We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of IBEROSTAR Daiquiri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
uk manchester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was our 4th Time to Cuba but 1st time at this Hotel, Rooms Clean and Beds Comfy Pillows Hard. Our AC did not work properly but we managed ok.
The food was good and plenty of Choice, my Concern was when they made a Joint ie Beef or Pork the start of the Joint was ok but the rest was bloody this did happen more than once so we did not have any of that.
We did try all three of the other Restaurants they were average for us and did not repeat.
The Star Friends worked hard as usual and we did see some good shows,
The Beach was not as good as previous Hotels we have visited in Cuba, Seaweed and Murkey Water made it impossible for us to Snorkle and we did not see any fish. It was windy on the Beach and did feel cold at times.The mozzies and Sand flies did cause many Guests to have so many bites that were really bad to see. We did get bit compared to some we got off lightly. A member of our Group was covered in bites , why he got so many i do not know.
The Lobby Bar was in our opinion too small for the amount of people chairs were in short supply, it could get draughty in the Lobby Bar so would suggest taking a Cardy for the Evenings.
We met some lovely people and Glad that we could Help Paul with Creams for his Mozzie Bites, we had lots of laughs with you all .
This is a fair Review of this Hotel , after the refurb it should be great

Room Tip: Email Hotel before you travel, remember the hotel has palm trees all around the hotel so sea views m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miloson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorDaiquiri, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Daiquiri, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Miloson:

Thank you for choosing our resort for your vacation. We are glad to know you had a nice vacation, that you enjoyed the entertainment and apologize for the incident you had with your air conditioning.
We appreciate the feedback you’ve given us regarding the lobby bar and food selection in our buffet.

We hope you visit us once more after the refurbishment.
Oscar Escallada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,390
    1,430
    621
    217
    80
See reviews for
1,065
1,463
127
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We've got room 4235 in the Varadero Bldg. Very clean, the A/C was working quieter than in our home. The food was just super, the stuff, I cannot say anything other than: they were fantastic people, working very hard for tourists. I am coming back because of the food, the Cuban people, the beach. I have had no problem with mosquitoes, no problem with sand flies, really. I just sat down in the lobby and thought to myself, how many people there will write bad reviews about this Hotel? You just sit there and look around and notice things that bother you, instead you should be at the beach enjoying the sun. I'll be back.

Room Tip: Our room 4235 was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank eva181747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorDaiquiri, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Daiquiri, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Eva:

On behalf of the management of Iberostar Daiquiri I would like to thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay. It is gratifying to read you had a relaxing vacation and that you wish you return to our resort.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Oscar Escallada
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballygally, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was our third time at the Daiquiri,once in June and now twice in November,and i have to say June was better for us regarding the weather.The weather in November has been windy,hence the kite surfers,and you can only sunbathe till around 3-3.30pm.
Asi have said in previous reviews the hotel does need a refurb,especially the rooms and i cant wait to see what these will be like once done at the end of next year.
The food is good,always plenty of choice,Meat,Prawns,fish,pasta plenty of salad ect.We liked the breakfast and lunch down at the ranchon mostly for the staff,especially Damarys and Yami,lovely ladies were nothing was too much trouble.
We ate in the Cuban restaurant which was nice to have someone wait on you,food was nice also.

We took a taxi from the airport again this year(just tell your rep) 30 pesos,this gets you checked in,unpacked and chilled out before the other guests arrive.
The downside this time was for whatever reason the He-hain,Mossies and Sand fleas were out in force and no amount of repellent was deterring them,my poor husband got bitten alive and nothing helped him(thanks Alison and Linda for the lotions and potions :-)).

The best part of this hotel is the staff and the people who visit it,we have met some great people here,especially this year.I just hope the staff dont find other jobs whilst the refurb is under way as no amount of fresh paint and new furniture can replace what they bring to this hotel.

Room Tip: We stay in Camaguey block,room 3369 seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bigdunc09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorDaiquiri, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Daiquiri, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Bigdunc09:

It is always of great satisfaction to read comments of clients that choose to repeat the same resort for their holiday. It is even more motivating to learn you had once more a great holiday.

I will make sure to congratulate Damays and Yami for contributing on your wellbeing.

I hope to see you once more in Iberostar Daiquiri
Oscar Escallada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

First of all, if you go there after staying in "Casas Particular", you understand that this kind of place is NOT CUBA, but only a fiction realized for the tourists.
.
Summarized here every BAD thing happened in two days, in order of importance

1) While we were sleeping in the beach of the hotel someone has STOLEN us the sun glasses of my girlfried, and nobody, first of all in the reception, has been interested in helping us to find our glasses.

2) People who work there seem to be not real Cuban...I mean that Cuban person we've met everywhere are really fantastic persons, but in the hotel everyone was very impolite.

3) Cleanness:we found a very big bug in the first morning, we killed it and we left it in the floor...the room was cleaned but the big bug remained there! Moreover the sheet was dirty.

4) in the paper about the hotel was written (and at the recption was confirmed): "every activity in the beach with boats without use of motor is included" ... we wwnt in the beach and the persons told us to pay for doing snorkeling with a boat (catamaran) without motor!

5) The room was given us with 3 hours of delay

6) the first evening we couldn't drink a Mojito because the barman told us "I can't do it!" ... the second evening he did it, and it was the worst Mojito in our life ... not Mojito in Cuba...AMAZING!

7) We waited for one full day the towels of the swimming pool ... nobody did anything for giving us the towels considering that had just rained and our personal towels were wet.. we never received the towels.

8) we went to reception asking for information about excursions ... people were not friendly and helpful

9) the beach of the hotel is really small and full of mosquito

In two days we think it's enough ... we'll be back for sure in Cuba, we'll never come back in this hotel that is a bad imagine of the wonderful Cayo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Plancizio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorDaiquiri, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Daiquiri, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear MR. Plancizio:

On behalf of our staff I would like to apologize for the perception you had of Iberostar Daiquiri. Our hotel as you state is for tourists, it is a 4 star all-inclusive hotel thought for families and couples getaways that want to enjoy sun, sea, sand in the best beaches and as well a worry-free vacation. I apologize if the agent that sold you our resort mislead the information on our premises and services which are very well stated in our website.

I apologize as well for the incidents you have during your stay with regards to our staff’s attitude; most of the clients that repeat our resort is for our staff. I really cannot imagine what could have happened but would have liked that you approach the management who is always more than happy to assist our customers.

Unfortunately all belongings that are not in your safety deposit box are your responsibility, guest service and security always try to find our clients belongings but in a public beach where 4 resorts are located it is not always possible to track all lost objects. I apologize for the way you felt treated by our staff and I will personally deal with this situation to see what happened.

All non motorized activities are without charge and part of MARLIN the dive center, again, you could have approached management or guest service so we could check with them why were they applying a surcharge.

We truly apologize for the impression you took back home regarding our resort.

Oscar Escallada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire/ England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just got back from the Daiquiri 16-30 Nov ,Hotel was quite nice arrived late so reception was a bit dark we were met with a cold drink and check in was quick considering 2 coach loads off the same plane arrived pretty close together
Our room was in block pino del rio top floor and had wonderful sea views,always kept clean by the maid water pressure in the shower was a bit low no sink plug but hey thats Cuba.
Staff were very friendly especially santiago on the beach,entertainment staff did there best to keep people involved in different games,we just went to chill
There are tiny black flies around the pool/lobbybar area and the bites really do ltch so take plenty of repelent and bite relief spray
Food
Quite basic meat/fish pasta pretty much every night, did have a carvery but we felt the meat was under cooked so did try it,Breakfast was alright but if you stopped on the beach that restaurant was left a bit wanting not much of a selection
Bars
very stingy with spirits not like other places we have been and only 2 days they had mojitos said they could not get the mint Cuba is the home of the mojito so surely they could make sure there are ample supplies
Shows
They are some of the best we have seen in the carribean,Broadway and the night show were really good
Beach
lovelly when the tide is out but a bit cramped when the water is up,one thing to watch for is the kite surfers they come in a bit close the lifeguards blow whistles but they take no notice!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mojo0746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManagerCuba, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Daiquiri, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Mojo 746:

It is gratifying to know you’ve had a relaxing holiday in our resort. As well, I would like to thank you for your comments regarding our premises and services. We are always trying to improve the services and attentions we offer to clients, for this reason we will take into consideration all your feedback regarding your review so we can give a better service everyday.
Kind regards,
Oscar Escallada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was an allinclusive we went on, Nov 10th for a week. The weather was good, a bit windy for the first few days and only one day with a little rain. The resort was well laid out with 12 three buildings with belconys, pool in the middle. The staff are really helpful and friendly here, the bars well stocked. I have been to cuba twice before and I have to say the food was what i would consider below average, nothing that really stood out as exceptional. The beach was littered with sea weed and during high tide not much of one, maybe 20'. But you can walk a long ways down in front of other resorts. The real down fall was the sand flea's, you cant see them and you dont know you are bitten for several days but they are all over the place, I have never experianced this before in cuba soo I'm not sure if its just the location. There isnt much do do around there, for a trip I would recommend going to Cayo Mortero via boat. Its a nice boat ride, you get to do some snorkling, they feed you lunch and all the drink you want and bring you back by 4.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjtrask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManagerCuba, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Daiquiri, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Rjtrask:

Thank you for your review regarding our hotel. We are proud to read you had an overall good vacation and apologize for the down fall regarding sand flies. As the hotel is located in a small key surrounded by jungle and mangroves; in this season we tend to have more sandflies. This happens in sunset and sundown mainly or when there is no wind. We have an external company that sprays product twice a day but as our areas are open, we cannot eradicate them from the hotel.
I hope you choose any of our Iberostar hotels for your future holidays

Oscar Escallada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Cayo Guillermo: This is Cuba, lots of natural beauty but rather far away from where people live, about 2 hrs bus ride to closest city of Moron, and about a 45 minute ride from the airport. The main entrance and reception area with bar and stores provide a common area to relax or read with your favorite beverage, or you can snack with a piece of bread (poor bar snack ). The staff pleasant and hard working.
Very small bloodsucking "he-hen", or named something like that, played a big part in our holiday. Bring insect repellent and long pant and shirt for evening!!!
The rooms do not show Cuban character or skill; typical hotel furniture.Lighting OK. Linens are clean...Pillows are not. Bring pillow slip. Beds are cheap, like the rest of the furnishings. Bathroom and bath are very slippery when wet- no safety mat!!!
The Pool and area look clean and well kept.
The beach area has lots of chairs and a lifeguard on duty and close to restaurant\bar.
Lots of work goes into the food that serves Cuban dishes.

Room Tip: Near the pool can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorDaiquiri, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Daiquiri, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Rob:

Thank you for posting your comments on our resorts and on your feedback regarding our rooms. Next year the hotel will be subject to renovations and the decor of the rooms will be changing as well.

As the hotel is in a very small key surrounded by mangroves, it is very important for clients to bring repellent for mosquitoes and sand flies as you state.

Oscar Escallada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Guillermo
1061.2 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
1077.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Plaza Real Resort
Plaza Real Resort
#6 of 11 in Juan Dolio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colombus Hotel
Colombus Hotel
#7 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Daiquiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Daiquiri

Property: IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
Address: Jardines del Rey, 65100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Guillermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Daiquiri 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Cayo Guillermo (Cuba). An oasis of relaxation. Elegant luxury. Pure water sports. Unspoilt Caribbean nature. Pleasant, modern construction style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your IBEROSTAR Daiquiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Daiquiri Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Iberostar Cayo Guillermo
Iberostar Daiquiri Cuba
Iberostar Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Iberostar Daiquiri Cayo Guillermo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing