We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back because of the staff”
Review of Iberostar Daiquiri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Iberostar Daiquiri
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We had a great week at the Daiquiri. All the staff were awesome but a few people stood out in particular. Jacqueline at the lobby bar was fantastic. Kely, Dee Dee, Raniel and the rest of the animation team were lots of fun. Bernardo at the buffet took the cake... setting up special tables for us with beautiful floral decorations when we came for dinner. What excellent service!

We had an upgraded room, which was kept impeccably clean by Elva. Our air conditioner was just adequate but that appeared to be a resort wide problem and we were not the worst off. The new shower was great but you sometimes had to let the water run if you wanted really hot water. It would be nice if they would restock the mini-bar (at least the water) daily but you can always get a refill at the bar. We did experience a beach towel shortage while we were there so we had no towel for a few days. Not a big deal but it was a bit inconvenient.

The food was very good. The buffet is repetitive but the quality was good so we didn't mind eating the same thing twice. I really liked the fact that they have a mini-buffet right on the beach that also serves a late breakfast since I don't get up early when on vacation, so this was a bonus for me. e could also have a very informal lunch on the beach instead of having to go back in to the other buffet. This was a definite plus. The restaurants were all good but they came around to spray for mosquitos while we were eating at the outdoor Italian restaurant one night. That was unfortunate.

The beach is nice but there is a lot of sea weed so you can't walk out too far into the water. I found that there were nicer stretches of beach further down. We spent more time than usual at the pool this trip due to the heavy wind at the beach. The pool is small but you were always able to find a spot to relax.

All in all I would definitely return to this resort, mainly because the people make it great.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MojitoLoverMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorDaiquiri, Manager at Iberostar Daiquiri, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time for posting your comments and suggestions in our trip advisor page.

It is always nice to receive such a feedback from our guest. We are really glad to know you have enjoyed your stay with us. We will take a look at all the suggestions and comments in order to improve our services. We will definitely pass your comments to all of the members of our staff that I’m sure they will be grateful and looking forward to see you again very soon.

Thank you very much.

Best Regards,

Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,091)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

923 - 929 of 4,091 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2014

Let me start out by saying this was my fifth trip to Cuba - so I know what to expect from the country and the resorts. I love Cuba , the country is beautiful and people are gracious and friendly. I will be back - but not to this hotel. This is not a four star class hotel for Cuba, it is more a two and a half star. I have stayed at multiple four stars in Cuba and this resort is not in the same league.

Check in: The check in are quick and efficient. The staff at the front desk were a somber crew.

Rooms: The main reason I will never return to this resort or recommend it is because of the rooms. The first room we had was the worst hotel room I have ever been in. The floors were very dirty (I kept my shoes on at all times in this room) , the grout in the bathroom tile was very dirty, the furniture was chipped/ cracked and dirty/dusty, the curtains was not secured on the rods and were falling off, the bed cover was stained/wrinkled/old. We requested a move to a another room after the first night. This room was a bit better, but not by much - cobwebs were on the lamps (see picture) , the tub was chipped (see picture) and the light over the vanity did not work ( see picture. I requested a new bulb for the light and they never came to replaced it). In summary the resort needs to improve their house keeping cleaning processes for the rooms.

Food: The food was okay - I love seafood and tropical fruit so I was content. The buffet resturant needs an upgrade to the area were the food is presented - the area is dark and needs painting.

Hotel and Grounds: The hotel and the surrounding grounds are in need of an upgrade - shabby would sum up my feeling about them. The plants on the property were not lush and looked in need for some TCL. Some of the common areas also need improvements.

Beach: The best thing about this resort is the beach - it is something out of a dream (see picture). The sand is white and pristine. The water is gorgeous and wonderful to swim in.

In summary: This resort should not be classified as a four star - it was really disappointing to pay for a four star and stay at a sub-par/low grade resort.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Novastar32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorDaiquiri, Manager at Iberostar Daiquiri, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to visit our trip advisor page.

We are really sorry to don’t fulfill your expectations. The hotel rooms are under a process of renovations but we have 30% percent of them ready and available for our guest but with a different price.

We appreciate your comments cause our main goal is to improve, we will pass your comments regarding cleaning in the rooms to our Housekeeping Manager and will take into consideration your comments regarding the ground and general aspect of the hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to share with us you experience.

Best Regards,

Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We had this hotel for the second week of our trip to Cuba, we spent the first week on a tour, (Fantastic) Don't go to the Cays unless you spend time in other parts of Cuba, the hotels in the cays are a bit isolated and unless your into diving in a big way you might find it a bit boring. The hotel is rated four star but we would say a three plus would be about right, the room we had was dated and we had constant trouble with the toilet not flushing and it leaking (clean water). The repairs were almost instant and they did ask us if we'd like to change rooms, but we declined. The room was kept spotless and the aircon works a treat. Staff were friendly and polite always ready to help. The beach area was cleaned every day and there was waitress service from your sun lounger if you wanted it. The main restraint served a good choice at all mealtimes but this being Cuba don't expect to be served haute cuisine! They have to import a lot of stuff and we always found something tasty to eat, especially the fish. Evening entertainment was music in the lobby bar, there was also a night club open till 2am if you wanted it. We found it a great place to relax after the hectic tour, we met people staying in the five star along the beach and they said the same about the food there, So, go with an open mind and enjoy this fabulous country and its lovely people.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main block by the lobby can be a bit noisy from the night club. (take ear plugs) or ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beautifulblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorDaiquiri, Manager at Iberostar Daiquiri, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your vacation and for sharing with us your experience in our beautiful beach, the cleanness of our hotel, our fish….

We are going through a program of renovation on the rooms, now we have a 30% and will be almost complete by next winter.

We really hope to see u soon at our hotel so you can enjoy our new rooms and our hotel in general.

Best regards,

Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

The people made the stay at this resort exceptional. They were very friendly and helpful. The beach is great with lots of shade. You can snorkel under the boardwalks and see fishies! . The resort is pretty with it's bright colors and mature trees and gardens. It is very clean except for the public bathrooms. The pool is great and the entertainment was some of the best I've seen in Cuba.
However, there were a lot of things advertised that just didn't happen. We upgraded our room but had to call 3 times just to get a hair dryer. No coffee maker in the room but probably could have gotten one, if we had asked. We didn't get pool towels until the 3rd day.
Our room was nicely decorated and the shower was awesome. We stayed in one of the smaller complexes (Holguin) that had been upgraded but, unfortunately, it smelled musty and of sewer. A package of paper loose-leaf over the floor drain in the bathroom fixed the sewer smell.
The sheets were flat sheets that did not fit the beds. They had to use 2 overlapping sheets to fit the king size bed which never stayed on the bed for any more than a few minutes.
It was very warm and humid but the A/C in our room was barely functioning; it was cooler but not by much. One night we were out late and when we tried to shower discovered that the water had been turned off in our room.
The food was not as good as any of my other stays in Cuba! At the buffet, there may have been 15 dishes to pick from in the line. The dishes offered were the same, day after day. There was a salad bar and a grill station or I would have been very disappointed. The website promised 24 hour snacks but most days there was nothing from 4-6pm and at night the best you could get was soggy fries and left over rolls. Not even soda in the cafeteria at night. 24 hour drinks were promised but the bars all closed at night.
Apparently, this resort has always had good reviews in the past years but since some upgrading that they did this past year, they let other things slide. Finish upgrading the other rooms and put those little things back in order and I'd go back. Oh and fix the sewer and the air conditioning!
I didn't go to stay in my room and I did have a really great time but that was because of the people I might and the people who work there.

Room Tip: Upgrade to get a nicer bathroom and fresh decor. Stay away from the Holguin complex. it smells of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorDaiquiri, Manager at Iberostar Daiquiri, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear clients,

We are honored to know you enjoy so much our beach, new rooms but most of all our staff, they are the soul of this hotel and we try to work each day to be better.

Regarding some of the issues you went through first of all we would lie to apologize and at same time explain as follow:
1. Problems with towels, it is true that sometimes we have difficulties to give a good service due to problems with an external laundry but we are working very hard to try to solve it and avoid as much as we can to give bad service to our guest.
2. The AC problem took us more than we expected to be fix but now all rooms at our hotel has the AC working perfectly.
3. Our standard doesn’t have coffee makers on the rooms but we are working on it in order to improve our rooms and at same time the service in our hotel.
4. Since we upgrade the rooms we have been waiting to receive the hair dryer and the plasma TV, these to items we coming from overseas but they are finally in Cuba, so this will be also solve in a matter of days hopefully.
5. We are very sorry regarding the snacks, its true we have 24 hours snack, meaning between 4 and 6 at the snack bar by the pool we offer pizza, hamburger, fries and salad and same thing more or less in the night snack in our main buffet from 11 pm until 6 a.m, we have pass your comment to the head chef in order to check on it and improve it as soon as possible.

Once again we really want to apologies you got a bitter sweet taste of our hotel and we want to assure you we are working in everything you comment to get better and really hope we are able to show it to you in your next visit, our main goal is to fulfill the needs of our guest.

Best Regards,

Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We just returned this week from our stay at the Daiquiri. Positives were the location, the beach and the staff. We never waited for a drink and the staff where very friendly. We had an upgraded room and we were right on the beach just as we had requested. Nice room for Cuban standards, the air conditioning needs improvement but the bed was comfy enough. The food was lacking for sure but we did not expect much as we had been to Cuba before and knew what to expect. The nice meals we did have where both of the resort. All and all we had a great vacation ( we were a group of 5 friends) lots of drinks at the swim up bar ,good staff and hot weather. Just remember you don't go to Cuba for the food, we went for the beautiful beach and this resort did not disappoint. Waking up every morning to the beach view was wonderful.

Room Tip: - make sure to get a upgraded room as the other rooms are in pretty bad shape if that is important t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovesjamaica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorDaiquiri, Manager at Iberostar Daiquiri, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your words, there is not better reward than a feedback like yours.

We are glad to know you had a wonderful time with us, we can´t wait to have you with us once again very soon and hopefully we will have almost all of our rooms renovate.

Thanks for your time and comments,

Best Regards,

Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Pros- beach is nice, seaweed but very nice if you walk 2 hotels down, staff are very nice but that speaks to most Cuban people, great people

Cons - the air conditioning did not work our whole stay, was a hotel wide problem and so hot the heat woke us up at night very limited towels the were old, scratchy and some were stained and some really did not smell clean, only gave bottle water every 2 days in the mini fridge, some water glasses smelled fishy and a few of us got very bad stomach issues, there were little ants in the bed, food is normal Cuban food, hamburger meat was not well cooked neither were the meat balls, lots of Miskitos and flies, they sprayed for bugs the evening after a rain shower while we were dining at the italian restaurant and the cloud of pesticide came right in where we were eating, all in all would say this is a 3 star hotel, will not be back

Room Tip: If you still want to go, Would recommend staying 3rd floor as rooms at ground level you hear all th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorDaiquiri, Manager at Iberostar Daiquiri, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

We know that the time is gold, that’s why we are thankful you decided to share part of it with us.

Every time we receive positive comments about the staff, we are very happy to know the effort of our staff do to fulfill the needs of our guest is been accomplish even though we know there is always things to improve.

We would like to take this chance to apologize for the inconvenient you had with the air-conditioning, we were doing our best during the week trying to fix it, unfortunately it took longer of what we were expecting for but I can assure you now it all working fine.

We are soory you were not happy with the every day re- stock of our minibar is what the standar says but we want to assure you that all our guest comments are evaluate and taking in consideration.

Thank you again for taking the time and comments about your trip and we really hope to see you soon one day.

Best Regards,
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

The hotel needs updating all over, the chairs on the balcony were broken, the sunbeds are very worn out and tired, the food gets very repetitive, the same food was served for lunch and dinner so not really snacks for lunch. There was lots of entertainment all day and night the staff didn't stop. The beach is amazing the free boats were lovely, you can walk out of the hotel and not worry, the dolphins are about half an hour walk. The staff in the hotel couldn't help you enough very friendly. Would I go back no only because of the hotel itself was poor. And to be honest it's a third time with an iberostar and never again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melissa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorDaiquiri, Manager at Iberostar Daiquiri, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very sorry we were not able to fulfill your expectations at all; our main concern is the happiness of our guest.

We will work harder and take in consideration the areas you mention that need improvement as food, rooms (we are already working on it), balcony equipment.

We are thankful for the kind words you have for our staff and we really hope you change your mind and keep trying our hotels around the world.

Best regards,

Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Guillermo
0.3 mi away
Melia Cayo Guillermo
Melia Cayo Guillermo
#3 of 7 in Cayo Guillermo
4,466 reviews
19 mi away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
6,409 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sol Cayo Guillermo
Sol Cayo Guillermo
#4 of 7 in Cayo Guillermo
4,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Mojito
IBEROSTAR Mojito
#8 of 12 in Cayo Coco
3,698 reviews
18.9 mi away
Sol Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco
#3 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4,408 reviews
17.8 mi away
TRYP Cayo Coco
TRYP Cayo Coco
#7 of 12 in Cayo Coco
6,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Daiquiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Daiquiri

Address: Jardines del Rey, 65100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Guillermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Guillermo
Price Range: $120 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Iberostar Daiquiri 3*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IBEROSTAR Daiquirí is located directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Cayo Guillermo (Cuba). An oasis of relaxation. Elegant luxury. Pure water sports. Unspoiled Caribbean nature. Pleasant, modern construction style. It has 312 rooms, 157 Standard rooms (3 handicap), 107 Double Superior, 48 ocean view. It also have a main Buffet with Show Cooking and 3 a la carte restaurants (Grill, Mexican and Italian). The hotel has 3 swimming pools, animation activities for adults and children and wifi access with extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iberostar Daiquiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Daiquiri Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Iberostar Cayo Guillermo
Iberostar Daiquiri Cuba
Iberostar Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Iberostar Daiquiri Cayo Guillermo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing