We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sol Cayo Guillermo
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Melia Cayo Guillermo(Cayo Guillermo)
$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Daiquiri(Cayo Guillermo)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
$142
$134
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
IBEROSTAR Mojito(Cayo Coco)
$121
$104
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Perla Blanca(Cayo Santa Maria)
$200
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
IBEROSTAR Playa Pilar(Cayo Guillermo)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TRYP Cayo Coco(Cayo Coco)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,198)
Filter reviews
4,198 results
Traveler rating
1,630
1,373
620
339
236
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,630
1,373
620
339
236
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain barfishsnack barpastacubanito bartwo weeksbeach restauranta la cartetoastiesgreat holidaybeautiful beachsand flieschurrossales managerbuffet restaurantentertainment staffthe thomas cook rep
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,866 - 1,871 of 4,198 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had a group of 7 go on vacation for one week. I have to hand it to the all the employees at the resort. They really made the trip. Before I start, I need to say thank you to the restaurant staff: Ana, Maria, Roberto, Juan Miguel, Leony and Alexander. Thank you so much!!! We were a larger group and it was difficult to find seating at the busy times at the buffet. They would actually set aside a table for us every day to make sure we didn't have a problem. The food was excellent the service was top notch. I know many people who travel to Cuba complain about the food. There was always a different meal to enjoy and I always felt welcome.

Before going to the resort, Nelido, the sales manager, tried to make all our requests the best he could during a busy time. Thanks Nelido!

The beach is incredible! Also, take the time to go the Pilar Beach. Absolutely stunning. Best lobster I have ever had. I think it was about 18 pesos per person. They will try to ding you for 2 pesos if you want to use a chair at the beach though. We took the local bus service. Costs 5 pesos. You can visit all the other resorts with the bus if you like. We also did the speed boats. Lots of fun and was decent snorkling. The guides were great and will take underwater pictures for you if you have that type of camera.

We didn't get much of a chance to go to the other adventures. Our kids (19-27 plus girl friends), really enjoyed the horse rides. Kids had lots of fun at the disco. They suffered the consequences a couple of times! :) Talking to some of the other tourists, the catamaran boat ride with snorkling is lots of fun. As well, the trip to Moron is excellent. Make sure you have all your documents with you though! You will need your passport to go on this trip. Chack with your rep.

Weather was awesome. Very windy for the first few days. It was great for the kite surfers. We walked down the beach to a couple of the other resorts to take a look (Melia & Iberostar). Lots of great pictures on the beach. Crabs, startfish, etc. You can walk out quite a ways from the beach. Absolutely gorgeous!

Beds were kind of hard. Had a sore neck for the first couple of days. Not used to it. Maid was awesome too. Always had the room spotless with all kinds of towel art. I am sorry but I never got her name. We were in room 218 at the far end of the resort. She was wonderful. Left lots of water for us too. Don't forget to show your appreciation for the staff. They go out of their way to make you enjoy your stay.

Both the a la cartes were fantastic. We took in a few shows at the resort. Very talented dancers. Guys... make sure you go to the fashion show!!! Ladies will enjoy it too! Daily activities put on by staff were lots of fun. Volleyball, darts, miniputt, dance lessons, beach volleyball, football (soccer), spanish lessons... the list goes on. Make sure you get a massage too! Go to the beach party. It takes about 40 minutes to get there, not 20.

Thank you also to the front desk and cleaning staff who were very helpful and extremely polite.

Great vacation.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a second level room. You get a king size bed. Also, very important, bring bug spray. Sand fleas are bad especially at night. Do not ignore! You will end up digging at your legs the entire vacation.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zedhed021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This property is older and a bit worn....as is all of Cuba....the beaches are amazing, but the sand fleas loved me...they hang out in sea weed! Windy in November on the beach but the kite surfers love it. The staff is helpful and very friendly. The food is hit and miss, not a lot of fresh fruit or vegetables (typical). Always able to find something to fill up on. Omelettes for breakfast, amazing bread, lots of fresh fish, great Hawaiian pizza for lunch, fantastic "white" coffee and ice cream. The beds were comfortable, shower could use a new shower head but loads of hot water. Small resort so everything is close to walk too. Last off the tour bus....40 minutes from airport. Bring lots books and games to entertain yourself. Quiet relaxing vacation. Never stayed up for the disco-past midnight start...saw entertainment one evening (10pm start-)well done.

Room Tip: Bring bug spray....some creepy crawlers that you don't want to take home with you...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank drinkgruner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Alberto H, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear customer,

Thank you for letting us know your impressions about your recently stay in our Hotel.
Your opinion it has been valuable because you gave us important elements in order to achieve a better service and client’s satisfaction and really sorry about yours negative perceptions .

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back if you decide to return to Sol Cayo Guillermo Hotel.
Best regards,

Luis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I will give various points on this location
Cayo Guillermo is beautiful and there are only 4 hotels, Its a great choice because it is a Spanish chain
It was a good hotel with beautiful grounds and very well kept, plenty of palm trees
-the location is great as the beach is alot nicer than cayo coco even though it is about 40 minutes from the airport
-got a room near the lagoon all the way at the end of the resort and there were many bugs especially at sunset
-there is a shuttle from the hotel to go to two sister hotels (check the schedule as front desk sometimes gave the wrong info) and this is 5$ return or you can also take the shuttle at other times to go to playa pilar which is a must
-food was very good- no complaints and lots of choices (meat, fish, pasta)
-the main bar was always very smoky because of smokers especially at night
the lobby area as well was smoky including the reception area.
-the safe in the room is 2$ per day (not included)
-internet was not working and when it was they were out of internet cards (3$ for 30 minutes)
-the little store in the lobby area is cheap so u can get snacks, bottles of water
-if you leave your towels on the floor they will change them but if you leave them up to dry they wont be changed
-Bring bug spray for sure, tons and tons of bugs and alot of ppl had bug bites
-Bring a flash light (saw a number of ppl with some) depending on where your room is
-The beach was beautiful on the calm day but still windy
-Alot of kite surfers at the left side of the beach
-the food at the beach restaurant was pretty tasty especially the chicken specials that they had
-there is also a bar bq right across of the beach bar
-Service in the main dining room was great, very helpful and friendly staff at all dining areas and the bar.
-Plenty of beach chairs for everyone
-Make sure to take a walk to other hotels via the beach
-You need to make a reservation for the specialty restaurant and this can only be done as of 330pm directly at the restaurant and there are only about 10 tables
-taking out food of the main dining area is not permitted
-Some areas of the pool were quite smoky as well
-There is a jacuzzi in the pool area
-make sure to get your towels or change them in the am when the towel place opens or else it happens that they are out of towels.
-Top floor rooms had a high ceiling
-There is a good selection of drinks at the bar (also coffees and juices)

Room Tip: ask to be away from lagoon 2nd floor if you dont want to walk too much to your room- ask to not get building 12-11-10
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Namaste24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Alberto H, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear customer,
Thank you for your extensive comment.
I have read very carefully, we have solved the issue of pool towels.
hope to see you again among us.
On behalf of the staff and on my own thanks for posting your comments on tripadvisor.
Greetings from Cayo Guillermo.
Luis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Well just home from this fantastic holiday, there was afew issues but am sure the new Manager Luis is looking in to this so here we go!

Getting there- Our flight was turned back to Manchester Airport over the Atlantic due to engine Fault, so we lost a day of our holiday but this i will be taking up with Thomas Cook.

The Arrival-

Iven our Rep greeted us with the warmest welcome and was there on hand for every bit of our holiday he was so helpful and such a nice guy and was very prompt with requests and information,

The Hotel-

When we checked in we was give room 421, we got there with our bags opened the door and all you could smell was drains i went back to Reception and the guys there couldn't apologise enough, and immediately changed our room to 402. This was a stunning room next to the room we had last year, a small bungalow over looking the beach, however i went to take a shower and there was no hot water, i called Reception and they sent a plumber over and it was fixed within 5 mins.

We did not have a bed for my 6yr old son for the first 5 nights as they didn't have any, so we just had to make do for those nights but i did pay £560.00 for my child so i will take this up with Thomas Cook.
Also there was an issue with no toilet paper on 3 different occasion i had rang Reception at 7am about this and had still not received this by 11am there response to this was pretty rubbish so we took this up with Luis the Manager and he was very good and gave us a complementary dinner in the a la carte.

The food was not as good as last year, they used to do Snapper, Other Fish, and Pizza in an evening, we thought they should offer more for kids like fish fingers, mini pizza, chicken nuggets.

The Don Guillermo is a stunning Restaurant however been a family hotel the should offer something for kids on there menu as there was nothing for my son to eat, i asked the waiter to bring him something from the buffet and he brought back some dry banana chips? Which he didnt eat so we had to visit the Main Buffet late evening just to feed my son.

The Ranchon in the evening the service was very slow and the food wasn't very good we decided to to revisit the a la carte Restaurants due to poor service and the food no good for kids, as you could spend a full evening looking for something to feed your kids.

The Staff-

Well what can i say...... these people made our holiday! Andriaz from the lunch time Ranchon is a wonderful lady, prompt, caring, kind, always had a smile and always fussed my son, Jose on the Bar there made use laugh, Yamilet who use to be down there(last year) we saw from time to time was fantastic, Nelson with his beach service. The Food at the Lunch Time Ranchon was fantastic!

The Bar Staff, Carlos what a nice guy who greeted us again and remembered us from last year, everyone loves him, Joni we thought he was great, Antita in the mornings always made us smile and made a good cup of tea, lesly lovely girl, Hector was Funny and made us all laugh, Yamila lovely, in fact its only the staff that makes us keep going back. Its like home from home.

The Gardner's-
Sixto and Rardardo lovely guys, look after them x


The Beach-
You are on your own paradise Island however it was abit windy this time due to Hurricane Sandy, i do have afew issues with the goings on there though,

The Tourist are emptying the beaches, the people in the next bungalow took 5 large shells from the beach with the animal still inside living, and tried to remove them, i immediately reported this to Lupe the Customer Service Lady who was prompt at there room with Security and took the living shells back to the beach and put them back in the sea. But i do think the Hotel needs to put signs up saying not to remove shells from the beach as we come to see them and in another 5 yrs there will be nothing left, i did report this to a guard on the beach... his reply was .... "Lady you want a big shell i get you one for 3 peso"? which i told him it was a disgrace and while hes sitting there he should protect these creatures. Last year a guard chopped up a turtle on the beach, which these again are protected, but they just dont seem to care, the hotel needs to sort this out, before they get anymore bad press! They did this for is shell and the local took home the meat which i thought was vile!

But i will share my views with Thomascook and other sites about the sea life there!


Cuba Bans Harvesting of Endangered Sea Turtles

HAVANA, Cuba, January 28, 2008 (ENS) - Cuba has banned the harvesting of all marine turtle species and products from its beaches and seas for an indefinite period, according to a Ministry of Fisheries Ministerial Resolution. The move extends hope for survival of the critically endangered hawksbill turtle, which feeds in Cuban waters.
Conservationists praised the resolution, passed January 19, which they say will benefit all the Caribbean's endangered marine turtles - greens, loggerheads, and hawksbills. Greens and loggerheads are considered endangered, while hawksbills are critically endangered, according to the Red List of Threatened Species complied by the IUCN-World Conservation Union.

"For many years, Cuba retained a legal fishery of 500 hawksbills a year, with the hope of being able to trade their shells internationally," said Dr. Susan Lieberman, director of WWF International's Species Programme, which worked with the Cuban and Canadian governments to establish the new policy.


The hawksbill turtle is listed as critically endangered. (Photo courtesy UNEP-WCMC)

The phaseout of the marine turtle fishery in Cuba is the result of a joint effort by WWF and the Cuban Ministry of Fisheries, with financial support from the Canadian International Development Agency, CIDA.

Room Tip: ask to be put by the beach
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Alberto H, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear Emma,

Thank you very much for publishing on the trip Advisor, your opinions about your stay at Sol Cayo Guillermo.

We are very glad to know that you spent fantastic holidays among us in our hotel.

We appreciate all the complimentary comments about our hotel and the services we offer.

Truly yours,

Luis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a weeks holiday at the SCG 16/11/12 - 23/11/12
I had read the reviews before going so requested a second floor room. Our room allocated when we arrived was on the ground floor, I didn't ask for another as the room was fine.
The beach and the sea was absolutely amazing our photos do not do it justice, and coconuts to drink on the beach made you feel like you were in paradise.
I wouldn't say this hotel was a 4 star as we have 4 stars in England but for Cuba there was nothing wrong with it, Yeah the rooms were a tiny bit dated but give them a break as resources are a little bit limited.
The breakfast was a bit hit and miss, some days they had bacon etc and some days they didn't but they had plenty more things to choose from.
Also for lunch the BBQ next to the beach was the best, we ate there most lunch times.
It was my partners birthday while we were there and customer services arranged for us to have a bottle of champagne with our meal, this was all free. The maid noticed the birthday cards and present wrapping paper and when we returned to our room there was a birthday banner, lots of "happy birthday" writing on the mirrors, loads of towel swans and happy birthday in rose petals. This was such a nice thing to do and really surprised my partner when we returned to the room! The maid got tipped all week.
Overall we had an amazing holiday.
Don't forget to tip the staff, they work really hard, and don't forget your insect repellent(!!!)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dmh93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Alberto H, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear customers,
We are pleased to know that you and your family hae had a wonderful experience while at Sol Cayo Guillermo. I will make sure your chambermaid receive a copy of your comments, it is always appreciate to receive nice words of encouragment for our staff.

We hope that you can visit us again next year for another great vacation.

Please do not hesitate in contact us if you need any assistance.

Thank you on behalf of all our staff and Management.

Best regards,

Luis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews