We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing wedding and amazing hotel”
Review of IBEROSTAR Daiquiri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Certificate of Excellence
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing wedding and amazing hotel”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed at the Iberostar and was very nervous when we landed in the middle of nowhere at a very small airport. The dirve through the marshlands then did not fill us with much hope either. However when you walk through the doors you walk into your own little paradise. Drinks were waiting for us while we checked in. Then off to our room which was lovely and spacious. The food was excellent and the a la carte restaurants are well worth a visit. All the staff at the Iberostar are great and cannot do enough for you. One thing I will say is please tip the gardeners as they work very hard but its just the bar staff that get the tips. Please also leave any unwanted toiletries as the staff really appreciate them.
The purpose of our visit was to get married at the hotel, we met our wedding co ordinator junior a few days before the wedding and he put our minds at ease about the day and how everything would go. The wedding itself was beautiful, I had a horse and cart take me from our room round to the gazebo where we were to get married. The gazeba was decorated beautifully and we had a live band playing throughought. Although the photographer did not speak english he positioned us so our wedding photos came out stunning. Our wedding was then followed by a meal and our wedding cake which was again lovely. When we got back to our room we found that it had been decorated with rose petals and flowers everywhere which was a really nice touch. They really made our big day special.I would recommend for anyone to get married at this hotel.
I would also highly recommend the catamaran trip it is a full day out with lunch and drinks provided on the boat. We did see some amazing fish and had a great day.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tiffany1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,444
    1,495
    646
    227
    83
See reviews for
1,128
1,526
132
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

This was our third time in Cuba and the second time at Cayo Guillermo - different hotel but third time in an Iberostar. Honestly, we were a wee bit dissapointed. When we arrived at the hotel - it was just a check in - no-one to great you as such and no porters to take your cases. We had to find our room and drag our suitcases up to the top floor of the apartments. The room itself was decent with a good shower and a toilet that flushes (most important). The air conditioning was leaking but this was fixed the very next morning but otherwise worked brilliantly. Did not have a plug at all in the bathroom, requested one a few times, never materialised. The decor is in need of an upgrade but hey you don't go on holiday to look at the room do you!

Our room was cleaned every day and the fridge was stocked as expected. However, our sheets were only changed once on the holiday and that was near the end of our holiday. The towels were replaced every other day.

The food was okay. We think we only got a really hot meal twice. The food is luke warm. Yes, the chef's do cook things for you but even then it is not very hot. Good choice of food. Did the Mexican which was not very good and the portions are tiny but you can order more than one main meal. Did'nt bother with the Cuban (bad expierences in the past) or the Italian which was to be held in the pool bar as the Marina was being done up (opened a couple of days before we left). Okay but still the insects, cats and birds roaming about in the Marina/Ranchon) One of us did have stomach cramps etc all holiday, but that could be the heat also.

Good variety of drinks to be had by all. Try the Tiger Cocktail which the kids can drink or you can have with RUM!!!! Very nice.

The staff in the first week seemed to be very tired and a bid fed up. Not that bothered with serving you etc., but the second week they were all friendly and could'nt do enough for you. The Star Club seemed to work hard at night and mainly practiced during the day. Did'nt see much in the way of kids activities.

The gym is really good for Cuba and the spa looked very impressive. Some mornings you could get massages for 25cuc's (very reasonable) on the pier.

The insects are what you expect in a hot country - I only received one mozzy bite but did receive a bite from a small midgy type insect that lives in the swamps. Be careful, I had a very painful reaction to this and my knee swelled up to three times it size. Had to see the Doctor - who was really very nice, received injection (in the bum) and then had to take various tablets, antibiotics and use cream. We took all this type of stuff with us and in the end the Doctors visit was about £50.00. Once this bite cleared up I received another one on the same leg!! At this stage if we were told we had to go home there and then we would have done.

The beach is amazing (they always are). The water is brilliant in the sea and the pools (which was always clean and clear) not so much the pool area. The pier with the decking is the best place to get a sun tan (especially in the morning) and it is nice and cool up there as there is a wind/breeze all the time. The pool area got very hot in the afternoon.

The Cataman trip is always worth the money. Fantastic as always. To do Havana it involves travelling by coach and you are away from the hotel for 3 days. Speedboats are also a blast. Feel like James Bond racing around. We do recommend getting the VIP room at the airport 20 cucs each as it is worth it. This was the first time we managed to get this and highly recommend it.....

The resort was always busy (although not full) and the Argentian's really like it here. We did however meet some really nice people here and it is easy to make friends.

Overall the first week was a bit of a disaster but the second week was a lot better. Would not go back to the resort here although Iberostar are building new hotels in new locations in Cuba. Might try that next time!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank murphyscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Scotland
Level Contributor
322 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

What a breathtaking location! Hotel might not be 4 star by western standards but this is Cuba so need to make allowances. The beach is to die for, gets cleaned everyday, theres usually a nice breeze which makes it much more bearable than the pool area. We spent the first day at the pool, the rest on the beach. The gardeners come round with coconuts and cut them open to drink, they also add rum and ice if you want, theres no charge but they will expect a tip. A peso is fine (65p!).

Most staff are very good or acceptable, but there are a few who simply dont care. Work on the ones who are good and youll be fine.
The best restaurant was the Mexican, great food and service, very personal.
The beach restaurant opened after refurb while we were there, this was brilliant at lunchtime, what a view and great breeze.

We also did the 3 day Havana trip (not a hotel feature, but you need to go!).

I read a lot of comments about mozzies. Believe it or not this is a tropical country, you are invading their space, not the other way around! So live with it, be prepared etc.
There are lots of large crabs crawlling about the grounds, some of which end up in the pools! Again, its their turf!

Food - yes, a bit repetitive and sometimes short on the meat/protein front, but me and my wife had none of the stomach complaints quoted in these reviews. We've been in many AI in different countries and I honestly believe pool water is responsible for much more of the stomach probs blamed on food.

We had a couple of airconditioner probs and fridge breakdown in our room, but these were fixed right away, no matter the time. Room was spacious enough for two and well looked after.

You need to pay for the safe in the room, 2 CUC (£1.20) a day, for which you get the lock with a key. Never had to pay for this before in AI.

The entertainment was OK if you like that kind of stuff, they are very professional.

Overall, would def go back.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a partial sea view, we requested away from noise, and this was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank m4xwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

I spent 2 weeks here from 2nd June 2011.

Lobby Bar - Great staff, quite slow service, Excellent choice on the All inc. comfortable seats around the lounge, the best seats are right in front of the bar, tipping is expected, and the more you tip the better service you receive.

Pool bar - Slow service, Nice area for a drink during the afternoon, (especially when it's pouring down)

Pool - nice pool area, 3 pools - 1 next to the bar, 1 for little children and 1 for where sports are played, music around the pool is not intrusive and there are always plenty of beds to choose from, Staff do come around taking drinks orders but this can also take a while. The pools seem clean, the toilets are quite a walk away from the pool area.

A La Carte Restaurants - We went to all the restaurants once a week, Cuban, Italian & Mexican.
The Mexican was by far the best on the second visit - Chicken Fajitas. Very tasty food and the best meal of the whole 2 weeks (the first week we got the complete wrong order, but we were the last table in the restaurant, so we gathered they were just getting rid of the last of the food for that evening).
The cuban restaurant wasn't up to much, food way overcooked and very dry at times. The starters were the best part of the meal. Fresh crab claws and some quite nice salads.
The Italian restaurant was an extreme let down, Pasta overcooked and the sauce to go with it was like seafood mince. The pizza with tuna that my partner had was quite lovely. The menu said Beef Carpaccio, This was not available once.

The Beach Restaurant was having a new roof so we missed that experience completely

Buffet Restaurant.
Plenty of seating and very attentive staff. The first 3 days we really enjoyed this restaurant although after a while it seemed the same food every day. There was a roast on every day and the chicken was by far the best choice. The beef was like boot leather and overcooked. There was plenty of salad choices, lots & lots of burgers and hot dogs every day. There was Ice cream every day and always plenty of deserts

The Beach
Was lovely although there was a lot of seaweed, this was swept every day but the staff doing it were just not quick enough. There was a lovely pier you can get a bed on, The water is completely clear and quite beautiful. We started most days with a walk along the beach. All of it very nice (except the seaweed)

Shows
We went to see the shows 3 times. We left once after 5 minutes, the second time we stayed to the very end (this was the movie show) and the last time we went we left after about 30 mins. Good dancers, but it's the same show with different outfits.

Room
The room was absolutely fine. There was a bit of a smell from the drains but nothing we couldn't forget about, There was more than enough space to hang our clothes up, the floors when wet are VERY dangerous. all the rooms seem to have a nice view, with no other room over looking. The maid service was the best ever, clean towels every day and clean bed linen every second day. The mini fridge was refilled every second day with beer, water and cola. This was suitable, if you needed anything else you could take your bottle to the bar and they would refil for you.

On the whole this was a very nice resort but was let down by the food only. The holiday was made by the people we met.
We won't be going back to Cayo Coco/Guillermo/Cuba.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hayles81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Stayed here end of May 2011.The hotel is nice and all areas clean and tidy.Staff are polite and helpful ( mostly).The beach is a dream and the water warm and clear.
Not enough shade round the pool and ALL of the sunbeds are old and tatty, needs replacing.
Room was fine, needs bits of things doing but clean and comfortable, checked the beds and they were free of any bugs. Take lots of mozzy spray we were all eaten alive by the blighters.
Food is awful, lots of people ill, by the end of the second week we were eating next to nothing, my wife spent 2 days in bed with stomach cramps and the runs.Food reappears time again cooked in a different disguise.
We did do a couple of trips out and enjoyed them, the jeep safari is brilliant as are the speedboats.
Go to Pilar Beach by taxi 5 pesos return per person, he will drop you and arrange a time to pick you up.
Wouldnt go back here again unless the food improves greatly.

Room Tip: Baracoa block is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jezzboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Myself & my Husband stayed at this hotel from 19th - 26th May 2011. The flight and transfer were faultless.
Check in was swift, delicious welcome drinks on arrival. Staff polite and curteous although occasionally distracted and not very eager to please. Room was lovely and clean, no complaints at all, maid service excellent. Grounds, pool and beach are second to none. The Beaches here are the best ive ever seen, visually breathtaking. Unfortunately this is not a private beach and a lot of locals walk along it during the day, the only problem we had with this was that we did hear several people complaining about thefts from the pool and beach areas (we did not have anything stolen from us but we were very careful with our belongings) the thefts could have been down to fellow guests or people from other hotels, which is what the hotel says to anyone complaining of theft, make of it what you will.
We went on the Jeep excursion which I would highly recomend, a great variety of
activities for the money (approx 60 pounds pp), full day excursion with excellent food, the highlight for us was the crocodile farm.
We went on the catamaran trip, the highlight of this was the reef fish. Again the food was excellent but unless you really enjoy lots of alcohol I would give this one a miss, there are other excursions that include the same activities which are less expensive.
We really wanted to visit Havana but our hol ran from Thursday to Thursday and the trips to Havana are on Thursdays and Fridays so we couldnt go.
The ONLY downside to this hotel is the food, although neither of us had food poisoning we were worried that we would because the standards of hygiene were a lot lower than one would expect from a hotel. There were cockroaches and flies in the buffet area, both of which I saw for myself. I understand that on a densely wooded island bugs are the natives but the buffet restaurant is indoors and I feel that much more effort could be made to up the hygiene standards. The food was unbearingly repetitive but there was always something there that we both enjoyed.
The communal areas of the hotel couldve been kept cleaner too. We did suffer from diarrhea but as there was no vomiting or stomach pains we put this down to the climate change and the difference in our diets.
DO bring a full medical kit along and plenty of sun screen and after sun as to buy these things locally is extremely expensive and they are very poor quality!
Apart from the food the holiday was one we will never forget and we will be returning to Cuba next year.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JoJoBridgend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

What a Disaster.... Stayed here in late November 2010 and would NEVER, EVER stay here or go to Cuba again!!!!! Travelled with my husband and two small children. From check in to check out what a disaster. First off, the first room they gave us smelled like somebody or something died in there!!! was so stuck in the back of the resort, on the main floor at night looked like something out of a horror film! Immediately asked to be removed!!!! The only manager that could help was a male - of course! The females were to busy looking at their nails! He let us look at a room before commiting. It was better, near the main entrance and higher up! on the second day had no air conditioning! room was hotter then a sauna! called the front desk and they said they could do nothing, open a window! are you kidding, with two small kids in that heat! asked for more bottled water, they said unless it was a medical emergencey only one bottle per room! again are you kidding! finally a manager, that of course was from France, came to the room and brought water and apologized! staff in main bar told me to tell reception i had a newborn and needed water for formula, apparently only way to get water!!! the female staff HARASS you about your clothing, one day had 5 women ask me for my shoes! really! then when bathing at the pool all the women come around telling you "sob" stories asking for your purse and belongings when you leave! We work really hard, contrary to what they believe to "afford" a relaxing vacation.. I sympathize with their situation, and in the end did select a family I felt was "worthy" and in need and left behind many articles of clothing and ALL my toiletries and medication.. The front staff even accussed us of staying extra days and tried charging us for 10 days of safe usage. When we were leaving held up the bus on the way to airport cause they ACCUSSED us of stealing a beach towel and the bus waited one hour with ppl on board till it was sorted out! Again, REALLY, why the heck would we want a towel! The food at EVERY restaurant no matter what time was HORRIBLE and thankfully I am a responsible mother and packed tons of snacks for my kids. All in all,met some wonderful ppl we are still in contact with, but will NEVER visit again! Hope this helps, it is all honest, word for word, from one family to the next!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank dreamer2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Guillermo
12.7 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
12.5 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,090 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Cayo Guillermo
Melia Cayo Guillermo
#3 of 6 in Cayo Guillermo
4,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sol Cayo Guillermo
Sol Cayo Guillermo
#4 of 6 in Cayo Guillermo
3,933 reviews
13.8 mi away
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
19.1 mi away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
6,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Daiquiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Daiquiri

Property: IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
Address: Jardines del Rey, 65100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Guillermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Daiquiri 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Cayo Guillermo (Cuba). An oasis of relaxation. Elegant luxury. Pure water sports. Unspoilt Caribbean nature. Pleasant, modern construction style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your IBEROSTAR Daiquiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Daiquiri Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Iberostar Cayo Guillermo
Iberostar Daiquiri Cuba
Iberostar Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Iberostar Daiquiri Cayo Guillermo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing