We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room; great beach, food ...good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sol Cayo Guillermo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sol Cayo Guillermo
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great room; great beach, food ...good”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had a great time, resort was beautiful, they had to upgrade our room, because they ran out of oceanview rooms, so that was great. We got there in the dark so our first morning, when we whipped open the drapes, we were thrilled with the prime view of the ocean. Nice place, no bugs, very clean. Food is so-so, that was the only thing. The second or third day they put out more variety and fresher food, so we were happy. The desserts were wonderful, yum, had chocolate mousse almost everyday.
The wine was great, the red was quite robust and the white which I love was Spanish and very good. We are not big liquor drinkers, but the margarita and banana daquiri I had were excellent.
The weather was pretty good, first 4 days, warm and sunny, not a cloud in the sky. On the 5th it turned a bit cool, and cloudy and lots of wind, but we didn’t mind, we had books to read and it was still enjoyable. Our last day the sun came back, with a bit of wind but we were still able to walk to another beach to find shells, and get some exercise. BTW, the Cuban people make up for the less than grandiose food. Very friendly and laid back. Not in your face wanting to sell you anything. The entertainment was very good, boasting pretty close to professional dancers. Each night had a different theme which kept your interest for a while and made you smile.

Room Tip: We were located on the left hand side of the resort in an Superior room, 1108. The view of the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Julia L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Antonio R, Director of Sales at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Customer

First of all, thank you very much for taking part of your time to write your comments on tripadvisor, we really appreciate it! we love enjoy having feedback from our clients, We hope to see you soon to Welcome you one more time,

Have a Lovely Day!

Best Regards / Nelido Casay / Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,504
    1,298
    573
    306
    194
See reviews for
1,029
1,741
157
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (757)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke on Trent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was our third trip to Cuba and to the same Hotel. The beach is fantastic the best we have ever seen. The staff are very friendly. We requested the room that we required and nothing was too much trouble to allocate us with the required room. We shall be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Antonio R, Director of Sales at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Customer

First of all, thank you very much for taking part of your time to write your comments on tripadvisor, we really appreciate it! we love enjoy having feedback from our clients, We hope to see you soon to Welcome you one more time,

Have a Lovely Day!

Best Regards / Nelido Casay / Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Good points
We asked in advance for a room near amenities,they obliged,we were in between pool and beach.
Waiters and bar staff worked very hard.
Food good and plenty of choice.Resteraunt very busy early on in night.
Beach fantastic one of the best we have ever seen.
Bad points.The whole hotel needsto be refurbished.Bathroom very basic no toilet seat? We had a problem with clean towels we put them on the floor when used the maids more than once hung them up for us to use again.We had to ask T.Cook rep to get toilet paper as the maid did not leave us spares.Quite a few customers complained about poor quality of rooms.We would love to go again even with the problems.hoping they have sorted it out by next year.A BIG THANK YOU TO ALL STAFF WHO WORKED EXTREMELY HARD.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Alberto H, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear James,

Thank you for letting us know your impressions about your recently stay in our Hotel.
Your opinion it has been valuable because you gave us important elements in order to achieve a better service and client’s satisfaction and really sorry about yours negative perceptions .

Problems with beach towels have been resolved, the suppliers have sent us.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back if you decide to return to Sol Cayo Guillermo Hotel.

Best regards,

Luis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I must agree with some of the other reviewers....that you go to Sol Guillermo because of the beach. It has the best part of the beach and ocean out of the four hotels there. I think we also had an awesome vacation because the weather was spectacular and we had an fabulous room. I would suggest that you send an email to the manager of the resort before you go...that may help to get a good room. Also try to be on the second floor...you won't have problems with things coming into your room. The beach restaurant is great. You can grab a burger, sausage, chicken or ribs from the grill and then grab a plate of fries or salad to go with it. They have good pizza as well for lunch. You won't starve but remember it is Cuba...there is a lot of variety...maybe just not up to your standards at home. Also a tip: never leave anything on your bed because the cleaning staff think it's a gift to them. I lost my pj's after the first night...LOL! The entertainment at night was fabulous. The cappuccinos were excellent. Staff for the most part are very friendly. The only one we ran into that wasn't the nicest was the towel return guy. You have to return your towels between 3-5pm...never had that at any other Sol properties before. If you were there a minute after 5pm...too bad so sad, you had to wait until the next day same time. What do they do sitting there the rest of the day in the hut? Pilar beach they will tell you is the best beach in all of Cuba. No need to go there because you are at the best beach in Cuba. We found it was not worth the 5 CUC to go on the bus. We will definitely be going back to this resort next year.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms less bug intrusion. Ask for a renovated room if possible. Rm 513 was exellent!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heddy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Alberto H, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Heddy,

Thank you very much for all your nice comments and for recommending our hotel to other tripadvisor readers.

I am also glad to read that you had an enjoyable holiday and that you would definitely return to our hotel.

If that´s the case please do not hesitate to contact us in order to take personal care of your reservation and make sure you will receive all the ad values that as returning guest you are entitle to.

Sincerely,

Luis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Just returned from a week stay at Cayo Guillermo hotel. (Feb 7-14/13) A very enjoyable holiday. We were greeted at the hotel with a welcome drink and a speedy check in. We were given room (3229) upper level at the far end of the resort. Not really our preference so the next day we inquired about an upgrade to a bungalow suite (rooms 3002/3003) well worth the extra 40 pesos per night. Loved the fact we could open the patio doors and were only a short walk to the beach. Each room came with a mini fridge which was repentished daily with beer, soda and water.Over all the resort is well kept, rooms are clean, beds are comfy and the staff is very friendly. Loved the piano bar and the band that played each night at the outdoor patio and the nightly shows were very entertaining. The buffet had a good selection to choose from, I loved the fresh fish they would grill every night. We tried both the international and Italian restaurant. Of the two I prefered the international. A brief orientation was given the 2nd day of our arrival. Good bits of info to take away. Booking day excursions were done with easy and I would reccommed the trip into the city of Moron- includes lunch, tour via horse and carriage around town, shopping and boat ride at a natural lake. Well worth it. We also enjoyed horse back riding for a hour for $10 pesos pp. One other excursion we took was a bus ride $5 pesos return to Pilar Beach. Baby powder sand and crystal clear water. "Beautiful". Our thanks to the staff who really put in the effort to make our stay an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Alberto H, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Karen,

Thank you for your visit and your great feedback,
We will keep working hard.
Hope you can come back soon.
Best regards,

Luis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracebridge, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife and i just returned from Villa Cojimar. We went from Feb 8th to the 15th. We have been in Cuba 4 times before all at 3 star hotels, and i must say this is the best of them all. Our room was the closest to the ocean approx 15ft. The food was quite good and tasty, the staff were great as well. As far as the bugs go, yes there were lots of little biters, this isn't the resorts fault. The grounds are very well layed out. We went to the Cuban al a carte and the food was great there. On Valentines day they put on 2 sittings, the food was the best that night. They didn't have any cuc's to exchange there so i had to go next door to the Iberostar, 100.00 canadian for 90 pesos. They didn't have any internet there due to the fact that they didn't have the cards to log in, so if you really needed it you could go next door and use theirs.The staff in the dining room are amazing, after you finish dinner and go and get ice cream you start walking back to your table you say to your self oh no i don't have a spoon, then suddenly the staff appear out of no where with a spoon just as soon as you sit down. If possible try to tip a peso for the room maid and the dining room staff, they will remember your for ever. All in all there isn't really anything that is negative about this resort. We will be going back next year for sure.

Room Tip: Up grade to the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diverdoug777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Antonio R, Director of Sales at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Customer

First of all, thank you very much for taking part of your time to write your comments on tripadvisor, we really appreciate it! we love enjoy having feedback from our clients, We hope to see you soon to Welcome you one more time,

Have a Lovely Day!

Best Regards / Nelido Casay / Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We just came back from the Sol. This was our second trip to the resort (and Cuba). We had gone previously in Feb 2012.

This resort truly does have many things going for it, but most of the positives have to do with the resorts natural beauty, the great beach and fabulous waters.

Here are some positive and negative observations about the resort.

Beach
The beach is awesome, and was the reason why we went back. The beach is very long, and there are many huts to pick from. There are even some huts that give you some privacy from the other beach goers. The water is awesome!

Complaint: The beach is getting pretty littered with plastic cups, straws and other garbage. There are staff who clean the seaweed off the beach every morning, but that seems to be the extent of their duties. They are on the beach all day, but except for an hour or two worth of work, they seem to do nothing afterwards. Why not have them clean the litter off the beach?

Rooms
The room we were in was nice and really close to the beach.

Tip and a Complaint: Every room has a balcony/terrace. We brought some clothes pins and a long piece of string which we tied to the terrace pillars to hang our wet beach clothes on. Sounds ridiculous, but it's worth it! The rooms don't have clocks, so you will need to bring a clock with you, or a wrist watch.

We had some minor annoyances with our room which included no remote for the t.v., both front and back exterior lights not working, lousy water pressure, and a safe that just didn't want to work. You may also want to bring your own hand soap. The soap bars the resort gives you smells like insecticide.

Bugs
Last year we encountered two cockroaches in our room, and this year it was two very large spiders. The front door to the room has a large gap at the bottom of it, so any creature can come crawling right in. Also, the beach has sand fleas, and they were eating me up alive.

Tip: Bring bug spray and a fly swatter for the room, and some OFF bug repellant for the sand fleas.

The resort should invest in some "door sweeps", which will keep the pests away.

Buffet
The servers are very friendly at the buffet! Although there are many choices available to you, the food can be bland and flavourless. I also have suspicions that any left overs from breakfast (or lunch) gets reused throughout the day for other buffet dishes.

Tip and a Complaint: Don't eat the cheese or any dairy products. The resort doesn't do a good enough job chilling these items while they are out at the buffet.

Both my wife and I got ill due to the food.

Customer Service
We had a situation with our room safe, which took way to long to fix. The safe didn't work properly from the start. We made countless calls to the front desk (as well as a few visits) to get the problem fixed. The maintenance guy came out 5-7 times to "try" to get the safe working, but within hours of every "fix", the safe would not open. My wife and I probably spent over 5 hours over that 5 day period trying to get someone competent to fix the problem. On the 5th day of this problem not being resolved, we had enough and made a big stink with the resorts customer service contact and our Transat rep. They all fell well short of our expectations. In fact, it was only until my wife suggested exchanging safes, that the problem was resolved.

Lobster
Last year we were able to score a lobster lunch at the beach restaurant. This was sort of an "under the table" thing with one of the beach staff, since lobster is not usually available for lunch. To date, that was the best lobster meal I have ever had.

This past visit we were looking forward to the same great lobster dish for lunch, but couldn't work it out. We instead had a 4 course lobster dinner at Don Guillermo (for $20/each) and a lobster lunch at a restaurant named Mochamba, which is located just a few minutes down the beach. Both meals were just average.

Tip and a Complaint: It's too bad that the chef who prepared our lobster lunch last year, had to do so stealthfully, for i'm sure that the other resort guests would appreciate this item being added to the menu.

If you go to Mochamba, ask the chef to NOT put tomato sauce on the lobster!

Resort Amenities
The one thing we really liked about this resort was the fact that it had a good mix of young, middle aged, and older clientele. There are many activities available for everyone. This year we noticed that there were two new features being built. A lobby bar, and a beach club...which will probably blast loud music all day and night.

Tip and a Complaint: The resort offers every guest a customer survey, and there is of course Tripadvisor (and alike) for candid feedback. I'm not sure if anyone from the resort actually reads and understands the reviews and comments given to them, for they just don't seem to get it. Don't waste your time and money building things people don't want or need. Take your limited resources and IMPROVE on what is lacking. It is because of this shortsightedness or ignorance, that my wife and I will NOT be returning to this resort.

If both my wife and I hadn't gotten sick eating the resort food, and if our room safe fiasco wad been dealt with expeditiously, we would have gone back. As it stands, we won't be going back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank P1ckyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Antonio R, Director of Sales at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Customer

We are truly sorry for falling short of your expectations, our deepest apologies for failing on providing you with a positive holiday experience. We do look forward in the hope of being able to welcome you back in the near future and delivering to you the holiday vacation that so many of our guests have experienced and continue to enjoy at Sol Cayo Guillermo.

Have a lovely day!

Best Regards / Nelido Casay / Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Guillermo
13.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,058 reviews
13.4 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Melia Cayo Guillermo
Melia Cayo Guillermo
#3 of 6 in Cayo Guillermo
4,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Sol Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco
#3 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4,108 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sercotel Club Cayo Guillermo
Sercotel Club Cayo Guillermo
#5 of 6 in Cayo Guillermo
481 reviews
19.6 mi away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
5,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Cayo Guillermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Guillermo

Property: Sol Cayo Guillermo
Address: Jardines Del Rey | Cuba, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Guillermo
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Cayo Guillermo 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Stars All Inclusive Resort with 268 rooms. Located in Cayo Guillermo,Cuba, in one of the most beautiful beaches, in the archipelago Jardines del Rey, near Playa Pilar and near one of the most beautiful coral reefs in the world. Known for its romantic and lush tropical vegetation. Recommended for families, couples, weddings and honeymoons.268 rooms: 135 standard, 96 Standard Ocean View, 37 Superior Standard 3 Dining Restaurants (Buffet),4 bars.An incredible natural paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Prodigios Interactivos SA and Booking.com so you can book your Sol Cayo Guillermo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Guillermo Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Sol Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Cayo Guillermo Sol Hotel
Sol Cayo Guillermo Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing