We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be coming back to this Iberostar”
Review of IBEROSTAR Daiquiri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Won't be coming back to this Iberostar”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

First, I must say thank you to Yenma and Leo for the hospitality they extended during our whole trip. They truly represented the Iberostar chain very well.



We have stayed at 3 Iberostar resorts in Cuba:

Iberostar - Laguna Azul - Excellent Experience

Iberostar - Mojito - Excellent Experience

Iberostar - Daquiri - Will not recommend to my friends




I'll rate each area from 1-5. One being the worst and five is excellent.

FRONT DESK (2)

Was told by 3 different front desk that could not extend my room past 12 noon check out.
Talked to a different lady later on and she extended it for me with a smile. Thank you Maruchy.

Why all the fuss about extending my room?

If you want entertainment just sit in the lobby and watch the interaction between the customers that are having problems and the front desk staff.

Found that these people will not go beyond a certain level of effort, but they did call our room at 4pm to tell us to check out.


LOBBY BAR (4)

Good service.


BUFFET SERVICE (5)

The service in both buffets were excellent. Special mention to Yenma again who went out of her way to have an area for 16 of us to sit for my son's birthday and had a cake for him too.
Leo from the Mexican restaurant sat with us the first night we arrived til about 3am and set up the restaurant for my birthday, served us drinks around the pool and beach area.
Everyone in the restaurants/buffets provided excellent service.


CLEANLINESS (3)

Overall the grounds and lobbies were kept clean.
The fact that the hotel building is in need of renovations makes it look tired and dirty. Not a big problem for us.


ROOMS (2.5)

Leaking air conditioner in one room and a really weak one in another. I didn't bother complaining about them since I knew they were having problems before booking.
Bathroom doors were getting stuck because they weren't fitted properly. They are badly in need of renovations. I'm hardly in my room so it didn't matter.


ROOM SERVICE (3.5)

Cleaning was fine. No complaints.
Fridge had a bottle of water and 2 cans of pop which they restock every other day. Our friends had a bottle of rum in theirs.


ENTERTAINMENT (2.5)

Didn't engage our kids or us. Just walked right by every time. Definitely a different experience from the other 2 Iberostars. The entertainers usually made our stay really enjoyable and memorable.
Comparison of the entertainment staff between the Daquiri and Mojito are like night and day.


LOCATION (5)

The location of the hotel was excellent. Close to Pilar Beach and the Marina.
Beach was beautiful.


FOOD (3)

You can always find something to eat just don't expect the choices to be broad. Chicken, fish, pork and beef as usual. Good enough for me. If you're picky you may not like it.



A little bit of advice for the hotel managers/supervisors on this resort walking around. Set an example for the rest of the workers and ask your customers if everything is okay. Especially, during the low season.

Room Tip: If you are paying more than $900 for this resort then you are paying too much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yomamar6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorDaiquiri, Manager at IBEROSTAR Daiquiri, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments and suggestions because they help us to keep improving our services.

We will pass your comments to Yenma and Leo, and Maruchy, they will love it.

We are very sorry we didn’t fulfill your needs; we will definitely take into considerations the negative comments in order to improve our services and make our guest happy which is our main goal.

We are undergoing a process of renovations that we hope will end will all the maintenance and comfort issues.

Regarding your friends received a bottled of rum it was probably because either they were repetitive clients or it was a gesture of good while if they had experience an inconvenience in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,436
    1,488
    639
    226
    82
See reviews for
1,115
1,518
131
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Hull
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Iberostar as an all adult holiday with 7 in the group, we emailed Milady some time before we went and she sorted 3 well placed rooms for us overlooking the beach.
We had a couple of issues with aircon & hot water for a couple of days, but it was sorted and all was fine, we did not book with thomas Cook but another agency and got a better price, but flight and transfers were with Thomas Cook and all was fine, as has been written already the Iberostar is going through changes and its star rating is from an earlier time as are the photographs on the Thomas Cook site, having said all that we had a great holiday, the staff are so friendly with nothing too much trouble for them, we all said that without a doubt the entertainment provided was the best we have had in our 9 years in Cuba, during the day on the beach and around the pool activities started at 10am, if you did not know what was happening it was`nt a problem they would tour all areas and make sure you knew, even games based on you not moving from the beds!, Waiter service on the beach, not had that from higher rated hotels for some years.On an evening the team would mix with the guests and invite them to dance, again not seen that for a long time, the shows are the best we have seen, you where left breathless at the pace and energy used to deliver the shows, each night was themed the quality of the costumes and the variety was 2nd to none, on the Broadway night, Zorba the Greek & Riverdance had everyone up and clapping and dancing with the the dancers,, the Mexican Restaurant is a must with Debray & Leo giving excellent sevice and sound advice on the menu, we made great friends with many of the staff, Omar, Carlito, Coqui, & Maria, the main bar staff all contributed to an enjoyable night and amazingly remembering your order before you did. overall we had a great time, and are considering next year with them.
Joge Samora from Thomas Cook looked after us well, it is just a shame that the brits are now in the minority, with Argentina & Canada the main visitors to the Cayos, only 1 aircraft a week from the UK to cover all the hotels, unlike before when Gatwick & Glasgow flew to the Cayos, now only Manchester, it is a secret paradise that is being overpriced from the UK. we do hope to go back as we have found our corner of paradise and dont want to loose it, but not at inflated prices, this is Cuba not Mexico

Room Tip: We emailed Milady before we went, you can book in advance the newer refurbished rooms at an extra co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorDaiquiri, Manager at IBEROSTAR Daiquiri, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your comments and for taking the time to visit our hotel page.

It is always comforting to receive such comments from our guest. We will pass your comments to all of the members of our staff and we will also take into account your suggestions.

It is really a pity not to count with more English guest due to so simple reasons as the scheduling of more flights to our country, hope one day gets better so we can have more wonderful people like you.

Thank you very much, and hope to see you soon again.

Best regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickham Bishops, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed at the Iberostar Daiquiri in April 2014. The holiday had been booked for over a year due to the very high school holiday prices and the need to budget for this special holiday. We heard through a social media group that the hotel would be undergoing renovation, however over the year it became apparent that not all rooms would be renovated in time for our stay. We did not upgrade to a renovated room as these were charged at a premium. However, we went open minded, but we had to change our room on arrival as it had a terrible musty smell and there were stains on the bed sheets. The second room was better, but really not what we were expecting from a four star hotel.
Other guests had air conditioning problems but ours worked fine. The room décor and furniture was tired, but comfortable.
The food was plentiful and a very good selection of meats, fish, cheese and breads. Something for everyone.
The beach is the reason we chose this resort, and we would return, just not to this hotel. Needs a lot of TLC.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorDaiquiri, Manager at IBEROSTAR Daiquiri, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for visiting our page and for letting us know your experience at our hotel.
It’s true we are going through some renovations to offer a better service to our guest and we hope that once its finished all problems regarding maintenance and comfort will be eradicated.

We apologize once again for the inconveniences you had to face during your stay. We hope you change your mind and give us a second chance once the renovations are finished, we will be very glad of having you with us again.

Thank you very much for your comment.

Best Regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

My girlfriend and I were at Iberostar Daquiri from March 19th to March 26th.When we booked our holiday,we had done a lot of research on where to go.Perhaps our expectations may have been too high,but what we experienced was far below what was advertised.Upon arrival,only half the visitors were greeted with a welcome beverage.We were not.When we booked 5 months in advance,we requested 3rd floor-ocean view.Having paid for all the upgrades,we very disappointed with our 1st floor view of a giant bush.We had to wait for 3 days to get a 3rd floor room.The rooms were supposed to have a complimentary bottle and fresh flowers.Neither were present in either room.Both rooms had no blow dryers,irons,3 hangers,virtually no dresser drawers,old towels with stains,horrible unfitted and very old bed sheets and terrible pillows.Our 1st bathroom had a unique array of insects at night and the 2nd had a very plugged shower drain which allways flooded the bathroom.The cleaning staff never changed the sheets,they only made the beds.They never swept the rooms once.They never changed our drinking glasses.Asking for our mini-fridge to be refilled was rarely met with a friendly acknowledgement.It always seemed to be an issue for some reason.The water was frequently turned off late at night.Trying to use the facilities at 1:00am with stomach troubles and not being able to flush is not good.We stayed in the renovated section of the hotel.As for the food,the buffet was always the best bet.2 of the 3 so called specialty restaurants,were converted day-time cafeterias.You were asked to adhere to a dress code for dinner,then you sit in the same chairs that just hours earlier had people with all their sunscreen,bugspray and what ever else they had on.The food for dinner at these 2 spots was terrible.From the black hair in my soup to the worst spaghetti ever,the Italian restaurant should be avoided.The food from the Cuban restaurant was not much better.The Mexican restaurant,which was an actual restaurant,was quite good.The main entertainment lounge had a small stage with dancers that were good.All the drinks came in flimsy,cheap plastic glasses that were so small,you were constantly waiting for another.Only 1 type of beer was availible all over the resort. There were very few staff who truly understood what friendly and good service really is.One exception was Aldenis.I met him early on and he always greeted me with a handshake and a big smile.He worked all over the resort,12 - 14 hours a day and was always happy to take care of anything we needed.Enjoy my Montreal Canadians hat Aldenis,you deserve it.The beach was very nice.Pillar Beach is not to be missed.A short cab or bus ride.You have to pay for your beach chair there.The resort was keep quite clean.One exception was some of the public washrooms.Also,the main bar in the lobby had a terrible,old alcohol,vomit smell coming from it.I could smell it every time I walked by.Most of the staff seemed over-worked and un-happy.On our 1st night,we asked the front desk to replace a number of broken light bulbs in our room.Upon our return,we found our front door had been left wide open.One afternoon,I returned to my room to find a construction crew working in my room.When we lost 1 of our room cards,the look the front desk clerk gave me when I requested a new one was nasty.The worst thing I saw took place one afternoon in the pool cafeteria.There was a game of bingo going on.Several of the people I was with were playing.I was not.During the game I watched all the people playing.Most were.At the end of the game,the winner went up to claim her prize.I watched as a staff member,who was sitting with someone who was not playing,walked up to the young man calling the game.She whispered something in his ear and he gave her a small piece of paper.She returned to her friend,handed her the paper and directed her up to the front to claim her bogus prize.It was just a silly game so I never said anything.But this type of disrespect seemed common.We tipped well and were always polite,but it did not seem to matter.We have tried to contact Sunwing and Iberostar about our concerns,but after 7 weeks of nothing,I felt I had to write this.We spoke to many visitors that week and every one we talked to had issues.From ceilings caving in on top of people to insect infested rooms.The pools were ok,but looked much nicer in pictures.One activity not to be missed is the snorkeling.From the catamaran trips offered by the hotel or the 2 hour trip right from the beach at the hotel with Juan,awesome! Juan handed me his fishing rod and I caught my 1st ever Baracuda.Thanks again Juan.Sunwing staff on both flights were wonderful. It has been nearly 2 months and the bad memories from this trip continue to linger.We both have stayed at many resorts and have never been this deeply disappointed.Unless you have very low expectations,do not make this resort your destination. John Cordssen & Chris Wright.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jmc1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorDaiquiri, Manager at IBEROSTAR Daiquiri, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your experience at our hotel.

Fist at all we would like to apologize for leaving you with such horrible experience at our hotel, that’s not the nature of our work at all.

We thank you for the good comments about the food at the buffet, beach and entertainment staff at night.

We are very sorry our rooms didn’t fulfill your needs and everything was so no to your taste, it’s a bit of surprise because since the renovation most of our guest are really happy with them, we are sorry your rooms was not clean up to our standards, we will check on it to improve our service. .

We would like to clarify, when you make your reservation, you reserve a room, not the location of it, what you had was a request and our front desk give them depended on the availability on the day of your arrival, we try our best but not always work out as we wish.

We wish you came to us regarding the situation on the pool area because we could had take care of it at the exact moment.

Regarding the insect, we have a weekly plan to fumigate all rooms at the hotel and the hotel itself is fumigated twice a day by an external company as well as per the plane in charge of it.
The standard of this hotel doesn’t have irons or coffee makers on the rooms and we don’t advertise differently, we have at our front desk some irons that give to our guest upon request.

It’s true some of the rooms didn’t have hair dryer when you were at the hotel because we didn’t received them from overseas by that time but now all rooms have them.

Regarding the bottle and the flowers, those are given only in special occasion (honeymoon, repeat guest, anniversary, birthday) or upon request from the travel agency, either way if you had said something at the hotel we will had send you a bottle without a problem.

We are glad you enjoy Playa Pilar beach and the service from Aldenis, we will has your comment.

Once again we are really sorry you didn’t enjoy at all your vacation with us.

Best regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Staff were really friendly, food and drinks were nice and the beach is beautiful. The rooms are clean and quite spacious, the pool area is nice and staff gave us fresh coconuts from the trees to drink by the pool which we loved.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MayHiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorDaiquiri, Manager at IBEROSTAR Daiquiri, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are really happy to know you enjoy your vacation at the Iberostar Daiquiri. We hope to see you soon again.

Best Regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklin, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Apparently the Hotel is undergoing some much needed renovations in the summer of 2014. If they dont I'm afraid that this resort will drop to a 3.5 star or lower. Don't get me wrong the 2 weeks that I stayed from Apr 24 to May 8 were great. The rooms clean with clean towels and sheets often, just that they could use some updating.

The food was very good at the buffet and the 3 restaurants. Staff very attentive and of course a very happy bunch of people always smiling and eager to assist.

Excellent cigar store at this location as well, good selection and fresh (they have Cohiba Behike's).

Beach very nice and was able to have very long walks, pool a little small but still nice and in good shape

Price was right and I got exactly what I paid for at this resort, very happy experience.

Room Tip: I was in the Matanzas rooms. close to beach, pool and main part of the hotel but i could hear the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorDaiquiri, Manager at IBEROSTAR Daiquiri, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

In deed we are undergoing renovations precisely to improve all of our services in order to fulfill guests’ satisfaction. Renovations will take a while but once they are finished we are sure the guest will leave the hotel with a good memory of it.

We will pass your comments to the staff members.

Once again thank you very much and we hope to see you again.

Best Regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We had a great week at the Daiquiri. All the staff were awesome but a few people stood out in particular. Jacqueline at the lobby bar was fantastic. Kely, Dee Dee, Raniel and the rest of the animation team were lots of fun. Bernardo at the buffet took the cake... setting up special tables for us with beautiful floral decorations when we came for dinner. What excellent service!

We had an upgraded room, which was kept impeccably clean by Elva. Our air conditioner was just adequate but that appeared to be a resort wide problem and we were not the worst off. The new shower was great but you sometimes had to let the water run if you wanted really hot water. It would be nice if they would restock the mini-bar (at least the water) daily but you can always get a refill at the bar. We did experience a beach towel shortage while we were there so we had no towel for a few days. Not a big deal but it was a bit inconvenient.

The food was very good. The buffet is repetitive but the quality was good so we didn't mind eating the same thing twice. I really liked the fact that they have a mini-buffet right on the beach that also serves a late breakfast since I don't get up early when on vacation, so this was a bonus for me. e could also have a very informal lunch on the beach instead of having to go back in to the other buffet. This was a definite plus. The restaurants were all good but they came around to spray for mosquitos while we were eating at the outdoor Italian restaurant one night. That was unfortunate.

The beach is nice but there is a lot of sea weed so you can't walk out too far into the water. I found that there were nicer stretches of beach further down. We spent more time than usual at the pool this trip due to the heavy wind at the beach. The pool is small but you were always able to find a spot to relax.

All in all I would definitely return to this resort, mainly because the people make it great.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MojitoLoverMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorDaiquiri, Manager at IBEROSTAR Daiquiri, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time for posting your comments and suggestions in our trip advisor page.

It is always nice to receive such a feedback from our guest. We are really glad to know you have enjoyed your stay with us. We will take a look at all the suggestions and comments in order to improve our services. We will definitely pass your comments to all of the members of our staff that I’m sure they will be grateful and looking forward to see you again very soon.

Thank you very much.

Best Regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Guillermo
12.7 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
12.5 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,076 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Cayo Guillermo
Melia Cayo Guillermo
#3 of 6 in Cayo Guillermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sol Cayo Guillermo
Sol Cayo Guillermo
#4 of 6 in Cayo Guillermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,911 reviews
19.1 mi away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,969 reviews
13.8 mi away
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Daiquiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Daiquiri

Property: IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
Address: Jardines del Rey, 65100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Guillermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Daiquiri 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Cayo Guillermo (Cuba). An oasis of relaxation. Elegant luxury. Pure water sports. Unspoilt Caribbean nature. Pleasant, modern construction style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your IBEROSTAR Daiquiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Daiquiri Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Iberostar Cayo Guillermo
Iberostar Daiquiri Cuba
Iberostar Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Iberostar Daiquiri Cayo Guillermo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing