We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent....what a difference 2 years made !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melia Cayo Guillermo
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent....what a difference 2 years made !”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Visited first time in 2011 and loved the property, but found attitude of many staff ruined an otherwise beautiful place.....so went elsewhere 2012. This year at the urging of my son we went back in first week of March.

Couldn't believe the difference.....thoroughly enjoyed every minute.

Great location, great staff, great food, great rest, talented entertainment !

Room Tip: Skip the upgrade to an Ocean view Suite if you want rest....they are over main building lobby/noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LKRMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesus T, General Manager at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear LKRMM
Thank you very much for your comments. I am very glad you decided to come back again at the hotel and I am happy you had a great holiday with us this time. As member of the Meliá Cayo Guillermo family, you and your son will always be welcomed any time you wish, until then all our best wishes
Regards
Jesús T.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,957
    1,311
    594
    297
    172
See reviews for
1,135
1,920
117
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (653)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunnville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is are first time at Melia Cayo Guillermo, It is a great resort. We stayed in room 3135 it was a very clean room on the bottom floor. We joned 33 other guests for a wedding was for Karen and Jay. The resort was always kept very clean by the hard working gardeners. We met Rocky on the beach he helped us get chairs and anything else we need he was always helpful. We also meet his wife Mary who is the Wedding/Event Planner and did an excellent job of the wedding. The flowers and the set up at the beach and beach resturaunt where beautiful. No details were left out. I also enjoyed Jimmy at the pool who got everyone involved in the games around the pool. There was also a lady who brought juices and cool cloths to Us at the pool side every day and was always very nice. This is Our third visit to Cuba and first time at this resort. We found the staff helpful at all times and never expected anything from you but because of their dedication to their jobs and the people they serve and We had no problems leaving them tips. We stayed May 20--27th. Also make sure to take a horse and buggy ride, the Gentlemen who took Us told a lot of information about the resorts and area. There was always chairs at the pools. This resort is a great couple resort. After the nightly show the resort is very quiet. Which we really like.Thanks alot for the great time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesus T, General Manager at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Randy
Thank you very much for taking your time to write about our resort and our staff. I feel very satisfied to know that you had a great wedding in our hotel and Mary and the rest of the staff did a great job. I will make sure to pass your comments to the staff. You will always be welcomed at the hotel, see you soon
Regards
Jesús T.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was our 8th stay at MCG in the past 9 years. I have to say it was probably the best one yet,
the first year is always a wow factor. But this year the wow was back. We were met by Linet[super nice and very helpful],she had a smile when we arrived and throughout the week.She saw to our every need, promptly and efficiently. Then there was Michel in the Disco Bar, excellent worker and super nice person to get to know.Hard hours of work, but always a smile for his customers. The Italian Restaurant has another super worker and super nice waiter, Jesus, very
personable and always ready to meet your needs, if they didn't have something, he would try his best to get it for you. Over the years we look forward to seeing them when we return.
The grounds were very well groomed this year..the whole resort appeared so much cleaner
and spruced up nicely, the presentations of all the meals very impressive.
We will definitely be returning next year. The beach if absolutely beautiful, I have yet to meet anyone who does not agree .
If you are looking for a small resort, personable workers, excellent service. this is the one for you.
Also have to mention, the entertainment was so improved from last year. Very impressed.
Keep up the great work.
Until next time.
G/K Gillis
Dartmouth,NS, Canada
Hope this is helpful

Room Tip: we always look for a second or third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesus T, General Manager at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Georgina G.
Thank you so much for your kind words about the resort and our staff. I am very glad you had a great time with us one more time. I am very proud of the staff because i know they are the reason why you always come back. Thank you on behalf of the staff about positive comments on the improvements we have done. I hope to see you back very soon as part of the Meliá Cayo Guillermo family,,, until then all my best wishes
Regards
Jesús T.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

we chose Melia to have our wedding at April 25th. We are so very glad we did. Mary the coordinator took care of every detail. Fresh beautiful flowers in a bouquet i received in my room along with the boutiner for my husband. Fresh flowers in quartz urns adorned the dock where we had the wedding, once the ceremony was completed, we enjoyed a champagne toast with 33 of our family and friends. Music was played which certainly added to the event. As i said Mary took care of every detail. Mary was amazing to work with, she was professional and listened to our thoughts about the wedding arrangements we had no trouble with language barriers as Mary was very fluent in english. Fresh flowers also adorned the entrance to the beach restaurant where we had our sit down meal. The meal although simple (as per our request) was prepared to perfection. We had a wedding cake, and the chef flambayed it as an extra touch. The other staff in the hotel as always were friendlly and very accomodating! Rocky on the beach told us of the many excursions available and made recommendations for us. Rocky always made sure to stop by where we were sitting to ask about how things were going and if he could do anything for us. we recommend that if you are looking for a destination wedding that you seriously consider the Melia, it is truly a beautiful resort, well maintained, the beaches are the most beautiful ones we have seen and the staff are truly amazing. We brought 21 people with us in 2012 and 33 for our wedding in April of this year and all of the guests said they would come back to this resort; infact some of the 21 were some of the 33 who came with us. When you go, enjoy every minute as the week will go very fast.

Room Tip: we enjoy the rooms on the beach level, infact our favourite is 3101 we wake up every morning looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karin_marks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesus T, General Manager at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Karin
I would like to thank you for writing about us in this webpage. It was very gratifying that you chose our hotel to celebrate your wedding. I know Mary is very professional and i am glad she did a great job organizing your wedding. I will pass your comments to her as well as the rest of the staff who helped also with the celebration. You and your wedding group will be very welcome at the hotel any time you wish ...see you soon .Best wishes
Regards
Jesús T.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this resort for one week on our first all inclusive vacation. The room was clean but the hairdryer was hanging off the wall and the balcony chairs were missing but the staff took care of it once we asked. Yaniel and sandro were great staff members that ensured we enjoyed our stay. The excursions were great! We enjoyed the bicycle ride and horse and carriage ride. The only drawback was the lack of lounge chairs on the beach and pool area as some Canadians saved chairs in both places. Perhaps the resort should make people return chairs when leaving each area to make it better for everyone to enjoy. We did not let the small things ruin our trip though. We thoroughly enjoyed all the friendliness of the staff and met lots of nice guests. We would definitely come back to this resort and we would recommend it to others. It is truly a place you want to experience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank climb-to-the-top
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesus T, General Manager at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear climb -to-the-top
I would like to thank you for writing about us in this webpage. I am very happy you had Thank you very much also for the wishes to recommend this hotel I really appreciate that. You will be very welcome at the hotel any time you wish ...see you soon .Best wishes
Regards
Jesús T.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I were back in Cuba in February and we squeezed a few days in at the Melia Cayo Guillermo.

In my last review I highlighted that there had been many improvements introduced by the management team and I didn't expect any major changes this time. Nevertheless there were quite a number of small improvements reflecting that the staff and management are very commited to making sure that this remains the best hotel in the Cayos.

If you want to read about the big improvements last year then please read my last, rather lengthy, review but here are just a few of the things that I noticed and think are worth mentioning this time. Don't worry, I'll keep it short!!

1) Ice creams are now available at the pool bar much of the time, it's certainly not Ben & Jerry's yet but it's good progress.
2) There is more live music on the patio in the evening as part of Wilber's expanding entertainment programme. Some of the musicians shipped in from Ciego or Moron are extremely good.
3) Afternoon hog roasts by the Cuban Bar. These were supposedly themed for each nationality, Canada one day, Argetina the next etc but, this being Cuba, this wasn't enforced and you can just turn up :-)
4) Galioska dressing up in outlandish costumes despite the heat, she is always happy.
5) Lunch in the Ranchon has become a very pleasant pastime, with a great view of the Carribbean on one side and a better view of Jefe Luis running around organising things on the other. The team do a great job keeping us guests well served.

I'd also like to give a special mention to Urimary and her front desk staff for being always helpful with any query at all. This team don't feature in too many reviews but they should because they are a critical part of the overall experience.

We will hopefully both be going back again in June to see how things are continuing to develop.

Room Tip: My favourites are the chalets, they are slightly more expensive but you get a ground level balcony w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank garythornton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesus T, General Manager at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you very for taking your time to write about the resort. I am very glad you had a great time at the resort and noticed some positive changes we have done at the resort. I will pass your comments to our staff they are going to be very glad to hear about you. As part of Meliá Cayo Guillermo family, feel free to come back any time you wish, until then all my best wishes
Regards
Jesús T.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was my 3rd year and it gets better every year. The food was amazing (new items on the menu and lovely presentation) The customer service (Linet & Marisque) the servers (Mitchel, Jesus, Anna, Diolexus, to name a few) could not do enough for you. The property is kept clean and the pools and gardens well tended. The beaches are beautiful, well kept and the security guards helpful, friendly and dedicated. The entertainment gets better every year as well and there is always something new.

Room Tip: I like the second floor ... personal preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesus T, General Manager at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Pamela M.
Thank you very much for taking your time to write about us in this web page. I am very glad you had a great time in our resort. I will pass your comments to our staff because i knwo they are the main reason why you always come back. You will be very welcome at the hotel any time you wish I am sure our staff will be glad to see you again, until then all my best wishes to you
Regards,
Jesús T.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Guillermo
0.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
#2 of 6 in Cayo Guillermo
3,969 reviews
13.0 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
12.8 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sol Cayo Guillermo
Sol Cayo Guillermo
#3 of 6 in Cayo Guillermo
3,994 reviews
19.3 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
3,201 reviews
14.0 mi away
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Cayo Guillermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cayo Guillermo

Property: Melia Cayo Guillermo
Address: Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Guillermo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Cayo Guillermo 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Cayo Guillermo is located one of the most beautiful and white-sandy beaches with more than 1300 palm trees, and swept by very transparent waters. The area was an inspiration for Ernest Hemingway, and fishing the great blue river, always on his Pilar Yacht, he created part of his work. The hotel is perfect for couples and families but also for diving, fishing. We also organize the wedding of your dreams in this paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melia Cayo Guillermo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cayo Guillermo Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Cayo Guillermo Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing