We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"would return again"”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sol Cayo Guillermo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sol Cayo Guillermo
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Dewsbury
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“"would return again"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

First time visit to Sol Cayo Guillermo and must say i liked the place.Had to wait an hour or so for my room to be ready but it wasnt a problem just had a drink in the bar.Must say the 2 reception bar staff were a pleasure to deal with always smiling and bringing drinks out on the terrace all holiday.
Room was ok kept clean didnt have any problems with bugs.I was right at the end on the left no.1221 bit out of the way but it was quite.
There was always something to pick from to eat if a little cold at times but that might have been me going in later for my meals.Spent most of the day at the beach well worth getting up early for the morning sunrise lovely sight.never a problem with getting a sunbed although got quite a few bites especially after the rain.Would certainly go back again only 1 small gripe they seemed to run out of glasses quickly on a night and had to use plastic glasses,but if thats the only moan then its been a good holiday.Staff very friendly and they love a sneaky drink from the bar. had a great time

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scouthiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Antonio R, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Mr.

Firsly we would like to thank you for choise us in your vacations and for your reviews in TripAdvaisor.
Regarding the Room and the problem with the glasses in the Bar we are working so this does happen again.
Remember to write us to this Mail director.general.scg@meliacuba.com for your next Visit, so we can have you request ready.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,505
    1,298
    574
    306
    194
See reviews for
1,030
1,742
157
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (757)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Went to the Sol Cayo Guillermo last December. The hotel is a little bit dated but well situated. The food was very edible and bar service very good. The entertainment at night was fantastic, always something different.
Halfway throughmy holiday on a cloudy, showery day my legs were eaten by the sandfleas, so bad i was having to show people in the airport, homeward bound. In spite of this the hotel is so friendly and has a wonderful ambience i am returning again in December. Looking forward to meeting up with the very wonderful staff again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheshirecat55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Alberto H, Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Miss and Mr.

Firstly we would like to thank you for your comment, we hope to have you with us again at your home in Cuba Sol Cayo Guillermo.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston Upon Hull, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I have just returned from two weeks at this Hotel and I honestly cannot praise it enough.

My family and I arrived at the Hotel on 23rd August and after a long flight, we were a little disappointed, having arrived around 3pm, that our room (nor any other from our flight arrival) would not be ready until 4pm.
This I have to say was my only disappointment of the entire holiday and that soon evaporated once I jumped into the wonderful pool.
The whole hotel is staffed by the most wonderful, friendly people I have ever had the good fortune to meet.
The rooms are a little basic, but are clean and comfortable. we only slept and showered there so they met our needs perfectly.

The Buffet Restaurant is very good, clean and staffed by wonderful people (special thanks to Nuirvys our Waitress).
If you accept that Cuba is a developing country, then the food is of a good standard, but if you have very high expectations of food when travelling, then this will not suit you.
The A La Carte, restaurants were fantastic and made a very welcome break from the humdrum of the buffet, the food was good, but had been pre-prepared and the rice was a little hard, again the service was excellent.

The bars are well staffed and the drinks choice is virtually unlimited. Joni the barman will take great care of you!

The animation team were excellent throughout the day/evening and were fantastic with children and adults alike.
The dancers! Well they are probably the most professional entertainers, I have ever seen at a holiday hotel. The shows were first class and a joy to watch from start to finish. special thanks to Nadina (Carlos) for making our aftershow evenings a barrel of laughs (and for my Spanish lessons, 'Muy Bien').

My only words of warning are 'BEWARE OF THE MOSQUITO'S & SAND FLIES'.
repellants both during the day and on a night are an absolute must, as are plug in killers for the room.
Buy the plug in killers to suit the plug (USA type) and don't use an adaptor as these fall out. Also esure you have one that can turn around as the sockets are not always fitted in the same direction and they will not work properly if not.
Creepy crawlies do find their way into your room and as this is a tropical climate, they can on occasion be a bit on the large side, but they are harmless and can easily be caught and evicted if you are not squeamish. This is reduced somewhat if you can get a second floor room.

All in all, an excellent holiday and I would definately return here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Martyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Alberto H, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Mr. Martyn

Firstly we would like to thank you for your comment, we hope to have you with us again at your home in Cuba Sol Cayo Guillermo.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have just returned from our 3 week holiday of a lifetime and can honestly say it was. The hotel was slightly dated and food slightly limited. The staff were all so friendly and special mention must be made to the entertainment team who really made our holiday. The dancers were great and carlos and coolio just gorgeous and so lovely. The crazy one was great fun and had Lesley doing yoga, aqua aerobics and on stage most days. I have never laughed so much as when the guests were involved in the horror night and loved the musical comedy night and the retro night. Went to the disco and being slightly older would have liked to have had some retro music along with the rinky dinky stuff played for the teens and early twenties.

The beach was gorgeous and we saw a pelican diving for his dinner, something we will probably never see again. we went on three excellent trips, we swam with dolphins,went on the motor mayhem trip and the catamaran to pillar beach.

We will definitely be back as soon as we can and I would recommend Cuba to all my friends. We had an awesome time.

The manager should feel very proud of his team and we were heartbroken to come home. The entertainment team were all there to great us and when we were leaving. Carlos, Coolio, Joshua, jenni and yarniel we miss you already and hope so much you will be the when we return.

Clare, lesleeeee and Emily xxx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Clareleslee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Alberto H, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Miss and Mr. Clare and Lesle

Firstly we would like to thank you for your comment, we hope to have you with us again at your home in Cuba Sol Cayo Guillermo.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Firstly this is my second vacation to Cuba and I did a lot of research before I booked this hotel
My stay was from the 31/08/13 to 06/09/13
The trip was mainly for fishing the Cayos which I did and it was Amazing thanks to all the great advice from Nelson who works in the buffet restaurant as a waiter what a great guy

The pros of this hotel
Fast check in, small friendly resort with some of the friendliest and helpful staff I have ever met
Lovely beach and very safe and shallow ,sunbeds plentiful
Drinks international and plentiful ,

The Cons of this hotel
The food is awful and of a very poor quality
While I was there I saw a head chef trying his best to get all the food servers to be clean and organised but if you have low quality food to start with you are really on a losing battle
The meat was tough and very fatty ,vegetables were all processed and over cooked, only a small amount of fruit available ,Ice-cream was almost always runny
I did try going to the buffet as soon as it opened and still the food didn't improve very much

Still on Cons I am afraid the rooms are very small and in need of an urgent renovation, black mould on the ceiling by the air con, bedroom furniture falling apart , light bulbs missing, ceiling leaking in the bathroom ,I personally had to fix the toilet every day so it would flush and the toilet seat was forever falling apart

The maid service wasn't much better
I tipped every day and it made no difference ,on one occasion I waited on the balcony and timed the maid to see how long she was actually cleaning our room ?
It turned out to be two maids cleaning together and it took them less than five minuets from start to finish, the bed sheets were the same all week and when I looked under our bed it had never been touched all week , also I had to ask for toilet paper and drinking water ,we were given one lot of toiletries and I think that's all you get if you stay for one week or two ?

I also got talking to a lovely couple on the pier and they stayed at the melia and they said it was just the same ,they visit that area twice a year and normally stay at the daiquiri ?I also found it very difficult getting a taxi and the SCG have no bicycles , So if your happy to be stuck in one place it might be ok

Now I made the best I could out of a bad choice ,the fishing was good and I spent a lot of the day out of the hotel and just used it for a bed and cheap flights

I hope this helps your choice where you spend all your hard earned money

I feel bad for writing this review and for all the lovely staff that work at this tired old hotel ,but I wouldn't want people being fooled into spending hard earned cash on a hotel that needs a lot of TLC
Tripadvisor has helped me make the right choice in the past and its only honest reviews that keeps me coming back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andy12313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Antonio R, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Mr.

Firstly we want to thank you for write us in the tripAvisor and let us be part of your Holidays.
we apologies if we didnt fulfill your expectations. We hope to see you again so you can confirm personally that our job is improve as much as posible.

Remember this is your home in cuba Sol Cayo Guillermo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Just returned from sol, we were a little apprehensive, but no need .The staff are lovely and friendly and the drink on arrival with the dancers was a great first impression. The room was clean and airy and they provided shampoo and shower wash in the bathroom which was of reasonable quality and just enough for 2 weeks as the water is so soft you only need a little.
The food was not always consistent in quality, but i think it depended which chef was on. However we never went hungry. By far the best thing about the Sol is the beach location, it is a stunning beach, the water is lovely and warm and initially we were a bit freaked by the fish swimming round us, but the are quite pretty and and harmless and we were always disappointed if they did not turn up when we went in the sea.
Although i would not necessarily return to this hotel as Cuba is very big island and it would nice explore other areas,i would recommend it as a place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liesette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Antonio R, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Miss Lissette

Firsly we would like to thank you for choise us in your vacations and for your reviews in TripAdvaisor.

Remember to write us to this Mail director.general.scg@meliacuba.com for your next Visit, so we can have you request ready.

we hope to have you here with us again at your home in Cuba Sol Cayo Guillermo

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huatulco, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed at the Sol August the food is very good... meat cooked fresh on the grill to order. Rooms are basic, but what do you expect in a third world country! Beds are very large and comfortable and air conditioning was fantastic.
I contacted the hotel prior to my visit as we had to order two rooms for ourselves and two older children but didn't want them away from us. On arrival the hotel had booked us two rooms with a joining door. (Thanks Yamile) The eather was mostly great but had a couple of afternoons with a down pour but that's hurrocane season! But they have free satellite tv from Canada in the rooms with some good films to keep the kids entertained on such an afternoon. The beach.... what can I say.... think the old bounty advert and your not far wrong! Paradise. Pools are good too and for once on holiday I got a lay in... NO RESERVING SUNBEDS.... yeha... always plenty available if you can't find one ask the pool man John and he will sort it sharpish...
All the staff really do their best to make your stay great... and I do mean they go out their way. One of the waiters (Nelson) took me fishing of the rocks up the coast with his gear for free on his afternoon off.... of course he got a tip... but never asked or hinted he wanted one.. above and beyond! Would love to go back...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Hedon1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Alberto H, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Mr. Hedon

Firstly we would like to thank you for your comment, we hope to have you with us again at your home in Cuba Sol Cayo Guillermo.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Guillermo
13.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
13.4 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Melia Cayo Guillermo
Melia Cayo Guillermo
#3 of 6 in Cayo Guillermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Sol Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco
#3 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,112 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sercotel Club Cayo Guillermo
Sercotel Club Cayo Guillermo
#5 of 6 in Cayo Guillermo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
19.6 mi away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Cayo Guillermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Guillermo

Property: Sol Cayo Guillermo
Address: Jardines Del Rey | Cuba, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Guillermo
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Cayo Guillermo 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Stars All Inclusive Resort with 268 rooms. Located in Cayo Guillermo,Cuba, in one of the most beautiful beaches, in the archipelago Jardines del Rey, near Playa Pilar and near one of the most beautiful coral reefs in the world. Known for its romantic and lush tropical vegetation. Recommended for families, couples, weddings and honeymoons.268 rooms: 135 standard, 96 Standard Ocean View, 37 Superior Standard 3 Dining Restaurants (Buffet),4 bars.An incredible natural paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Cayo Guillermo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Guillermo Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Sol Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Cayo Guillermo Sol Hotel
Sol Cayo Guillermo Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing