We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melia Cayo Guillermo
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This was our second trip to the Melia Cayo Guillermo. It was better than the first, and the first was fantastic.
The staff is absolutely great! The resort is very well kept, the beach and the pool, fantastic....and of course, the weather was superb!
We will be going back again next year!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesus T, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Good morning rayzzma

Thank you for your review. It will be our pleasure to have you back next years and all the years to come, as we consider you already part of our big family.

Have a nice day

Jesus T
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

863 - 869 of 4,381 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

We visited Melia Cayo Guillermo for the 5th time at the beginning of April and had another magical holiday! This is the only resort we've ever returned to more than twice and I'd go back again in a heart beat! The resort is beautifully laid out and is so esthetically pleasing to the eye! The grounds are lovely and are tended to every day by a group of gardeners who obviously take pride in doing their job well. The beach is outstanding! Perfect for taking a nice long walk or a run!. It goes for quite a ways. Lovely white sand and loads of comfortable chairs. The water is a crystal clear turquoise and you can walk out quite a ways before it gets deep so it's very safe for the little ones! The rooms are beautiful with comfortable beds and pillows! The most impressive thing about the resort though and the reason that we return so often, is the incredibly friendly and accomodating staff! Over the years, we've made wonderful friends with a number of the staff we've met and we look forward to reuniting with them every time we return. Unbelievably they all remember us and make us feel so welcome each and every time we go back to see them. I would highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Beannie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesus T, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Hi Beannie

Your 5th time! that's a nice number! I am sure you will be upping it each year! It is so good to know that you enjoy the stays here...And so many friends... of course they will remember you! Please come back soon!

Best wishes

Jesus T
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We just returned from this resort today. It was our first time vacationing in Cuba, and unfortunately after this expirence, we will not be returning. While we really enjoyed the gorgeous beach and weather, there were just too many unacceptable issues. We were persuaded into paying extra for the elegance club, with the promise of extra luxuries such as in room beach towels, robes, express check in. Unfortunately, everyone on the plane was sold this package. So the line to check in was ridiculous and they only had two people on counter. By the time we got to the desk, they told us our room wasn't ready. While check in isn't actually till 4 pm, we were told to come back at 2. When we went back, we had to wait in line all over again because they told everyone to come back at 2. Our room still wasn't ready. They told us to come back again. This happened several times. By 10 to 4 they said our room was finally ready. The bell boy lead us to the room and when we got there the maids were still cleaning it. We were told once again to come back. We did and it still wasn't ready. By this point we were so tired, fed up, they offered us another room. The maid brought us towels and robes promptly. The robes were very old and warn, the dresser was missing a drawer, the hair dryer didn't work, and the balcony chairs were so low to the ground you couldn't see anything but concrete wall when you say in them. The power went out a couple times during our trip and the customer service was aweful. They mostly just ignored you and made it very obvious that you were annoying them. Our Fridge was never filled and the shower was always freezing! We did have an amazing server at the dinner buffet named Abel. He was a very hard working and extremely honest and friendly. The food itself is reason enough for me to never go back tho. Maybe I'm pickly, but everything about it was aweful. We also ended up leaving the nightly entertainment early or didn't bother going most nights. Wasn't very good. But the beach was pretty amazing. Clear water. Lots of fish and crabs, pretty cool. Unfortunately you had to be up before 7 am
If you wanted a chair on the beach or even in the shade. Not really my idea of vacation. It was still a nice week, but not worth the money. We will try something different next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cott86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesus T, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Good Morning Cott

Thanks for writing about the hotel. I am sorry we didn't meet your expectations, we will work harder to improve our services and try to please all our guests.

Regards


Jesus T
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

we past 10 days at the melia cayo guillermo.
beautifull beach, personnal extra ( rolando at the buffet and misleidys at the room )
food is very good and lot of variety
italien service is long but pizza is good
beautifull vacations

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lafontaine11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesus T, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Hello Lafontaine

Thank you very much for your nice words. I will pass your compliments to Rolando and Mislaidys and to the cheff. I am sure you will come back to visit us again,

Hoping to see you soon,

Jesus T
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We have just returned from Melia Cayo Guillermo all-inclusive resort in Cuba. We had a great time. The rooms were a little dated but large and clean. We did have to wait 7 hours for our room. The boardwalks to the beach could also use some maintenance-there were some broken and unsafe steps and nails sticking out boards. The very best thing about the resort is the people that work there. On our first visit to the buffet (we were a group of 6) we were warmly welcomed by Edel who was our waiter for breakfast and lunch for the week. He always had a table ready for us whether we were a group of 6 or 2. Maiyelena worked with Edel and was also fantastic. We always looked forward to the welcome we received from them and were made to feel like old friends. At the buffet you MUST have Romberto make you a personalized pizza-I think I had it almost everyday-He is wonderful and charming and he makes perfect pizza! Also, try the homemade doughnuts for breakfast-YUM! Everyone at this resort works long and hard.

The beach is beautiful. We had read about problems with sand fleas but had no sign of them when we were there (April). There was a great band on the beach one day that played Eagles, Beatles, ACDC, ZZ Top etc. It would have been nice to see them again during the week. There was also a different band outside of the Lobby Bar everynight that we really enjoyed. Our favourites were a solo guitarist and a three piece orchestra band (that played contemporary music-they were wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJJL11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesus T, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Hello DJJL11

I'd like to thanks you on behalf of our staff for your nice, long and detailed review about your holidays with us. We will pass your acknowledgment to Edel, Remberto and the rest of the cooks and waiters that looked after you. I am positive that you will return at the earliest possibility, also we will take into account your suggestions.

See you soon,

Jesus T
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This was our 5th time to our "home away from home". Reasons for returning year after year: The beauty of the site but mainly the warm hospitality of the staff, especially Edel, Maiyalena, Abel, Sandro, Mercanteti and Milay at the buffet; Arlent at the lobby bar; Lazaro at the Ranchon; Manuel-Jose at the Laguna and Maria at the reception desk. A special hello to Jimmy for adding so much spice to the environment. Every time we check in to the resort, it feels like we were there the day before. The night entertainment is great - professional dance group as well as our favorite entertainers on Tuesday night - Ismael and Neisy. Other performers, like Daniel Herranz and Guama, were greatly appreciated. A special thanks to the cooks at the buffet, who have their own ways to make us feel welcome. The beach is breathtaking and the food is good - what more can we ask?

It was also nice to see friends, who we have met over the years, and like ourselves keep returning year after year - why go elsewhere when you have everything here!

We hope that time flies until we return in March 2015!

Diane & Joseph

Room Tip: We tried different rooms and they were all good - except the ones close to the theater and the disco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesus T, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Good morning Joseph

Nice to hear your comment after your 5th time in the resort. Of course you will name a lot of the staff as you probably know them all. Also it is nice to hear you met with other friends you have cultivated along the years. We will be waiting for your return.

See you in march 2015

Jesus T
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

LOVED this resort. It's a good size and everything is close by. The hotel is 12 years old but very well kept and clean. The various public washroom in the resort are always very clean as well.

This was our 8th time in Cuba, and Meliã Cayo Guillermo was where we had the best food. Lots of variety and lots of different restaurants to eat throughout the day. The chefs are always doing quality control and replacing semi empty trays with full ones. There is never a shortage of food and always lots of choice.

We could of had lobster for $15 pesos in any of the A La Carte restaurants but we went to Ranchon Cuba Libre at the beach beside Meliã. It was very good and well cooked, but there was more mosquitoes there than at the resort. Either way you will be well served.

The rooms are big and comfortable. A bit dated but very clean.

The service was good everywhere, but I have to stand out a few people:
Edel and Milay - from the Buffet restaurant. Very friendly and served very well. Always paid extra attention to what we needed without us having to ask.
Yunia - from the beach bar. Always serving fast and engaging with friendly conversation.
Jorge - from the lobby bar. Funny and friendly.

The shows at night were some of best I've seen in Cuba. Amazing dancers, beautiful choreographies. They are all very talented but I have to give a shout out to our friends Gleibys and Gerardo. Genuine and friendly with no second intention. Outstanding people.

The beach is awesome! Great for kids as well. Snorkeling is a must at this resort! Check out the beautiful fish by the pier. Beware of the Barracuda and the Lionfish. Observe from afar. And take a peddle boat out into the the ocean and take a swim out there! Amazing crystal clear water!

I just have a few suggestions to make this hotel even better:
Music at the beach all day long. There was only music playing when there were activities and it would of been nice to have more music during the day.
Longer hours at the beach bar. It closed at 4pm which is a bit early.

We will for sure return to this hotel.
We're already planning our next trip at the end of this year.

Having a good hotel manager always goes a long way, and it shows in the employees. They all have good things to say about their manager Jesus. Keep up the good work Meliã!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csonhadora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesus T, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Hello csonhador

Thank you for your nice words about the hotel and the staff we will take into account your suggestions to improve our services, we will be expecting you by the end of the year then. The tim flies so the date will come soon

Have a nice day,

Jesus T
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Guillermo
0.4 mi away
Iberostar Daiquiri
Iberostar Daiquiri
#2 of 7 in Cayo Guillermo
4,014 reviews
13.0 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Iberostar Playa Pilar
Iberostar Playa Pilar
#1 of 7 in Cayo Guillermo
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sol Cayo Guillermo
Sol Cayo Guillermo
#4 of 7 in Cayo Guillermo
4,031 reviews
19.3 mi away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
6,259 reviews
19.3 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
3,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Cayo Guillermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cayo Guillermo

Address: Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Guillermo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Price Range: $141 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Cayo Guillermo 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Cayo Guillermo is located one of the most beautiful and white-sandy beaches with more than 1300 palm trees, and swept by very transparent waters. The area was an inspiration for Ernest Hemingway, and fishing the great blue river, always on his Pilar Yacht, he created part of his work. The hotel is perfect for couples and families but also for diving, fishing. We also organize the wedding of your dreams in this paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melia Cayo Guillermo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cayo Guillermo Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Cayo Guillermo Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing