We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“again at the sol cayo guillermo”
Review of Sol Cayo Guillermo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sol Cayo Guillermo
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Reviewed November 3, 2013

from september 17 to october 1st we were my husband and i for two weeks at the sol cayo Guillermo. again it was marvelleous. a new manager always wondering how we were. thank you to jorge marie at the buffet plus that loveley girl which i forgot the name but she is always singing.thank you the two very nice guy at the Guillermo restaurant. thank you to oscar at the ranchom.thank you to magdlin the other girl at the reception who make you fill at home. the hotel improve a lot. the food was good our room clean thank you to our maid. the beache was fabulous. the wheather very warm but lovely. we meet some peoples that where there years before to prove you that it is good to go to the sol cayo Guillermo. and still because of the employees which are very nice. that is one of the reasons we intend to go back probably before the end of the year. see you soon.
f Lemieux quebec canada

Room Tip: in the 700 closed to eveything
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francoise l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Antonio R, Director of Sales at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Francoise,

First of all, thank you very much for taking part of your time to write your comments on tripadvisor, we really appreciate it! we enjoy having feedback from our clients,

Thank you very much for your comment with our hotel (food, staff and everything you have wroten about us) I’m agree with your comments: As you have said our potentional are staff and beach, they make the difference and they make worth you have spent your holiday, they come true your holiday dreams and our general manager is taking care of every detail to make sure the magic be present everytime,

It was a plasure had you here and you have passed good one more time, we hope to see you soon to Welcome you in your cuban home!

Have a lovely weekend!

Best Regards / Nelido Casay / Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,027)
There are newer reviews for Sol Cayo Guillermo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,341 - 1,347 of 4,027 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

We booked our holiday like most people on the Gatwick flight 17-31 Oct about 3 weeks before departing and it couldn't be beaten for value for money. All inclusive fortnight cost less than a week half board in the Canary Islands.
Thomas Cook flights are an altogether different experience that just have to be put up with for discomfort and fleecing you for in flight extras

Back to the hotel. The hotel beach is just as good, if not better than Pillar beach. We met "Samwatts21" and can confirm that walking to Pillar is a terrible idea. Going on the bus is much more sensible. From the hotel, in low tide you can walk out about 200m and keep hitting sandbars and paddling up to your knees. We saw a baby ray, loads of fish and lots of sand dollars.

The hotel pool is fab with four separate areas for either avoiding the kids / keeping the kids entertained at different water depths. And very entertaining to try and get the crabs out of the pool after it rains.

The buffet restaurant has a great variety of food and we had no complaints, though we would have loved something spicy and more black beans and rice. The three chef stations offering freshly cooked to order meat, pasta or fish were amazing, especially the calamari and prawns. These same stations offered eggs, toast or pancakes/doughnuts at breakfast.
The beach restaurant wasn’t great for dinner but we made it into the International restaurant twice and loved it. The kids loved the beach restaurant for lunch, as well as the snack bar, but my favourite was the freshly cooked churros!
One night we made it through the wind and rain to the lobster shack down the beach path (to the left) for some AMAZING lobster and shrimp. 5*. 20 pesos and amazing food.

The children’s entertainment was patchy at best. Mini disco in the evening was a disappointing 15 mins long most night with one game and one song if you were lucky. Twice they put on kids fashion shows/dancing which was much more entertaining. When it rained (3 days) there was no extra entertainment, but a lot of kids had plaited hair instead.
The in-house evening dance entertainment was great. One of the girls was absolutely amazing with her ballet and modern dance, a second had amazing expression in the latin dances and the rest of the crew provided a great support.
Carlos Cruz in the lobby bar was lovely and made a mean White Lady. The level of cleanliness throughout was great. The maids were amazing and made great shapes with the towels and blankets. The gardeners provided an amazing supply of hats, grass hoppers, fish and roses.

We went on three trips. The Now Cuba trip (same day as “Samwatts21”) was disappointing and felt like it was our guide’s opportunity to take us to his friends “art galleries” and get us to buy stuff. The speedboat ride, tricycle ride and opportunity to see how Cubans live was good. The steam train was disappointingly broken. The one day fly-to-Havana trip was great, (even with a 5 year old), loads of stops and to see more differences in their way of life. We all loved the Dolphin Delight and Mangrove Adventure, and even more so that it was all less than five minutes from the hotel.

Show your appreciation for the staff, most who travel 1 1/2 hours each way to get to the hotel by leaving staff (not just the maids) "stuff" - toothpaste, suncream, medicines, lotions, clothes, pens, pencils, stuff for the kids. They just can't buy this stuff, it's not there to buy. So on the other side, take with you what you need, but use your weight allowance to get stuff for the staff. They deserve it .

Room Tip: We were in the 200 block and it was quiet
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loum0o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Antonio R, Director of Sales at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Dear Loum,

First of all, thank you very much for taking part of your time to write your comments on tripadvisor, we really appreciate it! we enjoy having feedback from our clients,

Thank you very much for your comment with our hotel (entertaiment, maid, staff and everything you have wroten about us) Our potentional are the staff and beach, they make the difference and they make worth you have spent your holiday, they come true your holiday dreams and they make sure the magic be present everytime in each activitie,

Concerning the beach restaurant at night, we are going to built a new one next year, we hope you like it, right now we have churros and popcorn in front of the snack close to the stage in the afternoon till 11:00pm, clients love it!

We are happy to know you have passed a good stance in our hotel, we hope to see you one more time laying in front of our spectacular beach Spot or Around the pool area drinking a cuban cocktail, taking a nap or reading a book and enjoying the purity of the nature at Sol Cayo Guillermo style,

Have a lovely weekend!

Best Regards / Nelido Casay / Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Just back and let's just say a fab time had by all.... Met lovely new people and they loved it too... Food was good.... Beach was fab.... International restaurant was as good as ever.... Loved the new lobby bar for a few of Carlos's always we'll fuelled cocktails & fab coffees ... .... And would never forget to mention the unforgettable Carlos at the cubanito.... That bar wouldn't be the same without him.... A defo jewel in the crown..... Can't wait to book again......

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank freckles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Antonio R, Director of Sales at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Dear Freckles,

First of all, thank you very much for taking part of your time to write your comments on tripadvisor, we really appreciate it! we enjoy having feedback from our clients,

Thank you very much for your lovely words! They made us feel special, as you have said our staff are our asset and they make the magic appear in each Service, fortunately we have them to make the difference and make worth you have spent your holiday in a great pleace,

We also like to thank you for your loyalty, it’s great have clients like you, please! keep in touch! We are glad to hear we are going to see you one more time laying in front of our spectacular beach Spot or our pool area drinking cuban cocktails, taking a nap or reading a book and enjoying the purity of the nature at Sol Cayo Guillermo style,

See you soon!

Have a lovely weekend!

Best Regards / Nelido Casay / Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed at the SCG from 4th Oct for 2 weeks, this being our 17th stay, and as other regulars have said, "it's so good to be home!". Thanks to Yaimi, the Reservations Manager, the room we had requested was presented perfectly as usual.
Thanks too to our maid Iray, she is such a friendly lady, always has a smile and a cheery "hola!" and an excellent job she does too. I must admit that we had some concerns this time regarding some of the recent comments about poor quality food and supposedly illnesses as a result. In our case we found these concerns to be unfounded and there was always a decent choice of quality fayre to choose from and at the "Satellite" fresh cook stations, always prepared and served with a smile and a few words of conversation. I must also compliment the chef in the International A la carte Restaurant and as usual, the waiting staff were 1st class, thank you.
One thing we did notice was that a lot of the staff we have come to know were not there, and because of the success of the new Lobby Bar, the main bar is not as well populated and the "buzz" from the bar staff was sadly missing with the exception of Joni, always has a smile and such a humble and friendly man. The Lobby Bar staff, Carlos Cruz and Yamilla are the perfect team, working so hard to provide excellent service and atmosphere to their guests, as they always have done over the years we have known them, thank you! I still find it hard to believe that any experienced and conscientious barman worth his salt would ruin a classic quality Cuban rum such as Havana Club 7 year old and Havana Club Barrel Proof by using it in a basic rum and cola, the cola being dispensed from the multi nozzle dispenser? Reader, draw your own conclusion here. Although there are no fans or other cooling systems in this bar, the manager has assured us that fans are on the near agenda to be fitted, much needed. The Cubanito (Rum Bar) is still a great place to meet up and make new friends, although on this occasion it was very noticeable that the selection of drinks was seriously depleted and the quality of the dark rum left a lot to be desired, even the basic white Havana Club rum on some occasions, being substituted for an even cheaper and rougher rum.
The gardeners keep the grounds immaculate and well presented and again will always acknowledge you with "hola" and really appreciate an ice cold can of beer or soft drink in those high 30s temperatures.
This holiday also included us being part of our dear friend's wedding. The whole occasion was professionally organised and managed be Yudi, the wedding co-ordinator and the Wedding Gazebo was beautifully decorated with palm leaves and flowers by one of the ever smiling gardeners, oh! and the Bride looked stunning! And the groom didn't look too bad either. We couldn't have wished for a better day, preparation, the ceremony, weather, celebrations with Carlos in the Cubanito, and the Reception meal in the International Restaurant, perfect!
All in all, another great holiday here and nothing occurring that would stop us returning for the foreseeable future. Maybe the Beach Party could be ended at a more reasonable time, 3am is really not acceptable especially for the residents of the rooms located just 20 mts from the event. In fact the volume of the music could heard practically all over the site.

This hotel however, is located a long way from the mainland Cuba and on a tiny island with no main street shopping malls, cafes, pubs or shops, and although it is advertised as a family friendly hotel, I would certainly advise young parents with babies and young children to think twice before booking. The 10 hour flight from the UK can be torture for youngsters, especially on the return home through the night flight. The hotel does have a kiddie’s pool and kids club with limited resources, there is no water park or roundabouts or other rides. And from what we have witnessed, it is more of a trial and tribulation for the parents, having to deal with the heat, their own mozzie and sand fly bites as well as keeping their kids occupied, out of the sun and their mozzie bites, just my observations.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cubacarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Antonio R, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Customer,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experiences at the TripAdvisor webpage and let you know that choosing our resort to fulfill your holiday plans has been a privilege for us .

We appreciate that you gave us the opportunity to serve you in our Sol Cayo Guillermo family, We warmly welcome all our guests to provide them a unique experience and an unforgettable holiday.

Your comments are of a great encouragement to improve our services.

Do not hesitate to contact us for any further request.

We are looking forward to your next visit to your second home Sol Cayo Guillermo in Cuba..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Just returned from Sol Cayo Guillermo after a week vacation from Oct 21st to Oct 28th and fell in love with this resort. We've been to Cuba many times before at various locations but this resort raises above all. The resort is a gem with visitors from Argentina, Canada and the UK.

Staff at the reception are accommodating and they'll do anything to make your stay a comfortable one. We had many interesting conversations with Jose working at the towel service. He is such a friendly guy.

Grounds are well kept and the pool is clean and of perfect size for the resort. And of course, the beach to die for, clean with white sand. We visited Pilar beach and it is beautiful, however would say that the hotel beach is as good as Pilar beach.

This place has a family friendly atmosphere with around 270 rooms (some were closed for renovation) situated in two storey villas and bungalows. We stayed in the 500-block and liked it as it was close to everything. Shows are good and some of the dancers are amazing. There is a day time program but if you prefer to be left alone, they won't hassle you.

If you have the means and there is room in your luggage, kindly bring some gifts to the wonderful Cuban people: toothpaste, toothbrushes, tooth floss, toiletries, medicine (pain killers) for kids and adults, colouring books and crayons for kids and gently used shoes and clothes.

Can't agree more with the other excellent reviews of this resort and hope you'll love it too!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nordique2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Antonio R, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Customer,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experiences at the TripAdvisor webpage and let you know that choosing our resort to fulfill your holiday plans has been a privilege for us .

We appreciate that you gave us the opportunity to serve you in our Sol Cayo Guillermo family, We warmly welcome all our guests to provide them a unique experience and an unforgettable holiday.

Your comments are of a great encouragement to improve our services.

Do not hesitate to contact us for any further request.

We are looking forward to your next visit to your second home Sol Cayo Guillermo in Cuba..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here from 3rd oct - 18oct
What can I say wow wow wow wow wow this place will blow u away it is unbelievable the staff and grounds are perfect. Yes it's Cuba but omg wow. The beach is so nice the sea is like a bath. Take calamine lotion for sand fly bites that will stop the itching. The food is superb and lots to choose from. The bars are brilliant Carloz cruz at the lobby bar is a serious credit to scg. Reception will go out there way to help u. Didn't get pestered with beach sellers what so ever. I strongly recommend this place it's perfect.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Teddybeartraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Antonio R, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Customer,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experiences at the TripAdvisor webpage and let you know that choosing our resort to fulfill your holiday plans has been a privilege for us .

We appreciate that you gave us the opportunity to serve you in our Sol Cayo Guillermo family, We warmly welcome all our guests to provide them a unique experience and an unforgettable holiday.

Your comments are of a great encouragement to improve our services.

Do not hesitate to contact us for any further request.

We are looking forward to your next visit to your second home Sol Cayo Guillermo in Cuba..

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

All we can say is Amazing, Yudy the wedding coordinator was fantastic, Mike Alan and Bar Staff great, waitress staff fantastic, John and Pool staff great friend.
Gardeners amazing with the hats flowers etc in fact all the staff fantastic a massive thank you for making our Holiday and Wedding very special which we will never forget. Entertainment staff would pay good money to go see the shows. Met some great people both Cuban and English. Can not wait to return for our anniversary.
The food in the main restaurant was great plenty of choice and the international restaurant food wow. This the first time we have wrote a review for anywhere, apart from the sand flies just amazing place did not want to come home. Mr & Mrs Milnes

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Briange1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Antonio R, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Customer,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experiences at the TripAdvisor webpage and let you know that choosing our resort to fulfill your holiday plans has been a privilege for us .

We appreciate that you gave us the opportunity to serve you in our Sol Cayo Guillermo family, We warmly welcome all our guests to provide them a unique experience and an unforgettable holiday.

Your comments are of a great encouragement to improve our services.

Do not hesitate to contact us for any further request.

We are looking forward to your next visit to your second home Sol Cayo Guillermo in Cuba..

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Guillermo
0.8 mi away
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
#2 of 7 in Cayo Guillermo
4,009 reviews
13.4 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
13.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Iberostar Playa Pilar
Iberostar Playa Pilar
#1 of 7 in Cayo Guillermo
1,158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Cayo Guillermo
Melia Cayo Guillermo
#3 of 7 in Cayo Guillermo
4,369 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sercotel Club Cayo Guillermo
Sercotel Club Cayo Guillermo
#5 of 7 in Cayo Guillermo
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Cayo Guillermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Guillermo

Address: Jardines Del Rey | Cuba, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Guillermo
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Price Range: $117 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol Cayo Guillermo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Stars All Inclusive Resort with 268 rooms. Located in Cayo Guillermo,Cuba, in one of the most beautiful beaches, in the archipelago Jardines del Rey, near Playa Pilar and near one of the most beautiful coral reefs in the world. Known for its romantic and lush tropical vegetation. Recommended for families, couples, weddings and honeymoons.268 rooms: 135 standard, 96 Standard Ocean View, 37 Superior Standard 3 Dining Restaurants (Buffet),4 bars.An incredible natural paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Cayo Guillermo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Guillermo Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Sol Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Cayo Guillermo Sol Hotel
Sol Cayo Guillermo Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing