We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, quiet resort with wonderful people!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Melia Cayo Guillermo
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Alliston, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful, quiet resort with wonderful people!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I spent 1 week in February at the Melia Cayo Guillermo. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the resort. The resort itself was very nice, nice landscaped with lots of places to sit and relax. The beach was absolutely gorgeous, very clear water and perfect sandy white beach. I never had any difficulty finding somewhere to sit either on the beach or by the pool. This is a quiet resort so if you're looking for lots of activities and things going on it may not be right for you but if like me you are looking for a quiet week of relaxing, reading etc. then this is the perfect resort. My room was very nice, the bedroom very nice and comfortable. The bathroom is a little outdated and could do with updating but it worked was clean. The entertainment crew put on fun shows in the evening, changing the dancing and performances to keep it interesting. The food was good, with a good amount of variety at the buffet. The staff though was one of the best parts. They were really excellent and provided amazing service! I'd like to particularly thank Edel and Maiyelena who I saw at breakfast and lunch, as well as Guillermo and Abel at the dinner buffet. They were all so nice, really kind and attentive and just fun to be around. I'd also like to thank Remberto who was in charge of the pizza bar in the evening buffet. He made excellent made to order pizzas and incredibly always remembered who ordered what and delivered the pizzas to your table! My time at this resort was a great experience and I would go back in a heart beat!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 701ColleenE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,905
    1,270
    558
    280
    157
See reviews for
1,083
1,848
112
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ste Adele
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

as always incredible service, this is our 11th stay at MCG and it`s been improved, the food, the people, the rooms .. all better!!!!

new customer service managment (Michael) .. is great..thank you Michael for making this stay memorable..

buffet was good, a la carte restaurants better then ever...thank you to the International restaurant manager,,,he is just great...

Thank you to Vania (Bonasi) for making us feel just like at home..what a great service she provides..i just adore her.. need to say that Barbara is doing a great job..use to be at the beach bar but much more happy at te restaurant..

the buffet is perfect you can find all.. from fish to pasta all is tasty and fresh..the staff at the buffet is awesome...Guillermo, Yosmani, Boris, Yosmary etc... Banana cook ..wow....just Awesome people....great service....

rooms have been updated ..blowers, paint, .. all better than before..no complaints...hot water and pressure all the time yeah!!!^`

the Hotel needs a bit of TLC but overall ok...

my friend Yonel at the Cubibana,,pool place...just perfect service and place.....best drinks ever!!!


great wheater...people..food..what can you ask for more!!!

Suzie and Paul from Canada

Room Tip: 2nd floor is great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank clichesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have visited many places but this gets a 10!
The shows were second to none, the best beyond words and Pedro gave the best massage!
The grill restaurant prepared dishes that pleased us fully and the buffet had a great selection.
A trip to Pillar beach is worth 5 Passos and more.
I cannot brag enough about this resort!

Room Tip: This was the best place I have ever been. The shows, the beach and staff are great! Already planning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Charlie1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Just returned and really enjoyed it. Particularly keen on fish and watching Pelicans and the Eagle that visited every day to take food off a fork in grounds of hotel - fab! Aquatic ballet was fantastic, this being one of evening entertainments. Also dancers were very good, one very elegant lady to watch out for ( think her name was Diode or DD). My hubby a bit concerned that we found out there were snakes in the sea (after returning) I found some skins in the sea that we later discovered could have been snakes shedding their skins! Weather not always hot but when it was it was fantastic-no nicer place anywhere I've been. Also drinks and food good. Particularly impressed that cocktails served in nice glasses and not tacky plastic glasses. On the whole it was lovely.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tbash007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just came back from a week at the Melia Cayo Guillermo. What a wonderful hotel! The staff are friendly and the resort itself is great. It is small enough that you don't need a golf cart to get around but large enough that you don't feel like you're on top of everyone. Restaurants were good and the variety on the buffet was fine. My husband is a picky eater and he did not starve! The room was nice, air conditioning worked well and the hot water was plentiful. The best part of this hotel is the beach. That's why we like to go to Cuba! I don't understand why people would give negative reviews of this hotel. It was a 100% positive experience for us! Enjoy the beach, the gardens and the friendly people of the MCG!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ndgbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Recently came back from a wonderful stay at Melia Cayo Guillermo. The beach is a MUST SEE. And the staff is among the VERY BEST I've come across in many countries, specially Milsa and Yoseimi at the morning and lunch buffet; Anaisa at the Cascada, and Lazaro at the Ranch on Playa restaurant, who also walked the beach in the scorching sun to provide us with fresh drinks and an authentic smille. The rooms could use some freshning up and a clean up, but as we are not there to stay in, it doesn't matter much. The food is pretty good despite the fact you cannot get limes, lemons, garlic and hot spices (???!!!) but with a bit of creativity you certainly don't starve. AUTHENTICA Cuba must stand for AUTHENTICLY serviceable and warm people!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Anick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have been to Cuba six times and have visited resorts in Jibacoa, Santiago and Varadero - not one has come close to the service and warmth of the Melia Cayo Guillermo.

We travelled with two young children, aged 2 and 4 - and two seniors. The resort is a perfect size, it's easy to walk around - unlike some of the "monster" resorts in Varadero.

The Kids' Club is absolutely amazing. Noelkis, who runs it, is absolutely wonderful. She truly cares about the children and arranges thoughtful outings. There's an "Ecological Day" where the kids find and draw seashells and feed the turtles. There is a pony ride, a Kids' Party and so much more. Glebys, a lovely dancer who also helps in the Kids' Club, was also amazing. She always went out of her way to take care of and entertain the children. Needless to say, they helped give us parents a much-needed break, and both children had an incredible time.

In the dining room, Yuri took incredible care of our family - and always had a table set up with a high chair.
And in the pool bar, Ana Isa was always so kind and attentive - thank you both!

In terms of food, there's a lot of choice. A great seafood grill. And a good pasta bar.

The rooms are fine. They are not 4-star by other resort standards, but are clean and certainly big enough.

THE BOTTOM LINE: If you are the type who requires high thread count sheets and a gourmet dining experience, Cuba may not be for you. But if you are looking for a family resort with exceptional service, an incredible beach - quite honestly one of the nicest in the world - and a relaxing laid-back holiday, the Melia Cayo Guillermo is a great choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank CJDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Guillermo
12.8 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,057 reviews
13.0 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
19.3 mi away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
5,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sol Cayo Guillermo
Sol Cayo Guillermo
#4 of 6 in Cayo Guillermo
3,875 reviews
19.1 mi away
Sol Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco
#3 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4,105 reviews
19.3 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Cayo Guillermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cayo Guillermo

Property: Melia Cayo Guillermo
Address: Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Guillermo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Cayo Guillermo 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Cayo Guillermo is located one of the most beautiful and white-sandy beaches with more than 1300 palm trees, and swept by very transparent waters. The area was an inspiration for Ernest Hemingway, and fishing the great blue river, always on his Pilar Yacht, he created part of his work. The hotel is perfect for couples and families but also for diving, fishing. We also organize the wedding of your dreams in this paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melia Cayo Guillermo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cayo Guillermo Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Cayo Guillermo Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing