We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort”
Review of IBEROSTAR Daiquiri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Certificate of Excellence
Orangeville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice resort”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed at this resort for the first time at the end of November and found the rooms to be clean and everything worked. The staff was friendly and service in the restaurants and bars was very good, the Cuban people are very friendly and do not push or hassle you as in some countries. The shows every night were well done and it was nice to be indoors as the evenings cool down at this time of year. We read a lot of mixed reviews prior to booking, but from my experience you will always find those that expect perfection while looking for a cheap deal.
If you go with the intentions of relaxing in the sun and experiencing a different culture then this is the place to go. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Gaml10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorDaiquiri, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Daiquiri, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Gaml10:

I would like to thank you firstly for choosing our resort for your vacation. Secondly, we are very delighted to learn that from your experience it was a nice resort for relaxation and for experiencing a different culture.

We trust you will visit us once more in the near future.

Kind regards,
Oscar Escallada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,454
    1,509
    653
    231
    83
See reviews for
1,140
1,542
135
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We went here for my moms bday, the whole family and the employees made the trip amazing! Walter, one of the best cooks in cuba! He made our day cooking things we liked:)
Also, BERNARDO, our waiter all week is the best person in CUBA, he made our vacation the best ever! Thank you so much Bernardo we will miss you HOWEVER we will be back at this amazing resort!
Was a great holiday!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Taylor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorDaiquiri, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Daiquiri, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Taylor:

We would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing Iberostar’s Daiquiri Hotel. We are thrilled that your holiday has been great. We will tell Walter and Bernardo that they have formed part of making you feel like stars during your holiday.

We hope to be able to offer you our hospitality once again.
Oscar Escallada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is my second vacation in Cayo Coco, Cuba, but the first time in Iberostar Daiquiri. The first time was in Hotel Villa Cojima, which is a 3-star resort located right next to Iberostar Daiquiri.
I have to say, the beach here is fantastic. The white sand, the turquoise sea, totally unbelievable. However, I am not very happy with the resort.

The bad:
1. The resort is quite old, and needs a lot of upgrading and renovation. Our room is located on the 3rd floor facing the sea. Although the view is unbeatable, the room itself is pathetic. It has an unpleasant smell all day along ( it smells like a toilet). I've never stayed in a hotel or resort with so unpleasant smell, even a motel is better than this.
2. There are only two bath towels each day, no face towels or hand towels. So if you take two showers a day ( which is quite possible, because you would love to swim in both morning and afternoon ), you will run out of bath towels right away.
3. During our stay there, the shower curtain rod even fell down from the wall ( along with a big chunk of concrete) while my husband took a shower.
4. The cleaning lady never refilled the shampoo, conditioner or soap unless you talked to her face to face. The mini-bar was refilled very irregularly and we were out of anything (water or beer) for the last couple of days there.
5. The cleaning staffs don't work very carefully. For example, I noticed the same plastic cup shown in the same location ( on the floor near the stairs) for more than 3 days until it's swept away.

Now the good things about this resort:
1. the buffet is much better than the one from Hotel Villa Cojima. The food can't be comparable to the food from the resorts in Mexico or Dominica Republic, but still not bad at all. A lot of dishes to choose from and the grilled sea bass is fantastic. I like the coconut flavoured ice-cream too.
2. the check-in is the fastest among all resorts I have been to.
3. if you contact them before you go, they can put you in ocean-view room as per your request.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jane Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorDaiquiri, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Daiquiri, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear RunnerForLife.

Thank you for your review and for your comments regarding our resort. Next year we will be renovating the resort, among the renovations, we will do something completely different in the rooms. I apologize for the problems you had in your room, we have a guest service desk everyday where you can always report any malfunction in your room and we always do our best to accommodate your wishes. Minibar is restocked every 2 days with water and beer.
Thank you for the positive feedback as well, your comments are very important for improving our services day to day.

Kind regards
Oscar Escallada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

just returned from our holiday had a excellent time friendly staff. all ways.something to eat granddaughter had a great time in kids club.starfriends work hard all day doing pool games and games on the beach than entertaining us at night

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorDaiquiri, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Daiquiri, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Susan:

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Iberostar Daiquiri.
It is gratifying to know that your granddaughter had a great time at the kids club and that you enjoyed our activities with the entertainment team.
We are confident that you will be staying again at any of our resorts.
Oscar Escallada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Visted the 16th -30th Nov. Third visit to Cuba. The staff and friends we met made our holiday. Please say hello to William Lisa Marie and the most excellent dancer Mary. Including all the staff in the restaurant. The shows are amazing they all work so hard, then face a very long journey home.

The quality of the food was great. The carvery was not to everyone's liking. If you don't want rare beef tell the chef he will find you a piece from another part of the massive piece of meat. All the food was quicly renewed. Decent wine was served all all times
Advice about the little bitting mosquito's and sand flies. Put your sprays on before you leave your room outside your door. Dont open your balcony after 4pm. take lots of protective sprays anti -itch cream. I have a problem with them I got a way with only a few bites.

This hotel's staff is very friendlyfrom reception to gardeners

Will return to Cuba

ps they all do not expect a tip .

Room Tip: high view but the coconut trees partially may block your view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alicaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorDaiquiri, Manager at IBEROSTAR Daiquiri, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Alicaat:

On behalf of the staff of Iberostar Daiquiri I would like to thank you for sharing with the on line community your experience at our resort. It is a cause of satisfaction to understand from your comments that you have felt like stars at Iberostar.

I will inform William, Lisa, Mari and Marie that they contributed on your wellbeing.
We look forward to seeing you again at our hotel.
Oscar Escallada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk manchester
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was our 4th Time to Cuba but 1st time at this Hotel, Rooms Clean and Beds Comfy Pillows Hard. Our AC did not work properly but we managed ok.
The food was good and plenty of Choice, my Concern was when they made a Joint ie Beef or Pork the start of the Joint was ok but the rest was bloody this did happen more than once so we did not have any of that.
We did try all three of the other Restaurants they were average for us and did not repeat.
The Star Friends worked hard as usual and we did see some good shows,
The Beach was not as good as previous Hotels we have visited in Cuba, Seaweed and Murkey Water made it impossible for us to Snorkle and we did not see any fish. It was windy on the Beach and did feel cold at times.The mozzies and Sand flies did cause many Guests to have so many bites that were really bad to see. We did get bit compared to some we got off lightly. A member of our Group was covered in bites , why he got so many i do not know.
The Lobby Bar was in our opinion too small for the amount of people chairs were in short supply, it could get draughty in the Lobby Bar so would suggest taking a Cardy for the Evenings.
We met some lovely people and Glad that we could Help Paul with Creams for his Mozzie Bites, we had lots of laughs with you all .
This is a fair Review of this Hotel , after the refurb it should be great

Room Tip: Email Hotel before you travel, remember the hotel has palm trees all around the hotel so sea views m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miloson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorDaiquiri, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Daiquiri, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Miloson:

Thank you for choosing our resort for your vacation. We are glad to know you had a nice vacation, that you enjoyed the entertainment and apologize for the incident you had with your air conditioning.
We appreciate the feedback you’ve given us regarding the lobby bar and food selection in our buffet.

We hope you visit us once more after the refurbishment.
Oscar Escallada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We've got room 4235 in the Varadero Bldg. Very clean, the A/C was working quieter than in our home. The food was just super, the stuff, I cannot say anything other than: they were fantastic people, working very hard for tourists. I am coming back because of the food, the Cuban people, the beach. I have had no problem with mosquitoes, no problem with sand flies, really. I just sat down in the lobby and thought to myself, how many people there will write bad reviews about this Hotel? You just sit there and look around and notice things that bother you, instead you should be at the beach enjoying the sun. I'll be back.

Room Tip: Our room 4235 was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank eva181747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorDaiquiri, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Daiquiri, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Eva:

On behalf of the management of Iberostar Daiquiri I would like to thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay. It is gratifying to read you had a relaxing vacation and that you wish you return to our resort.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Oscar Escallada
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Guillermo
12.7 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
12.5 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,101 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sol Cayo Guillermo
Sol Cayo Guillermo
#4 of 6 in Cayo Guillermo
3,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
19.1 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
3,098 reviews
19.5 mi away
Pullman Cayo Coco
Pullman Cayo Coco
#2 of 12 in Cayo Coco
1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Daiquiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Daiquiri

Property: IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
Address: Jardines del Rey, 65100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Guillermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Daiquiri 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Cayo Guillermo (Cuba). An oasis of relaxation. Elegant luxury. Pure water sports. Unspoilt Caribbean nature. Pleasant, modern construction style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your IBEROSTAR Daiquiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Daiquiri Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Iberostar Cayo Guillermo
Iberostar Daiquiri Cuba
Iberostar Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Iberostar Daiquiri Cayo Guillermo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing