We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais & Chateaux - Hostellerie de Levernois

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Relais & Chateaux - Hostellerie de Levernois
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Levernois
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We returned from our three week trip to France last month and I must say that our stay at Hostellerie de Levernois was exceptional, our beautiful room, the magical grounds, the incredible food and the staff were amazing. We have traveled to many five star resorts and I must stay that
this hotel is at the top of the list. The personal service, kindness, and sheer beauty of this property has left a lasting impression. We will be back and give this property a rave review which we do not give lightly.
Most grateful for our stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovinglife1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    64
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
99
379
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
JoffandSarah
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Fabulous hotel and beautifully decorated. The photos really do not do the place justice. Much more contemporary than traditional, and very well executed.

We had a suite which was huge and so beautifully designed, we picked up a few ideas for our guest rooms at home.

Staff excellent,helpful and knowledgeable about the area.

Really faultless in every way.

I would make a special note about the restaurant. The Maitre D' prepared a cheese plate for me. It was a work of art and tasted even better than it looked. A very memorable moment and well worth the 150 odd euros per head including some great wines.

Room Tip: The suites are excellent and well worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoffandSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

An excellent hotel with great service, friendly staff and a terrific dinner experience. Have stayed here several times and have always enjoyed everything about this lovely hotel. Worth the price for the quality of the hotel. Fine but unpretentious service. Stay here if you are anywhere near Beaune

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ELKTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hostellerie de Levernoisl from June 6-8, 2013. The hotel is simply beautiful, inside and out. The rooms, the common spaces, the grounds and the restaurants are beautifully designed and spotlessly clean. The bistro and the gastronomic restaurant (which has 1 Michelin star) are both excellent. However, we were as impressed with the staff's commitment to service as we were with the hotel's physical (and gastronomic) beauty. From check-in, to a tour of our room, to lunch at the bistro, dinner at the gastronomic restaurant (with cafe and after dinner cocktails on the outdoor patio) to sending mixed cases of wine and bulky gifts home for us and check-out, the service at Hostellerie de Levernois was flawless. If you're looking for a luxury (vs. rustic) experience, Hostellerie de Levernois is a can't miss! The location south of Beaune makes it a bit of a drive to reach the Cote de Nuits ... but what a great place to "come home to" at the end of each day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Watchful26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darmstadt
Level Contributor
270 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Friendly, professional and helpful staff. Beautiful grounds. Very pleasant terrasse on the lawn in front of the main house. Dinner was good but not 1-star, the dining area design somewhat simple and not overly attractive . Breakfast expensive, had very small selection and inattentive server who was mainly absent. Room nice and big enough with a comfortable bed.

Room Tip: there are some rooms ('38 for example) facing a road, if you are noise sensitive request a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weinweber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
86 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We chose Beaune as a base in Burgundy, left our bookings too late and were very lucky to secure five nights at this lovely R and C property in Levernois, ten minutes drive from the centre of Beaune. It’s a pretty property, which the current owners run very well. The rooms are spacious and contain plenty of room for clothes storage, with a fairly restrained, some might say dull, decor. The property has a pretty garden and an outdoor area for drinks. The formal restaurant is a one star and definitely worth that rating. The food was superb and, as you would expect, the wine list was splendid. Try the Grand Marnier soufflé: it’s to die for. The rates are half pension which was a bit of a problem for us as we stayed five nights: but the hotel resolved it by allowing us to dine elsewhere every second night, which was perfect. Breakfast is in the hotel’s bistro – pleasant without being spectacular. The bistro also serves lunch, with a range of simple and well prepared Burgundian specialties. One final point: the half pension, given the quality of the restaurant, represents excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY/Westport/Provence
Level Contributor
330 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I am a New Yorker and I am writing this from the POV of a person who spends a 1/4 of the year in France, speaks French and knows France, very well. Just last week after a week of work in Paris, we decided to check out Hostelllerie Levernois as right before it changed owners, we had a wonderful stay in a deluxe room in the main chateau which we loved as well as the restaurant being amazing. We remembered everything about the stay with fondness. 'On ne peut pas retourner !' We booked a deluxe room as we wanted some outside space and we were told we'd be in the deluxe annex which was beautiful and just a 'deux pas' from the chateau. We arrived last week and it was raining so I did not notice how much the main lobby and entrance had changed to resemble almost a large 5* boutique hotel. I did notice that distinction that night after I had the same reaction to the redone dining room or should I say 'Dining Rooms'. This hotel definitely caters to Americans, so much so that when I would talk to them in French...they would automatically answer in English in a very jolly, American way that reminded me of the frozen smiles you get at a JW Marriot in a small American city where the charm is automatic without any personality at all. This kind of 'threw me a bit' as I remember the hotel being a haven of 'Burgundian charm and grace'. A driver on a 'golf cart' took us to the annex as it was raining. The ride was not pleasant but I must admit that the gardens and landscaping are the best improvement I noticed with on this three day stay. We were very disappointed with the annex, basically a modern, 'very white' long hall with all deluxe rooms and not an ounce of character. We also found the same was true of our room. There was nothing wrong with the annex and it was modern, luxurious (if not minimalist) and the bathroom was lovely...but we could have been staying anywhere. It certainly didn't feel like a 'Relais and Chateau in France'. I was truly sorry that we had not taken a smaller superior rom and stayed in the main chateau although I have no idea how 'redone' these rooms were as well. We returned to the reception area where the cheery young woman read through our dinner reservations and so on..still in English. I finally told her that I don't understand English and please talk to me in French. She seemed to be confused by that as they seem to be programmed to make Americans feel 'as at home'...as possible. Anyway...she confirmed our dinner for one night in the restaurant gastronomique and one night in their bistro. Voila.
The service in both restaurants was exemplary and they quickly switched to French when hearing me request several times to the host that I really wanted to look at the Wine list before ordering dinner. This is not usually done but we did not want an aperitif that night after wine tasting all day and we had ordered some Badoit sparking water as an aperitif. I had asked for the list 15 minutes before from this host. Then a second time. Finally he came to take our dinner order and I said very ...strongly ' Est-ce que vous n'avons pas assez des cartes pour le vin? Il faut que je regarde le(la?) carte du vin avant que nous commencons A commander le diner!' His lips got tight and with a 'Bien sur' ..he brought me the wine list. I felt like I had won a battle. The Chablis was excellent and the dinner would have been considered good (not incredible) until we ordered the hose special dessert, the Grand Marnier Soufflé. This was probably one of the worst desserts we had on our entire trip, forget the fact that this was a michelin rated restaurant. The problem with the soufle was quite simple, It tasted more like scrambles eggs! We were very disappointed. The next morning was another example of our frustration with the front desk. As you drove into the chateau, there was a sign pointing to the Bistro with what clearly looked like an entrance. As we were not told that guests could only enter the bistro from the main chateau, we drove to the bistro and proceeded to try to enter the restaurant for breakfast. It was almost comical as we could see people dining but we had no idea how to get inside. My partner finally discovered the entrance by walking all the way around to the back of the restaurant. We did enjoy the best meal (both mornings) at Levernois with this breakfast that was generous and well done. When we mentioned our problem to the front desk , where the owner happen to be at that moment, she replied " Well that is why we have this lovely staff at the desk here at your disposal. To answer questions like that'. I replied ' Why didn't the lovely young woman show us the two different dining rooms since she knew we were dining in each restaurant when we checked in? That has always been the custom at any Relais and Chateau we've experienced. " She just laughed and made some off-hand comment. Dinner that night in the bistro was very pleasant and the food was tasty but again...nothing memorable and almost the same price as the Gourmand restaurant. Overall...this hotel has changed in tone and manner to fit a different esthetic. Sadly...it was not mine and I dare gather...anyone else who really has travelled extensively in France.
P.S. Good luck finding 'Levernois' as it is 4 kilometers outside of Beaune and is hard to find even with a good GPS

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LeTerrible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Levernois
2.9 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 63 in Beaune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hostellerie Le Cedre
Hostellerie Le Cedre
#4 of 63 in Beaune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
18.2 mi away
Chateau Hotel Restaurant Sainte-Sabine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Le Montrachet
Le Montrachet
#2 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
6.7 mi away
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
5.1 mi away
Chateau de Citeaux La Cueillette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais & Chateaux - Hostellerie de Levernois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais & Chateaux - Hostellerie de Levernois

Property: Relais & Chateaux - Hostellerie de Levernois
Address: Rue du Golf, 21200 Levernois, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Levernois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Levernois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais & Chateaux - Hostellerie de Levernois 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostellerie de Levernois is above all a bucolic setting in a protected area just 5 minutes away from the A6 highway. This lovely bourgeois house, in complete harmony with nature, is composed of 26 bright rooms (4 of them apartments) distributed in 3 different buildings, in a park of more than 5 hectares. The Hostellerie benefits of an ideal geographic position in the heart of Burgundy, rich in history and culture. It is surrounded by prestigious vineyards such as Gevrey Chambertin, Vosne Romanee, Pommard, Meursault or Puligny-Montrachet. Come discover the pure Burgundian tradition. Enjoy a meal in our Bistro along the river or taste our Michelin starred cuisine. Learn about wines in the tasting cellar and let our sommelier guide you through an exceptional selection of wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Relais & Chateaux - Hostellerie de Levernois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais And Chateaux - Hostellerie De Levernois
Relais & Chateaux - Hostellerie De Levernois Hotel Levernois
Hostellerie De Hotel Levernois
Levernois Hostellerie De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing