We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Do It, You Won't Be Disappointed”
Review of Sol Cayo Guillermo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sol Cayo Guillermo
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Reviewed February 12, 2013

You can read all the other reviews for the finer details so I will not repeat them here. The place is great, the food is great and the location is great. There is plenty to do if you want an activity based holiday or you can just chill by the pool or on the beach all day. After dinner evening entertainment is high quality with a special kids show earlier in the evenings to please the little ones.

Everybody is very friendly so if you like to chat over a drink there is always good company around and there are also plenty of quiet corners in the extensive well kept gardens if you want time away from the other guests to chill out and watch the sea or the stars.

To emphasise our high rating of SCG, we took a 3 day drip to Havana staying 5*. OK so the rooms were better appointed but the food in the SCG was far better prepared, better cooked and better presented, and there was far more choice overall. The service and friendlyness from the staff at SCG beat hands down what the 5* place offered.

Room Tip: From what we saw, all the rooms are the same basic setup. By choice we had ground floor, quiet room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank townsend162003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Antonio R, Director of Sales at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear Customer

First of all, thank you very much for taking part of your time to write your comments on tripadvisor, we really appreciate it! we love enjoy having feedback from our clients, We hope to see you soon to Welcome you one more time,

Have a Lovely Day!

Best Regards / Nelido Casay / Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,030)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,649 - 1,655 of 4,030 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

Very nice hotel. Clean, tidy and well looked after. Friednly stuff. High level shows. We spent in SCG 3 weeks and didn't want to go back home... We've visited other hotels in cayo guillermo and this one is definitely the most attractive. Fresh and big rooms are very comfortable - you just don't need anything more.The food is almost the same in all hotels we've seen there, the fruit choice is not great but that's common in Cuba. Lobster here is served once a week as all inclusive without extra fee :). When you get borred with standard food you have 2 nice a'la carte restaurants with really tasty food. Very nice disco open every night and usually they didn't make any problems while using jacuzzi at night - we did like that very much :). A stuff member just came to check if chlorine concentration wasn't too high for safe use. The main bar is open 24h so you can even have a champagne in jacuzzi at 4 am :)
We had a lots of fun during the day and on evening entertainments and we had tears in our eyes on leaving but we'll be definitelty back to the hotel again very very soon.

Room Tip: We recommend 1st floor rooms with balcony - often you get a hammock there and have a space for your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MonikaPablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Antonio R, Director of Sales at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Customer

First of all, thank you very much for taking part of your time to write your comments on tripadvisor, we really appreciate it! we love enjoy having feedback from our clients, We hope to see you soon to Welcome you one more time,

Have a Lovely Day!

Best Regards / Nelido Casay / Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Spent Christmas at the Sol with my girlfriend and our two kids. The whole family enjoyed it so much. The sea/beach is spectacular. Probably the best all over the Caribbeans.

We have done a lot of trips to Cuba and what stands out of this hotel is the staff.
They are doing everything they can to make your stay enjoyable.
Thanks to Joni at the Lobby bar. Such a nice person. The kids did not have time to reach the bar and Joni had already prepared their special "Jus bleus" !!!
Another big thank goes to Nelido who went beyond to make our trip perfect.

If you want to spend a relaxing holiday on the most beautiful beach, this is the place to go.

Would go back anytime !

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PLOUX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Antonio R, Director of Sales at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear Customer

First of all, thank you very much for taking part of your time to write your comments on tripadvisor, we really appreciate it! we love enjoy having feedback from our clients, We hope to see you soon to Welcome you one more time,

Have a Lovely Day!

Best Regards / Nelido Casay / Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We went to the SCG last year and loved it and up until this point I always lived by the motto 'never go back' only because I always think that places would never live up to my memories. So i was a bit apprehensive when my husband said he wanted to return this year . . . I needn't have been!! The hotel itself is situated on sandy white beaches and the sea is crystal clear and the bluest blue you will ever see. Every morning the beach gets cleaned of seaweed and rubbish and is always in top condition when it's time to sun yourself! Sunbeds are plentiful (providing selfish people stop using three or four as wind breakers) and always very clean. Yes, the rooms are a little bit tired compared to the top hotels in the UK, but they are clean, tidy and spacious and you want for nothing - lets face it, you don't go on holiday to sit in a hotel room, do you? The hotel itself is spotless, the gardeners, maintenance guys and cleaners are working constantly and it is a real credit to them. People on here complain about the food but it leaves me wondering what exactly can they not find to eat? There is an abundance of food, all fresh and made on site (even some cooked in front of you) and every evening there was a carvery of varying meats. Over and above the bricks and mortar and the food, the undesputed selling point of this hotel is the staff. They remembered us from last year and welccomed us with open arms. Yaimi was amazing in reservations as was the wonderful Lupe in Customer Services. Alexander still makes us laugh as he makes our omlettes on a morning and Maria and Yanielis laugh, smile and sing as they wait on us. Miguel (my family) is always there with a kind smile and wonderful doughnuts and on more than one occasion, my husband tried to swap me for Yamila! The staff make the hotel, and the new manager is welcoming and friendly. I could go on forever, but I won't, let it just be said that we are booking again for next year and cannot wait!
Pros: Staff, Staff, Staff
Cons: The Kite Surfers come too close in to the beach and people need to stop using beach beds as wind breakers.
Tips: Take plenty of Mosquito Spray, we did and applied every morning and evening and were free from bites.
As an aside, the Tomas Cook Rep, Ivan, is outstanding and is the best resort rep I have ever known. He is kind, friendly and always very helpful - please be nice to him! He is a credit to Thomas Cook & SCG.

Room Tip: Look at the accommodation map before you go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melly1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Antonio R, Director of Sales at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear loyal Customer

Thank you very much for taking part of your time to write your comments on tripadvisor, we really appreciate it! we love enjoy having feedback from our clients, We hope to see you soon to Welcome you one more time,

Have a Lovely Day!

Best Regards / Nelido Casay / Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

All I can say is Go ! You will not be disappionted ,The accomadation and all facilities where amazing and kept to a high standard .Any small faults that may arise just advise reception and they are immediatley dealt with ,The management and staff could not of been more helpful. Staff are execellent and really work hard to ensure everyone is catered for. Food was execellent and always to a high standard catering for all tastes. The manager was Loui was excellent always available and over seeing the whole complex at all times very approachable. The beach what can I say except outstanding one of the best I have been too and kept immaculate . The rooms do have a hairdryer and shampoo & shower gel are provider .The small shop on site also sells all toiletries at a very reasonable price in case you forget anything.
This was an amazing holiday at a fantastic hotel ,All places you visit will have something that may not be to you taste or have small problems but no other hotel will go to the lengths of this hotel to correct them if you bring it to thier attention.

Thata why you should just go and experience the holiday of your dreams!!!!!!!.

Room Tip: request a sea view its amazing !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elvisRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Antonio R, Director of Sales at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear Customer

First of all, thank you very much for taking part of your time to write your comments on tripadvisor, we really appreciate it! we love enjoy having feedback from our clients, We hope to see you soon to Welcome you one more time,

Have a Lovely Day!

Best Regards / Nelido Casay / Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

What a wonderful trip we had. Fist time at this resort but already planning to return. The people make this resort not to mention the most beautiful beach I have ever seen.
Found no desire to leave this sort because everything was there! The grill, the buffet was delicious, even offered a pasta bar, fish and other delicious dishes were prepared. The pizza guy was fantastic, makes pizza anyway you desire!
Experienced one of the best massage from Pedro, tell him the sisters sent you! No music needed the nature setting is Devine!
The entertainment was second to none especially the dancing the synchronizing act, brilliant!!!!! We looked forward to the evenings shows, they were well planned and performed very professionally.
Our room gorgeous, thanks to everyone, hope I didn't forget anyone!!!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Charlie1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Soooo looking forward to our 7th visit to Sol Cayo Guillermo. We have been visiting this resort since 1998 -- when it was the Villa Vigia -- and it's very much our Cuban home. We've always had a wonderful time, and our kids -- whether small, teens or twenty-somethings -- have always enjoyed themselves. It's not 5* but incredible value for money and the staff, of course, knock themselves out to make your vacation the best. Wish we could stay for longer than a week :( but that's all the time we can manage this time around.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank LMTinOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Alberto H, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your time and your loyalty.
We are glad to know that you have enjoyed once again your 7th stay as well as your friends. Hope to meet you here next year again.
Thank you on behalf of all our staff and Management.

Our best regards for you and your friends too.

General Manager
Luis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Guillermo
0.8 mi away
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
#2 of 7 in Cayo Guillermo
4,015 reviews
13.4 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
13.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Iberostar Playa Pilar
Iberostar Playa Pilar
#1 of 7 in Cayo Guillermo
1,167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Cayo Guillermo
Melia Cayo Guillermo
#3 of 7 in Cayo Guillermo
4,381 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sercotel Club Cayo Guillermo
Sercotel Club Cayo Guillermo
#5 of 7 in Cayo Guillermo
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Cayo Guillermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Guillermo

Address: Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Guillermo
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Price Range: $121 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol Cayo Guillermo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star all inclusive resort with 268 rooms. Located in Cayo Guillermo, Cuba, in one of the most beautiful beaches, in the archipelago Jardines del Rey, near Playa Pilar and near one of the most beautiful coral reefs in the world. Known for its romantic and lush tropical vegetation. Recommended for families, couples, weddings and honeymoons. 268 Rooms: 135 standard, 96 standard ocean view, 37 superior standard, 3 dining restaurants (buffet), 4 bars. An incredible natural paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Cayo Guillermo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Guillermo Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Sol Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Cayo Guillermo Sol Hotel
Sol Cayo Guillermo Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing