We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”
Review of Sol Cayo Guillermo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sol Cayo Guillermo
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife and i just returned from Villa Cojimar. We went from Feb 8th to the 15th. We have been in Cuba 4 times before all at 3 star hotels, and i must say this is the best of them all. Our room was the closest to the ocean approx 15ft. The food was quite good and tasty, the staff were great as well. As far as the bugs go, yes there were lots of little biters, this isn't the resorts fault. The grounds are very well layed out. We went to the Cuban al a carte and the food was great there. On Valentines day they put on 2 sittings, the food was the best that night. They didn't have any cuc's to exchange there so i had to go next door to the Iberostar, 100.00 canadian for 90 pesos. They didn't have any internet there due to the fact that they didn't have the cards to log in, so if you really needed it you could go next door and use theirs.The staff in the dining room are amazing, after you finish dinner and go and get ice cream you start walking back to your table you say to your self oh no i don't have a spoon, then suddenly the staff appear out of no where with a spoon just as soon as you sit down. If possible try to tip a peso for the room maid and the dining room staff, they will remember your for ever. All in all there isn't really anything that is negative about this resort. We will be going back next year for sure.

Room Tip: Up grade to the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diverdoug777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Antonio R, Director of Sales at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Customer

First of all, thank you very much for taking part of your time to write your comments on tripadvisor, we really appreciate it! we love enjoy having feedback from our clients, We hope to see you soon to Welcome you one more time,

Have a Lovely Day!

Best Regards / Nelido Casay / Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,049)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,652 - 1,658 of 4,049 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

We just came back from the Sol. This was our second trip to the resort (and Cuba). We had gone previously in Feb 2012.

This resort truly does have many things going for it, but most of the positives have to do with the resorts natural beauty, the great beach and fabulous waters.

Here are some positive and negative observations about the resort.

Beach
The beach is awesome, and was the reason why we went back. The beach is very long, and there are many huts to pick from. There are even some huts that give you some privacy from the other beach goers. The water is awesome!

Complaint: The beach is getting pretty littered with plastic cups, straws and other garbage. There are staff who clean the seaweed off the beach every morning, but that seems to be the extent of their duties. They are on the beach all day, but except for an hour or two worth of work, they seem to do nothing afterwards. Why not have them clean the litter off the beach?

Rooms
The room we were in was nice and really close to the beach.

Tip and a Complaint: Every room has a balcony/terrace. We brought some clothes pins and a long piece of string which we tied to the terrace pillars to hang our wet beach clothes on. Sounds ridiculous, but it's worth it! The rooms don't have clocks, so you will need to bring a clock with you, or a wrist watch.

We had some minor annoyances with our room which included no remote for the t.v., both front and back exterior lights not working, lousy water pressure, and a safe that just didn't want to work. You may also want to bring your own hand soap. The soap bars the resort gives you smells like insecticide.

Bugs
Last year we encountered two cockroaches in our room, and this year it was two very large spiders. The front door to the room has a large gap at the bottom of it, so any creature can come crawling right in. Also, the beach has sand fleas, and they were eating me up alive.

Tip: Bring bug spray and a fly swatter for the room, and some OFF bug repellant for the sand fleas.

The resort should invest in some "door sweeps", which will keep the pests away.

Buffet
The servers are very friendly at the buffet! Although there are many choices available to you, the food can be bland and flavourless. I also have suspicions that any left overs from breakfast (or lunch) gets reused throughout the day for other buffet dishes.

Tip and a Complaint: Don't eat the cheese or any dairy products. The resort doesn't do a good enough job chilling these items while they are out at the buffet.

Both my wife and I got ill due to the food.

Customer Service
We had a situation with our room safe, which took way to long to fix. The safe didn't work properly from the start. We made countless calls to the front desk (as well as a few visits) to get the problem fixed. The maintenance guy came out 5-7 times to "try" to get the safe working, but within hours of every "fix", the safe would not open. My wife and I probably spent over 5 hours over that 5 day period trying to get someone competent to fix the problem. On the 5th day of this problem not being resolved, we had enough and made a big stink with the resorts customer service contact and our Transat rep. They all fell well short of our expectations. In fact, it was only until my wife suggested exchanging safes, that the problem was resolved.

Lobster
Last year we were able to score a lobster lunch at the beach restaurant. This was sort of an "under the table" thing with one of the beach staff, since lobster is not usually available for lunch. To date, that was the best lobster meal I have ever had.

This past visit we were looking forward to the same great lobster dish for lunch, but couldn't work it out. We instead had a 4 course lobster dinner at Don Guillermo (for $20/each) and a lobster lunch at a restaurant named Mochamba, which is located just a few minutes down the beach. Both meals were just average.

Tip and a Complaint: It's too bad that the chef who prepared our lobster lunch last year, had to do so stealthfully, for i'm sure that the other resort guests would appreciate this item being added to the menu.

If you go to Mochamba, ask the chef to NOT put tomato sauce on the lobster!

Resort Amenities
The one thing we really liked about this resort was the fact that it had a good mix of young, middle aged, and older clientele. There are many activities available for everyone. This year we noticed that there were two new features being built. A lobby bar, and a beach club...which will probably blast loud music all day and night.

Tip and a Complaint: The resort offers every guest a customer survey, and there is of course Tripadvisor (and alike) for candid feedback. I'm not sure if anyone from the resort actually reads and understands the reviews and comments given to them, for they just don't seem to get it. Don't waste your time and money building things people don't want or need. Take your limited resources and IMPROVE on what is lacking. It is because of this shortsightedness or ignorance, that my wife and I will NOT be returning to this resort.

If both my wife and I hadn't gotten sick eating the resort food, and if our room safe fiasco wad been dealt with expeditiously, we would have gone back. As it stands, we won't be going back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank P1ckyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Antonio R, Director of Sales at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Customer

We are truly sorry for falling short of your expectations, our deepest apologies for failing on providing you with a positive holiday experience. We do look forward in the hope of being able to welcome you back in the near future and delivering to you the holiday vacation that so many of our guests have experienced and continue to enjoy at Sol Cayo Guillermo.

Have a lovely day!

Best Regards / Nelido Casay / Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

spent 2 weeks in this hotel 25th jan to 8th feb as it was our 1st time in cuba were not sure what to expect but had read reviews and were happy to give it a try and we were not disappointed.Not a bad flight although our screens were not working so thomas cook gave us a complimentary drink as compensation not too good as no screen made journey a bit boring.Good pick up and transfer to hotel and quick check in. Our room was 119 at far end of hotel but ok everything worked and plenty of storage ok room was a bit tired but no problem.The food was ok not brilliant but edible and enough choice.Staff at the hotel certainly make any little niggles fade into the background as they are wonderful.From waiters,barstaff,reception and entertainment they are all deserve praise and the manager should be proud of them.The shows were really good and they put their heart and soul into everything they did.I am not one for joining in but i did this time and thoroughly enjoyed myself winning lots of certificates especially enjoyed the archery and rifle shooting i even got on stage one night and made a complete fool of myself [im sure yaneil will remember].We followed all the advice given as to bites but my hubby had a really bad allergic reaction and ended up having injections and tablets which he is still continuing at home although the blisters are looking better.I am usually the one who gets eaten alive and he doesnt suffer but i was fine with only a few bites he didnt let it spoil the holiday and managed to keep smiling through all the pain and itching.All in all an excellent holiday and would definitley go back.Met some great people and a special mention to yaneil and aleix from the entertainment team you 2 really helped to make our holiday with your enthusiasm for making people happy.Thanks to everyone at SCG you were all brilliant .

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carol k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Antonio R, Director of Sales at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Customer

First of all, thank you very much for taking part of your time to write your comments on tripadvisor, we really appreciate it! we love enjoy having feedback from our clients, We hope to see you soon to Welcome you one more time,

Have a Lovely Day!

Best Regards / Nelido Casay / Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have now been to this resort four times and it has never let us down. The hotel staff are always willing to help no matter what you need. The resort is always kept spotless. The choice of food is varied and you can always be sure there is plenty for even the healthiest appetite ( i know as i am a fussy eater and i was always stuffed ). The setting is second to none with miles of golden sandy beaches, that feels like you are walking on talc, we views that take your breath away. There is also a wide choice of activities outside the complex to keep you going for weeks.
With everything being so cheap this has got to be the most value for money holiday we have ever been on , and anyone going there will almost certainly go again.

Room Tip: For families i would suggest room to the left of reception block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alcockfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Alberto H, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear client,

Thank you for your excellent comments on this page about your stay in our hotel. We will consider all your opinions in order to develop the satisfaction of our clients. It is always a pleasure to know your opinions about our hotel in order to improve our services. We will transmit your comments to our staff and I am sure we all will be very happy to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards,

Luis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Have just returned from 2 weeks holiday at the Sol Cayo Guillermo and although we have been to the Cayos three times before this was our first time at the Sol Guillermo. On arrival we were allocated two rooms which were located at the far end of the hotel complex, as this wasn't suitable for us we asked if we could have a change of rooms which was dealt with immediately by reception. Our room was clean and comfortable and of a good size. There was plenty of choice in the buffet resteraunt and we found the food to be of a very good standard as was the wine. We cannot praise the staff enough for giving us an great holiday and this goes for everyone including the gardeners and cleaners, there was always a smile and a hallo from them all. The annimation team were great and put a lot of effort into the excellent evening showtime as well as the daytime activities. Bar staff and waiters were excellent also and made us feel very welcome however busy they were. Cannot fault maintainence, we needed a light bulb replaced which was carried out about ten minutes after reporting it. We found the hotel great value for money and although we said this would be our last visit to the Cayos we have changed our minds and will be booking the Sol Guillermo for 2014.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Essextravellers_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Antonio R, Director of Sales at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Customer

First of all, thank you very much for taking part of your time to write your comments on tripadvisor, we really appreciate it! we love enjoy having feedback from our clients, We hope to see you soon to Welcome you one more time,

Have a Lovely Day!

Best Regards / Nelido Casay / Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We visited Sol Cayo Guillermo on the week of January 24th. I was travelling with my spouse and our 4 year old son. We travelled with Nolitours, and they were great, their kids program has so many advantages, I will definitely book with them again.
I had written the manager a few weeks in advance to request a king size bed, and second floor room. When we arrived, unfortunately, we were given a 1st floor, with 2 double beds, and the room was in the farthest building, and sub-par. Thankfully, the reception changed our room to meet our request, but it was still in the farthest located building (not a huge deal). The rooms are comfortable and clean, we had a few winged bugs, but harmless.
The hotel only exchanges cash, so, if you are arriving late in the day, I would advise to exchange enough at the airport to get you through the bus ride (beer) and any tips etc. until you can get to the bank (at the Iberostar hotel, 2 hotels down the beach--which closes at 4pm).
The beach is by FAR the best we have seen in Cuba, and this is our 5th trip to the island. We have been to Cayo Coco, Cayo Santa Maria, Santa Lucia, and this beach was stunning. The tide is high in the morning, yet, at about noon, it lowers, and there are large sandbanks, and you can walk out for quite a distance. This is great for kids. We brought bread and fed the fishes at the beach. My son loved having a school of fish following his every step.

The food was good, we couldn't complain. Last year we visited Blau Colonial in Cayo Coco, and the food was so terrible there, that we thought they were trying to poison us, so in comparison, this was delicious. Everything is fresh, and the staff are always replenishing the food.
Service is great, staff was always smiling, except for on thursday, which we found out was their pay day, so I'd suggest an extra tip on that day.
The weather: we had bad timing, and 4 days were completely cloudy, but this is out of the control of the hotel.
We chose one excursion, the Pilar plus, which was incredible. I would highly recommend this trip. We rode a speed boat, which was really fun, and my husband really liked driving, and the snorkelling part was great. We saw hundreds of fish, and I felt very safe, considering I can't swim.

If you are looking to eat outside of the hotel, walk left down the beach, there is a restaurant where you can have a good lobster/shrimp meal for $15 cuc.

My husband confided a few days in, that as we were arriving, our bus stopped at every hotel on the way, and he was skeptical of my choice, as the other hotels seem grander and higher end, yet after a few days, he was won over by the ambiance, and great service we received.
I would recommend this hotel, and when we return to Cuba, you can bet we will stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AshGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Antonio R, Director of Sales at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Customer

First of all, thank you very much for taking part of your time to write your comments on tripadvisor, we really appreciate it! we love enjoy having feedback from our clients, We hope to see you soon to Welcome you one more time,

Have a Lovely Day!

Best Regards / Nelido Casay / Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just returned back to uk from this hotel. Was really pleasantly surprised how great it was. The people were so friendly, always laughing and chatting, but without any pressure to get involved. Tipping, whilst should be done it is always so gratefully received and you get great service in any event. The food was great, from lobster, to steak cooked in front of you to your liking, pancakes, salads, veggies, omelette station, always a huge joint of pork, beef etc each evening... I honestly can't praise the food enough. If you fancied a light snack the beach BBQ provides a burger, hot dog or chicken pieces and the donuts were a huge success with my nine year old (the reason we booked this hotel)!!

Te beach was truly ut of this world. It was breezy which I found a relief in the heat of the day, and when the wind dropped the ocean was like a mill pond and the fish swam right up (take out banana and bread).

The beds were comfy, showers sufficiently powerful and hot. If I had any criticism to make is the general decor as its very 'rustic' and a bit tired, but in the grand schemes
Of things was nothing to worry about.

Don't hesitate, get it booked, I'll definitely be back next January (ps the weather was great too and the Thomas Cook airbus was great, lots of space and friendly staff, not aloof like I often find with Thomsons

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Alberto H, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your comments, we sincerely consider them very useful for our job. We have found a lot of opportunities for improvements. Every client´s comments is very important for us and that is why we thank you once again. It is nice to know that you had an overall lovely relaxing holiday and that you will return. Hope to meet you here next time.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Luis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Guillermo
0.8 mi away
Iberostar Daiquiri
Iberostar Daiquiri
#2 of 7 in Cayo Guillermo
4,023 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Cayo Guillermo
Melia Cayo Guillermo
#3 of 7 in Cayo Guillermo
4,392 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sercotel Club Cayo Guillermo
Sercotel Club Cayo Guillermo
#5 of 7 in Cayo Guillermo
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Sol Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco
#3 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4,301 reviews
19.6 mi away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
6,276 reviews
18.4 mi away
TRYP Cayo Coco
TRYP Cayo Coco
#7 of 12 in Cayo Coco
5,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Cayo Guillermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Guillermo

Address: Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Guillermo
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Guillermo
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Guillermo
Price Range: $117 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol Cayo Guillermo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star all inclusive resort with 268 rooms. Located in Cayo Guillermo, Cuba, in one of the most beautiful beaches, in the archipelago Jardines del Rey, near Playa Pilar and near one of the most beautiful coral reefs in the world. Known for its romantic and lush tropical vegetation. Recommended for families, couples, weddings and honeymoons. 268 Rooms: 135 standard, 96 standard ocean view, 37 superior standard, 3 dining restaurants (buffet), 4 bars. An incredible natural paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Cayo Guillermo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Guillermo Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Sol Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Cayo Guillermo Sol Hotel
Sol Cayo Guillermo Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing