We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chateau for the open-minded” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Chateau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel du Chateau
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lagord
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Chateau for the open-minded”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We have recently stayed in this chateau on the back of our booking through another chateau, which was fully booked the night we wanted to stay there. Hotel du Chateau is a fabulous little find, but you do have to be open minded and accept that old buildings like this one have a history and sometimes that history is not a fairy-tale romance. This building has gone through being the centre of the Godet's family life (one of the oldest Cognac dinasties) to being occupied by the German army during the WWII, burnt and then being occupied by squatters in the 1970 and 80s. These turbulant events resulted in a huge part of the land belonging to the chateau being sold off for holiday homes/other-type accommodation - and these mini-apartment blocks is what you first see on arrival, which is disapponting. I cannot understand how any local government would have allowed for the landscape of such a historic and stunning building to be butchered in this way. On the more upbeat note, the building is lovely to look at and our room was modern yet with a very traditional twist of high ceilings and huge big windows from floor to ceiling. The chateau's restaurant 123 serves fantastic food and was one of our best finds in France. I loved the modern and unusual art-work adorning the walls of the chateau, by an artist Agnes Guedeu. The staff were very accommodating and friendly. I have seen other really negative reviews of this hotel and think they are unfair. You have to be realistic - we live in the 21st centure and many of the historic buildings are affected by modernization. Remember, liberte, egalite, fraternite.... If you want a fairy-tale chateau, be prepared to travel into less easily accesible parts of France and be prepared to pay at least the double rate charged by this hotel. Otherwise, just pretend the apartment blocks are not there and relax into the beauty of this strong old building, its good location, its great tasteful rooms and excellent cuisine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hibiscus007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    127
    45
    28
    10
See reviews for
34
248
6
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poitou-Charentes, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on 13 th and 14th February to celebrate my 60 th birthday. The hotel was lovely and we were upgraded to a prestige room which was very spacious and modern. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I suffer from a shellfish allergy so they adjusted the set Valentines day menu for me. The food was delicious and the service very good. We had our dog with us and there were some good walks directly out of the hotel. Free wifi is available. We had a massage in the spa and enjoyed the swimming pool. Bed was huge and very comfortable. The shower room was very smart and modern. Not a cheap couple of days but worth it for special occasions.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marypoppins1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Booked a room, they are happy to take your money

But when I phoned to confirm they told me that they cannot fed us ( not even room service ) no breakfast and were to be very honest the receptionist if that's what she was was the rudder person I have ever delt with .

Slammed the phone down on me twice, for no reason.

Disgusting

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank coopermcneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

This hotel claims to be a 4* 'country house hotel' set in magnificent grounds with (on booking.com) an outdoor pool. It isn't. The outdoor pool is shared with a block of 70+ apartments next door and the hotel is set between 2 car parks and its gardens which are dry and dusty with no flowers or nice places to sit. I went with my wife and small baby on a very hot weekend, wanting to use a secluded, peaceful outdoor pool but it was packed with people from the apartment blocks. The photos on the site do not give an accurate picture of the hotel at all. It's plain ugly, inside and out...more like a Premier Inn decor than a XXe century Chateau. Please read IG's review before you book - it paints a realistic picture - I wish I had done so before I had gone ahead.

Room Tip: Try another hotel - Hotel de L'Ocean on Ile de Re was lovely...unpretentious, great food and goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ru P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

My boyf and I stayed here for a night after a week's camping around France. We needed a good night's sleep, and we definitely got it here.

On arrival, the welcome was excellent - the receptionist showed us all around the hotel and our room, which was a junior suite and was lovely.

We swam in the (small) pool and ate dinner there that evening. The waitresses were lovely and the food was delicious - excellent flavours and not as heavy as some French cooking can be.

Throughout our entire stay, nothing appeared to be too much trouble; my boyf had a massage the next morning and reported it to be amazing (but quite expensive).

The breakfast provided a wide variety of buffet items - again the staff were really helpful with our demands for odd drinks!

The overall experience was exactly what we wanted - restful and luxurious. The room we had contained an amazing wet room next to the bed, not everyone's cup of tea but perfectly romantic. It was light and airy and the A/C did not make a sound.

Room Tip: Room 14 is a suite and suited us well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boybandsrockmyworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

After our visit to this hotel we are unfortunately very disappointed and this makes make write this critic. We usually book our hotels through Splendia and this is absolutely not up the the standards we are used to.
On the side of the hotel the are horrible appartments that ruin the sight, these blocks of appartments are not separated from the hotel facilities, which allows people of the neighbourhood entering into the hotel garden. As a consequence, it is not very nice to stay in the garden as they are noisy and there is no intimacy.
The garden is another critical point, more than a garden, it is a small forest open to the public and it is not taken care.
To end with, breakfast was not flexible at all, one minute past 10:30 it was already removed from the buffet tables.
Additionally, nobody at the reception could make it to book a table for 2 for dinner at any time even being lodged at the hotel (from 19:30 to 22:00! Although we were flexible to adapt to anytime). Staff was rude.
I am sorry but I cannot recomment this hotel

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank I G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villeneuve
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

we arrived at mid day with only an hour and a quarter until our flight out of france
the staff were very helpful after we had explained in our poor french that we had only a short time until our flight
we ate a wonderful main meal, dessert and coffee within the time we had
the food was excellent and beautifully presented
the waiter was courteous and prompt and spoke to us in English and french
exactly what we wanted
I shall go back and next time I shall linger!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deborah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagord
2.1 mi away
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
#5 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Champlain France Angleterre
2.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
#6 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Masqhotel
BEST WESTERN Masqhotel
#3 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#2 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel La Rochelle Centre
Novotel La Rochelle Centre
#14 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Chateau

Property: Hotel du Chateau
Address: 123, avenue du Clavier, 17140 Lagord, La Rochelle, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle > Lagord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lagord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Chateau 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 19th-century chateau provides 4-star accommodation in a large park in Lagord, 5 km from La Rochelle and Ré island.Each guest room at the Hôtel Du Château has a flat-screen TV with satellite channels and a courtesy tray on arrival. Some rooms also have views of the park or the sea.Guests can enjoy traditional cuisine at the chateau’s restaurant, Le 123, which has a view of the park from its terrace. Du Château’s well-being space,with indoor swimming pool, provides a range of beauty treatments and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing