We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,344)
Filter reviews
4,344 results
Traveler rating
1,680
1,414
640
362
248
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,680
1,414
640
362
248
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main bar fish snack bar pasta two weeks beach restaurant a la carte great holiday toasties beautiful beach churros sales manager buffet restaurant entertainment staff the thomas cook rep new friends kite surfers
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 4,344 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2018

What an amazing vacation we had.

This was our very first visit to the area, and we were smitten; I was afraid it'd be too quiet for our liking, but we found it very relaxing and just what we needed.

Every staff member we encountered was friendly, accommodating, and very professional. The bartenders provided quick yet personal service, remembering what drinks you like. The hand-shaken margaritas at the lobby bar are frankly better than anything I've had in Mexico! Bony at the beach bar made drinks fairly weak, but he'd add more rum if asked (my daiquiris kept freezing solid LOL).

We found the food at the buffet VERY agreeable, especially the fresh fish from the grill. Food was kept very hot. It's nice that the buffet is open until 10 pm, but there isn't a lot of choice past 9:30. Breakfasts were great. We never ate there at lunch, instead choosing to eat at the beach grill or from the snack portal by the pool bar.

Our room was very large, airy, and clean. As a bonus, the air conditioning unit was BRAND NEW. This is the first time I've come home from Cuba without a respiratory infection! There was a fridge in the room (unstocked) and the bathroom was well supplied as well, with enough soap and shampoo for more than a week. We always had lots of toilet paper and nice thick towels, as well. The ONLY issue we had with our room was the door locking mechanism. We had to have our cards re-keyed daily, sometimes twice. It wasn't a huge deal, as the front desk was very charming about it, but towards the end of the week when we ended up with tummy bugs, it was stressful.

The entertainment was amazing. The dancers are very talented and the costumes were really fetching. I can't really comment on the daytime activities as we are beach people and there was nothing posted as to what was happening when/where so we just stayed on the beach.

The beach is beautiful. The palapas provide pretty good shade, but we chose the ones with palm fronds on them for more coverage.

The hotel is maybe an hour and half or so from the airport. Buy the 2 for $5 CAD beer on the bus and relax. :o) Check in will be easy. We arrived at 11:30 or so and were in our room by noon.

Thank you so much, Sol Cayo Guillermo! We'll be back. :o) Steve & Christine

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Desmei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelido Arsenio C, Director of Sales at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

Dear Steve & Christine,

We are so happy to read your comments!!! We are very glad to know we have been able to provide you with an amazing holiday experience. We will certainly share your remarks with the staff, especially with the departments you have been kind enough to mention. Your comments make us feel like we are moving on the right direction to make our hotel even better for your future enjoyment. Thank you for your observation on some entertainment staff, it's already being addressed. Great to read that you will visit us again and special thanks for recommending us! Please! follow us on facebook Sol Cayo Guillermo – Cuba and send us your booking details and just ring the bell for us to look after another excellent holiday with us. Hope to see your like and comments in our Facebook page: Sol Cayo Guillermo - Cuba.

With Warmest Regards,

Nelido Casay Diaz / Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018

Well this was my 6th trip to Cuba in the last year, so it is VERY difficult for me to think of actually having a Bad vacation in Cuba.
That being said, it will ALWAYS be the kind,helpful & friendly attitude of the Cuban people & resort staff that bring me back, time & time again.
The Sol Cayo staff are NO exception, beautiful people !!!
The resort itself has an a great assortment of 1 & 2 story villas, most located very close to a spectacular, beautiful beach, a beatiful pool is centrally located & provides endless hours of fun for children & parents.
Yes this resort appears geared towards families & offers a pleasant economical holiday for everyone.
I went from Sept 7-14th, so there were not many children, actually the resort was not all that busy, until some Fun Brits started to arrive from London & Manchester. LOVE the Brits !!!!
The rooms are Basic, but Clean & Comfortable, with Ikea style furnishings.
The food is a little above average, but lacks some variety. This was a pleasant vacation, to say the least, but I need to take some time to give an honest view of the entire area.
There appears to be some lingering hurricane damage (especially on Guillermo), numerous decapitated Palm Trees & grey damaged vegetation appears common.
Cayo Coco seems to have endured a little better & appears more tropical & lush.
I was fortunate enough to see the return of the pink flamingos (in reduced numbers) to the area.
Keep in mind that most of the resorts in the area are quite cookie cutter in nature.
Huge open air Lobby, pool directly beyond the lobby, overlooking a beautiful beach.
The Check In is on one side of the Lobby & the Lobby Bar & Gift/Convenience store on the other.
I find the only way to determine the difference between a 3 star & 5 star resort is to see if there is a fountain, oriental rug or crystal chandeliers in the lobby.
Naturally there were a couple of rather pissy exceptions to these rules, The Melia, at the Far end of Cayo Coco, with Villas on stilts in the lagoon & trendy lobby or the Pullman, seeming to want to appeal to the higher end crowd.
I did see 1 unique resort, (The Hotel Colonial), NOT an All Inclusive, but it had all the character & a charm of a Spanish Colonial village.
Being that they're really isn't a sizable town in the area, one may really miss out on much of the rich culture Cuba has to offer.
Also, because of this, The Gift shops can be VERY EXPENSIVE, simple items can be 25% to 100% more costly than at other locations in Cuba, I have visited.
Every location in Cuba will be your favourite (for different reasons). Explore, Enjoy & you'll have no regrets.

Room Tip: Most rooms appear fine, 1 & 2 Story villas
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank CubaCrazyPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelido Arsenio C, Director of Sales at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

Dear Loyal CubaCrazyPaul,

Thank you very much for your honest and lovely comment to the resort. Thank you for the compliments to the staff and the resort. We have passed your food comments to our chef.There are always adjustments to be made and your observations and suggestions always help us to do so. Thank you for your recommendations. Future clients will appreciate it. We do look forward in the hope of being able to welcome you back in the near future and delivering to you the holiday vacation that so many of our guests have experienced and continue to enjoy at the Hotel.

With Warmest Regards,

Nelido casay Diaz / Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2018

Hi all very nice but the pool bar is missing. They should do it ir I would recommend it yo over friends, beso preparing and strengthening the organización. congratulations, thank you very much por the service provided.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
7  Thank pelaezruben6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelido Arsenio C, Director of Sales at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2018

Dear pelaezruben6,

Thank you very much for your congratulations. We are glad to read we have met your expectation and you have enjoyed your holidays. Please! keep following us on facebook: Sol Cayo Guillermo - Cuba. We will adore to see your likes and comments. See you soon!

With Warmest Regards,

Nelido casay Diaz / Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Sol Cayo Gullermore 15th August for 2 weeks, our room was 804, yes it’s fairly basic but comfy beds cleaned every day, even if it was late in the day sometimes, The entertainment staff work hard to keep you entertained day and night and are really friendly, lots to do around the pool, evening entertainment was varied with some excellent shows especially The Michael Jackson show just brilliant. The beach is out of this world!! And just on the doorstep, food is okay just gets repetitive after 1st week but nothing wrong with it, just becomes boring and you have no other options outside hotel except Lobster Shack to the left along the beach which is worth a visit, All the staff are amazing and really look after you, my first time in Cuba but you feel like you have made friends with the restaurant staff, bar and lobby staff outstanding!!! We did a lot of trips to break the time up as there is just hotels and beach within reach, We did the trip to Moron - eye-opener, speedboats - amazing, Horse-riding - a little scary Dolphins - good price and of course Catermeran - beautiful! I Read reviews before coming and everyone says the staff make your holiday. Well they certainly did!!! Thanks for an amazing 2 weeks absolutely loved every minute. Only advice is bring some extra food to break up boredom!
Hazel and Mick

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
7  Thank hazie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelido Arsenio C, Director of Sales at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

Dear hazie45,

Thank you for your words and recommendation. We are happy to read that your first time in Cuba was in Sol Cayo Guillermo. The stronger point in the resort is the staff, always being as friendly as they can to make you feel in home. Thank you for your recommendations. We advise you follow us on Facebook: Sol Cayo Guillermo - Cuba. We hope to see you soon, please! let's us know your booking details once you have it. Keep in touch!

With Warmest Regards,

Nelido Casay Diaz / Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2018

The grounds were maintained well, it's an older property, but it was fine. Our rooms were clean and had good pressure, hot water. Our AC worked amazingly. They put a free bottle of water each day in your room. They had target shooting, tennis, paddle boats, and kayaks. WiFi is one CUC for one hour in the lobby. They had a room safe, but I just kept everything in my locked luggage. Only concern with room was that they would make up the bed, but not change the sheets also did not change the towels on a regular basis. I didn't call to complain, but if you really want it you need to request it.

The beach was fantastic! White sand, aquamarine water and free of seaweed. Chairs were clean and new, some shaded areas, and close to the BBQ grill and bar.

Food was okay at the buffet; two a la cartes were better, but still had limited ingredients and dishes to choose from. There is a snack bar by the pool and a BBQ grill by the beach. They had a great selection of alcohol and all the bar staff was fast and efficient. We went to the sister hotel Sol Cayo Coco (which is allowed 9-5 via the double decker bus) and tried their buffet food there and it seemed a bit better quality, but the property wasn't as nice.

Staff was engaged and friendly. They had really good night show each evening. They had some upper management always checking the standards around the property as well (shirt and tie guys). One concern. I had arranged to have a special dinner for my parents as it was their anniversary and the customer services ladies arranged it and said it was all taken care of. I wanted a secluded area for them to dine alone, a nice champagne, and some singers. They said that was okay, but as the date got closer, they changed it to the regular a la carte and said they could make up their bed with nice arranged towels to say happy anniversary etc. When the day came, we did get the champagne, but no band and room was not done up. This isn't a major issues, of course, but shows the lack of integration and communication behind the scenes.

Overall, we had a great time in late August and we did not have any issues with the weather. It rained a couple of times early in the morning for about 15 min. Would go back.

Room Tip: If you have accessibility concerns, you can ask for a ground level accommodation.
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sneekymongoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelido Arsenio C, Director of Sales at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

Dear sneekymongoose,

Thank you very much for lovely review. we really appreciate you have taken part of your time to post your review on trip advisor, we enjoy having feedback from our clients. We are so happy to hear from you and we are glad to know you have passed a good stance in our hotel. Thank you for the compliments to my staff and the beach. They are the assets of the resort. we hope to see you one more time laying in front of our spectacular beach Spot or Around the pool area drinking a cuban cocktail, taking a nap or reading a book and enjoying the purity of the nature at Sol Cayo Guillermo style. See you soon!

With Warmest Regards,

Nelido Casay Diaz / Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews