We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most beautiful beach we've ever seen!!”
Review of Sol Cayo Guillermo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sol Cayo Guillermo
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We had a wonderful week at this hotel. The resort may not appear as good as those newer luxury monster complexes in other places, but what we wanted in our vacation was a "relaxing beach paradise" and this place was absolutely perfect. The hotel acreage is smaller than others and had everything we wanted within a very short walk and we loved the fact that we didn't have to walk forever to get to the beach or restaurants. Our room was average and the facility's appearance (minor repairs here and there) could be improved but overall it was cozy, charming, comfortable and we didn't have any major problems. We've been to a few other resorts in Cuba and we usually don't expect great food but the buffet at this hotel was so much better than we expected....ie. great grill and pasta in the open kitchen and juicy sweet mangoes were simply amazing. And the beach! The beach is just spectacular! Clear, calm, warm, shallow waters as far as the eye can see! A school of white tropical fish follows you as you walk through the water. One day we went to Pilar Beach which was only a 5 minute drive from our hotel, and we realized the beach in front of Sol Cayo Guillermo is equally as nice as Pilar Beach! We also walked to the beach next-door (sister property to Sol Cayo Guillermo), and we didn't like their beach as much which had a huge patch of seaweed across the length of their property. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a stunning beach, good food, comfortable accommodations and a relaxing time in Cuba. And the super friendly staff will make your vacation so wonderful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EmceeToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,050)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,160 - 2,166 of 4,050 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2011

We have just returned from cayo guillermo, first time in cuba and we were treated so well! All hotel staff were so lovely. we went for a relaxing holiday and we got just that! There is plenty to do on the beach and plenty of excursions if you want to make your holiday busy! being young We went open minded and were shocked for £850 each the value of this holiday, just brilliant. The food was great all freshly cooked in front of you, fresh pizza, pasta, fresh fish and lots of meat and salads.
The rooms are lovely, basic but just what you need, cleaned everyday with a fresh bottle of water. Hot water, a tv, and clean sheets what more do u want?
I would reccomend this hotel to anybody, couples or families the staff will look after you either way.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cbja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

This holiday catered for all our needs.We couldnt have had a better hotel. Staff were brilliant. Helpfull and friendly. The beach was good. Lovely soft creamy sand.Perfect!Quiet which is what we like.The only fault was the snacks.Ham and cheese sandwhiches at night , only if they had any . Could have a better selection eg pizza hot dogs, Tea and coffee would have been better self service for me. These are only minor faults which will not stop us going back. You must take a travel kettle if you like coffee in your room. Other than that every thing is catered for. First class all the way fof us.

Room Tip: State high floor and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cat186478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Myself, my partner (now husband) and 5year old daughter booked this place for our main holiday of 2010. We had never been to Cuba before, later in the year we decided to add the wedding package on to it, which meant that 5 more family members booked to come with us.
On arrival whilst checking in we were greeted by hotel staff with an ice slush. We got the upgraded room due to us getting married there. The place was clean, staff were all amazing and couldn't do enough for us. The pools were clean, hotel grounds were beautiful. The complex is situated on the beach- which was truly paradise! The toasties are yummy by the main bar, there's a good variety of drinks and the main bar make lovely coffees. The main food place had a wide choice every day, the ice cream was a favorite for all of us. There's also x2 restaurants which you have to pre-book your tables at- usually the day before.
If your getting married here then the wedding co-coordinator is lovely, she shows you albums of flowers/cakes to choose from. Gives you a choice in music, arranges a pre-marital meal, family meal after the ceremony and much much more.
There are many trips you can go on at extra costs. There's a shuttle bus that picks you up outside the hotel for a small charge which takes you to Pilar beach which is beautiful too. We all enjoyed this holiday, and would visit again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 523
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DaniellePiercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

again, i was there on may 7th 2011. it was the best vacation ever, the place is paradise, the people at the buffet are wonderful, roberto, rolando,dany, brandys, carmen maykel and the rest of the staff. for the room great room, the gardenner carlos was like always smiling in the morning. the pool and the beach perfect, you can find a place easely....
and i have to mentionne the service a receveid from lupe and the manager of the hotel thomas... my air conditionner broke down, and 5 minutes later everything was repair. i have alson thanks for carlos at the main bar and hermes...

the food was also very good... the desert was like always delicious...

thanks for the best vacation

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joseedubreuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

On reading the previous review by grumpold..... wow, her name explains everything doesn't it? We were obviously there at the same time and could not disagree more with her comments. As for the mosquitos, flying ants etc. Yes there were quite a few mosquitos and I got bitten towards the end of the second week - but virtually every morning at about 6am a buggy with a spray thing sprayed the whole area for mosquitos and if they were in the room you could ring reception and they would send someone to spray your room as well. I honestly don't see what else could have been done. On one evening we noticed a few flying ants - again what could the hotel do? If you don't want contact with insects go on holiday in a bubble!! Had there been a problem with rats we certainly would have heard about it as those who tend to complain certainly do make themselves heard! The strength of drinks did vary depending on the person pouring them which is quite natural considering measures are not used but that isn't a problem as the drinks were plentiful. Sometimes there were flies around the food in the buffet but I really can't see that they can do much. If food is covered, as it was sometimes, the covers are never put back by many of the guests so its a bit of a pointless exercise.

All the staff were exceptionally friendly, kind and helpful - whether they were tipped or not. We apologised on one occasion as we did not have anything with us to tip and were told "that's OK you don't have to give me anything". We tended to wait until the end of the holiday and give a tip then to avoid having to keep getting coins. The Thomas Cook Rep, Hector, was very good. Our room was lovely, with very pretty soft furnishings. The drawers were a bit temperamental but again, drawers don't make or break my holiday. One one occasion the maid had not been in to do our room so I simply phoned reception and there was no problem sending someone out. If grumpyold... had a problem with a dirty toilet why didn't she ring reception? The food in the buffet was very varied - you could always find something you liked. We ate in the other two restaurants as well and would recommend them very highly, we had a lovely meal in both.

There were notices outside the reception area showing what entertainment was on that night and the following night. The beach was lovely and was raked every day to clear away the seaweed which was very good. The evening entertainment was very varied and they worked incredibly hard to keep people entertained.

If you are going to Cuba and have enough room in your luggage take some toiletries, paper, pens, old mobile phones, chargers etc, they will all be much appreciated, you won't offend anyone which had been our worry. Also make sure you book the VIP lounge if you fly from Jardines Del Rey as it is a very small airport. The VIP lounge was 20 CUC for an air conditioned lounge with comfy chairs, food and drink included - well worth the money. Also we noticed all the Canadians had large thermos mugs with them which was a very good idea and we will take them next time.

We had a really lovely holiday and would recommend this hotel whatever your age. We saw several groups of older ladies and gentleman, and some single as well who obviously felt comfortable enough to go there again and again which was lovely.

Room Tip: Book VIP lounge, take a travel mug.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank shell1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

After visiting Cuba last year, and staying at the "Blau" 4 star hotel in Valerdero, this holiday was a dissapointment to say the least!!!!! Having read the "glowing " reports of previous comments, I wondered if I was staying at the same hotel as these people.
I will agree that the location and beach was stunning but overall not as good as people are making out. The standards of hygiene in the restaurants and rooms were a lot to be desired - People were allowed to "maul" the bread rolls, " to see if they were fresh enough"as they said! Fish and meat were cooked together on the same griddle, and when the chef dropped the spatular on the floor he just wiped it with a dirty rag, I saw flies on uncovered food, and although as mentioned in an earlier comment, when the top m anagers visited , the food was covered, it soon reverted to the sloopy ways as before, when they left. I had to clean the toilet in my room as it was filthy, and the room stank!!!! We were plaqued by cockroaches and mosquites in the room, some people also had flying ants as well!!!!! Also saw rats outside the one restaurant, when i went to complain to the customer service lady, she was not at all interested!!!! People were being moved out of their rooms because of vermin - one couple had to be moved 3 times!! Drinks were also understrength! I saw the barman serve a drink using two separate bottles of Havana Club rum, I think one must have been water! it certainly tasted very weak! The best part of this holiday is when we were away from the hotel for 2 nights, visiting Havana (Recommend highly). Stayed in a wonderful hotel there , and we didn't want to return to this resort hotel.
Some staff were lovely (Tanya, George. and Chef Leo) in the restaurant and Yamila and Joni on the bar, most of the others were ok while they were being tipped!!!! Please be aware that the mosquitoes are a big problem, even though I was spaying every night and morning, plus taking anti histemines, I still got bitten (as many other quest were). I blame the managers of this hotel for the lack of standards, and please managers supply the guests with some general information of facilities and to find out "whats on"!!!

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
6  Thank grumpoldwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Guillermo
0.8 mi away
Iberostar Daiquiri
Iberostar Daiquiri
#2 of 7 in Cayo Guillermo
4,024 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Cayo Guillermo
Melia Cayo Guillermo
#3 of 7 in Cayo Guillermo
4,392 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sercotel Club Cayo Guillermo
Sercotel Club Cayo Guillermo
#5 of 7 in Cayo Guillermo
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Sol Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco
#3 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4,303 reviews
19.6 mi away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
6,277 reviews
18.4 mi away
TRYP Cayo Coco
TRYP Cayo Coco
#7 of 12 in Cayo Coco
5,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Cayo Guillermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Guillermo

Address: Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Guillermo
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Guillermo
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Guillermo
Price Range: $117 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol Cayo Guillermo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star all inclusive resort with 268 rooms. Located in Cayo Guillermo, Cuba, in one of the most beautiful beaches, in the archipelago Jardines del Rey, near Playa Pilar and near one of the most beautiful coral reefs in the world. Known for its romantic and lush tropical vegetation. Recommended for families, couples, weddings and honeymoons. 268 Rooms: 135 standard, 96 standard ocean view, 37 superior standard, 3 dining restaurants (buffet), 4 bars. An incredible natural paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Cayo Guillermo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Guillermo Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Sol Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Cayo Guillermo Sol Hotel
Sol Cayo Guillermo Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing