale 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Rocca di Monreale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocca Di Monreale Sicily - Province Of Palermo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing