We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Daiquiri
Nearby Hotels
Melia Cayo Guillermo(Cayo Guillermo)
$192
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sol Cayo Guillermo(Cayo Guillermo)
$171
$154
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
$134
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
IBEROSTAR Mojito(Cayo Coco)
$121
$104
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Perla Blanca(Cayo Santa Maria)
$200
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
IBEROSTAR Playa Pilar(Cayo Guillermo)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TRYP Cayo Coco(Cayo Coco)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,178)
Filter reviews
4,178 results
Traveler rating
1,537
1,593
697
248
103
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,537
1,593
697
248
103
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar friendsthe mexican restaurantla marinafishcamaguey buildinglobby barpilar beachevery other daysuperior roompastafajitasguest servicesmain buffeta la carte restaurantsentertainment staffother resortstwo weeks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,192 - 1,197 of 4,178 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was our second stay at the Iberostar Daiquiri. We spent a week in April in 2011 with our grandson and when we were looking for a week of R&R after a stressful late 2012, we decided to go back to the beautiful beaches, warm and friendly staff and good, comfortable food of the Daiquiri. We just can't get enough of the spun sugar sand at low tide, the beach that goes on for miles and the blue-green Caribbean sea. Every staff member we came into contact with was friendly and eager to help us have the best vacation. We never bothered to book any of the a la carte restaurants because the food at the buffet was always good, plentiful and fresh. We are not late night party people, but loved having pre and after dinner champagne or Kir Royales at the lobby bar, often enjoying live Cuban or jazz music. We also really enjoyed the morning cappuccinos at the same bar, sometimes opting to have a little shot of Tia Maria included! Rooms were basic but kept spotless and I expect a big improvement after the renovations later this year. We spend so little time in the room, the other amenities, the staff and the food are a much bigger influence on us and you just can't beat the Daiquiri on all of those. Service at the lobby bar (Hi Jorgesvani!) and the buffet was topnotch, fast, friendly and efficient. The pool was awesome for the days when it was a little too windy at the beach. We would love to go back and bring our daughter, son-in-law and grandkids with us. This place is perfect for families or couples who just want to chill, enjoy the beach, the sun, some great food and each other.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Parisjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorDaiquiri, General Manager at Iberostar Daiquiri, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear JoDen,

Glad to know that you passed an enjoyable stay in the facilities of this hotel Iberostar Daiquiri once again, thank for the good reviews write in the tripadvisor about our staff services and all rest facility in the resort.


We look forward to have you once again in this hotel your home in cuba,

regards

Oscar Escallada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

the hotel and rooms need a makeover badly however given the cheap price we paid not bad value. We used the hotel as a base to explore the rest of cuba visiting havana and trinidad using local transport and taxis ( no package tours for us! ) buy a lonely planet and take a deep breath and leave the cayos at least for a few days. the beach at the hotel was fabulous and quiet we preferred the hotel beach to playa pillar. The food was all- inc as you would expect as was the booze however 2wks well spent. The staff are lovely - if you want drinks and better service tip at the end of the night or at lunch just a few quid each day gets you VIP treatment . the spa was dire avoid

Room Tip: room tips - everyone was complaining there are no nice rooms
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janejoecam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorDaiquiri, General Manager at Iberostar Daiquiri, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear jenejoecam .

Thank you for your review and for your comments regarding our resort. Apology this hotel did not meet your expectations, however we understand that has been a reason for the comparison with other hotels you visited too, that have better terms structure (5 stars)hotels. This year we will be renovating the resort, among the renovations, we will do something completely different in the rooms. Thank you for the positive feedback as well reference our staff service, your comments are very important for improving our services day to day.

Kind regards
Oscar Escallada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I returned yesterday after an 11 day stay with a good friend. This resort if made by the great Cuban people who work there - day and night difference for me between here and Varadero. I am a picky eater but the buffet provided something for me everyday - loved the Mexican a La Carte. The beach was beautiful and we spent lots of time on the pier - sadly the weather wasn't so great - 4 days of full sun - the rest of the time was cloudy, windy and cool :( - Still a great vacation - the wild flamingo colony was stunning and so was Pilar Beach. The best as I said was the people - Rosa and her sister Evelyn who worked in the buffet at breakfast and dinner, Ciedel from the front lobby who helped with our bags, Odeimay in customer relations - and last but not least our host from the Mexican restaurant.

Only negatives I can comment on are the smokers everywhere except indoors - but all of the outdoor bars and whatnot have smoking and I am surprised at how many people still smoke (I used to) - and I would likely stay at an adults only resort next visit just because I am not a kid person - especially on vacation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JennyRN40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorDaiquiri, General Manager at Iberostar Daiquiri, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Dear JennyRN40

Thanks for your comments written on this page, I am glad to know, that you passed a great stay with us at the hotel Iberostar Daiquiri. I will pass your comments to all our hotel staff, in special Rosa, Evelun, Ciedel and Odeimay; I´m sure that all them will be pleased to know that you are happy with the service they provided you by the each in the different departments working.

We look forward to welcoming you back once again

Best regard,
Oscar Escallada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We have just returned from our 4th trip here and are already making plans to return next year. As always, we had an amzing time. The staff here have become friends to us, and missing them already, especially Pedro, Marie, Ari, Pinky, Coky, Chi-Chi, Eddy, Willy, Darien and all the other star friends who are always there with a smile and a chat.
The buffet always has an excellent choice of food and the staff are so friendly,especially Rosa and Evelyn in the dining room, and Louis, Carrie and Kiefer in the kitchen (we missed Walter this time as he was off sick).
We did see some shows, but only a few as have seen them and were happy sat in the lobby, with both friends that we had fone with, friends that we had met on previos visits and new friends too.
Was nice to see the management (Oscar and George) out chatting to the guests and making sure everyone was happy.
The bar staff are great, had some great chats with Randy, Vecky, Aldo, Ary and Jaqueline.
Hubby spent most of his days fishing and had some great trips from both the beach and the marina. great massages, facial and mud wrap, will def make more use of it next time
Also used the Spa this time,
Cant wait for our next visit:)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barronfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorDaiquiri, General Manager at Iberostar Daiquiri, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Dear barronfrance,

On behalf of all the hotel staff, and particularly the manager thank you very much for choice this hotel Iberostar Daiquiri once again, as well, is our pleasure read by this positive review say described had enjoyed another wonderful holidays with us. Owing the excellent staff services, good food and all hotel facility in general. Iberostar aims to provide to our beloved guests an excellent service so they can “enjoy being a Star”. We are glad to read that we accomplished our goal with you during your stay among us.
We will inform all the staff Pedro, Marie, Ari, Pinky, Coky, Chi-Chi, Eddy, Willy, Darien and all the other star friends, Rosa and Evelyn in the dining room, in the Kitchen Louis, Carrie and Kiefer and all the rest staff that helped towards making you feel like stars.

See you on your next visit

Best regard,
Oscar Escallada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

love this resort :) im use to the big ones with over 1000 rooms but this one was amazing even tho it was below 400 rooms ! they know how to really keep everyone entertain ! i love bernardo at the buffet was an amazing waiter ! very welcoming always verry happy to see you ! the chef at the fish station keiber was super nice to me he even took pictures with me behind the grill with my school cooking uniform hahaha .. the food really impressed me cause i whent to havanna , varadero , cayo santa maria but this hotel has greaaaaatttttt tasty food ! i know lots of people who worries cause the food in cuba is not verry good but iberostar daquiri is wow !!!! love the food !! you cannot go wrong with it !!

As for the rooms well we stayed at 3147 in the camaguay ... for shure the room need update and i did not like the tiny bugs on the walls where the head board was so i slept the other way .. i asked front desk twice if they could do something about it they would say yes yes but never showed up ... little disappointing .. next day i told my room cleaner about it and she went write away to tell them and fix the problem :) i dont remember her name we stayed the 20 to the 27 january me and one of my friends but she was verry nice .but still the room is not a problem loll ur in vacation your hardly in the rooms !! the chairs around the pool and on the beach really need upgrade tho ...

omggg the mosquito there -__- soooo many dont miss one night without mosquito repellent cause you are donnnneee !!!

i did not go swimming in the pool cause even tho it was so windy and cloudy !! i love the beach no matter what hahaha !! the other staff i loveeeeeddd was Yero !! he is the entertaiment boss ! sooooo fun to talk with he is just great .. sucks i did not really get the chance to say bye to him he is a verry funny guy !!

as for the doctor well my friend on our first day was a little bit to drunk ... and she jump in the pool but the pool was not that deep where the stairs where .. so she cut open her little toe and needed 6 stiches .. on that night the doctor that was there was really nice took care of her with his nurse but on the next day .... it was an other doctor and nurse .. ohh myyy goooddd they where sooo rude ! they where there all week .. they didnt know what the heck they where doing !!!!!!he would never check her toe and she would just put little bandaid on it ... and she would say yes got to the beach go in the sand etc i was verry frustrated with them i thought that cuba had amazing doctors but this one jeez especially the nurse would always be sitting on the sofas in front of the doctor office talking with who ever staff every day that we would pass by and when my friend came for change of her bandage !! she would just give her this nasty look !! we told gorge the manager but kept on acting like he couldnt do nothing !and on saturday they wanted to take out the stiches and the doctor just let the nurse do all the job holding the cisors etc ... so we said nevermind we will take it of when we are in canada ! then the doctor said something in spanish gave us that horrible look and then they put a little bandaid and said ok go its good ! but anyways they where really awful so be verry carful not to end up going there !! my friend whent to her doctor in montreal and he had to do a big cleaning cause it was infected and to early for the stiches to be off ... and he told her there was sand stuck in there !! when the doctor in cuba was like yeahh go on beach , swimming , pool etc .. -__-' !! anyways...

on mondays and fridays the do this club thing at the bowling alley .. suggestion don't bring ur expensive things there ... we got one of our camera stollen and my friend got his phone stollen .... suck cause we had lots of photos on the other one but thank god we had a second one !!!

but overall i will go back there for shure cause there where more ups then down .. the only problem was the doctors office ... but i do suggest this resort !! and its like not even 40 mins from the airport wich i love cause its pretty close . of course they got to stop at fiew resorts before but its really a great place !! cant wait to go back when its all renovated !!

Room Tip: a higher floor is better cause less mosquitos ..
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorDaiquiri, General Manager at Iberostar Daiquiri, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Dear Stephanie G,
Thank you for your review regarding our hotel. We are proud to read you had an overall good vacation, due to the good service received by all the hotel staff, good food and entertainment in general. We will take care about your comments regarding the facilities and recommendation.

We are so sorry for the incident in the pool in the first night, what causes a wound on a finger of the foot requiring that needed six stiches. I refer to your comment regarding the service offered by one of the doctors, I understand, that was not pleasing to the treatment in the service, the medical service is not under our operation control, but we will pass your comments to the management of this unit competent medical care, to consider this so that does not happen again.

Regarding your mention to the personal, in particular Bernardo abd Keiber, I will pass your good comments referent there fantastic service in an effort to make your holidays happy.

Once again we hope to see you here in another time and can be much better than now.

Sincerely

Oscar Escallada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews