We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place and is as advertised”
other travelers have booked this property
Living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room
Bedroom 1 Bedroom 2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Living room
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Kitchen and dining table
Bathroom 2
Living room
Bathroom 1
Bathroom 3
Terrace - this now includes a round Brown Jordan glass table with chairs
Lower level and entrance to Bedroom 3
Upper leve and hallway to Bedroom 2, kitchen, living room, dining areas and terrace.
Beach / view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
dsgml1
Murray Harbour, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place and is as advertised”
Reviewed March 22, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
2
people found this review helpful

We loved our stay, the place was everything we expected when booked. Clean very well kept by Volney, who helped with all our needs. Most enjoyable was the beautiful sun sets every evening. View was great and the restaurant in front did not hinder the beauty of the beach in front(or the sun set). Beach was a big plus, we did take umbrellas for shade and glad we did. This beach is not busy, and for us this was a plus. Hugo’s resturant, we wish now we would of splurged one night and had a meal there. For the most part enjoyed people watching from deck. We did not find traffic a big issue. Interacted with the people working there and they were great, with typical local charm. Speightstown has everything, just like you here in all the reviews.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRS GAYNO...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home from home in Barbados”
Reviewed March 20, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

First impression of the interior was wow! Three good sized bedrooms each with an en-suite bathroom and plenty of wardrobe space. The living room/dining/kitchen open plan main room was really nice, light and airy with high vaulted ceilings. The large terrace balcony, complete with a further dining table, sun loungers and barbecue had a lovely view beach/sea view.

Opposite the White Sands there is a very posh, very expensive restaurant called Hugo’s which has recently opened, this unfortunately blocks some of the view, which is a minor annoyance rather that an earth shattering disaster. £14 for a bowl of soup put us off trying there! The condo is really a home from home, very well equipped, loads of spare towels including beach towels, with a washer and tumble dryer to wash your clothes and even a supply of loo paper! The kitchen is well supplied and has one of those HUGE American style fridge. The Air Con worked well in all rooms and the bedrooms all had ceiling fans to help cool you off.

The condo is large enough for six people to have and extremely comfortable stay on this wonderful island. Volney the house keeping lady was very friendly and helped us book a trip to Harrison’s Cave (impressive) and sort out a couple of minor problems, such as the dishwasher breaking down but she had that fixed within 48 hours and stepped in to wash a load of pots, pans and plates for us, despite us saying no! Sandy View is a real home from home!

Speightstown is very chilled and laid back, not a party town so ideal if you just want to relax, the few bars and restaurants do close early. The main town is a 5 minute walk away, head south from the condo and you’ll be there in minutes. Look out for the lovely orange painted little bakery on the left as you head in, really nice tasty treats in there, hot from the oven. Jordan’s Supermarket was very good. We ate in the Fisherman’s Pub on a couple of occasions, good value and nice Bajan food. We also had breakfast at Islands Plates in the little complex opposite the supermarket, lovely little place.

For getting around Barbados you can’t beat the local buses which you can catch from the bus depot on the main road again only a five minute walk, 2 Barbados dollars a trip no matter how far. We caught the 27 down to Oistins for the Friday Fish Fry, 1h 15m trip on the bus. Lovely food at the Fish Fry, but unfortunately the entertainment wasn’t all that it was cracked up to be. Can also recommend Holetown for an evening out only a 15-20 minute bus ride, lovely restaurant called Zaccios there.

The only tip I would give for a stay in Barbados is take a good insect repellent, we got bitten by sand fleas and the itching wasn’t much fun! That said it’s a lovely place, friendly people and hot sun and White Sands is a great base.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Planned peaceful trip ruined by new restaurant directly opposite.”
Reviewed February 23, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
3
people found this review helpful

No complaints about apartment or Volney the housekeeper, but pictures are misleading as looks like a clear unobstructed view. Directly opposite is a new restaurant which obstructs at least half the view from the balcony. Worse still is the constant noise of the air con unit on the roof which starts at 08.30 till approx 11pm. During our stay the restaurant were having problems with the drains resulting in 3 trips to unblock them, exhaust fumes and the smell of effluent twice during our meal time forcing us indoors. Two sessions with an industrial power jet washer lasting 1 1/2 hours. Constant daily deliveries from trucks leaving their engines running and often radios blaring. Taxis coming and going all evening. Our complaint to the owner resulted in an email to inform us it had been passed onto the block committee, no apology and we never heard from anybody representing Whitesands. I complained directly to the manager at the restaurant for which we felt was often inconsiderate neighbourly behaviour and emailed the manager. If you are looking for a peaceful location then this is not the apartment for you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamapy71
Staffs
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely, Clean and Comfortable and right on the beach!”
Reviewed November 23, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This is a very clean, comfortable and spacious apartment which is well equipped for the 6 people it accommodates.
All amenities are on the doorstop and the beach is across the road - and it is a beautiful, quiet stretch of beach.
Groceries can be bought in several stores, and fruit and vegetables are available from the many roadside stalls.
The Bakery is amazing and is less than 5 minutes walk from the apartment.
Balcony is very nice and quite spacious, however we didn't use it that much due to there being some building work going on directly opposite which was a shame. I believe this is going to be a restaurant and it opens in December so maybe things will settle down.
The booking and welcome process was very straightforward. It may be useful for a small food welcome pack to be made available - bread, milk, butter, tea & coffee etc. as we arrived lateish on a Sunday evening and nothing was open (most shops, bars and some restaurants are shut on a Sunday and by 7pm weekdays).
Very good value for money.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad and Tobago
Reviewed October 16, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rhonda K
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed May 24, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
5
people found this review helpful

The apartment/penthouse was amazing. We did not want to do the resort thing -this was a great alternative. It allowed the quiet of the island to be appreciated. It was a truly local island experience, which made it different from other island resort visits that we have experienced. Quaint, calm and peaceful. The best destination ever!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret...
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Very Comfortable Rental Unit - Great Location!”
Reviewed February 18, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Talk to anyone and they will tell you that Speightstown represents the best of 'Old-Time Barbados'! The layout of the main street with the old buildings right on the street front, vendors selling local fruits and vegetables and everyone is very friendly. There is an awesome bakery and at least two groceries, several banks and everything else that you need. There is also a good local art gallery and a very interesting museum.
The Sandy View unit is well furnished, with more than enough cutlery, dishes and wine glasses. We were grateful for the good quality, sharp knives and excellent pots, as we do a lot of our own cooking. The large fridge with its icemaker was wonderful!! Sheets and towels were plentiful and of good quality as well - Volney provides housekeeping 3 times a week and the unit is kept clean. The air conditioning works very well and was a blessing during the hottest part of the day if we were at home and guaranteed a good night's sleep by keeping the bedrooms nice and cool. There were a few hiccups - we did find the microwave very noisy and the dryer was very slow to dry clothes, but nothing serious that would spoil our time there.
There are several good beaches in the area and there is one just across the street which many visitors use, but I thought it was a bit rocky. We would walk north along the beach past the Almond Beach Resort towards Heywoods beach and Port St. Charles, where there is a gorgeous beach! Some of the best swimming in Barbados. Unfortunately, the beach umbrellas and lounge chairs are reserved for the hotel residents, but anyone can swim. The beach in front of the Almond Beach is rocky and perfect for snorkeling and seeing turtles without having to pay. We also walked south through the town and spent our mornings at Juma's Restaurant and Beach Bar, where they provide beach chairs and umbrellas for their customers and they serve drinks on the beach. Wonderful drinks - their rum punch is excellent! Lunch was usually pizza at the Orange Street Grocer which has very tasty thin crust pizzas cooked in a traditional pizza oven.
One downside is that there is construction in progress directly across the street from White Sands, where a high end restaurant is being built. This got rather noisy at times and I am not sure how the location of the restaurant will impact the White Sands units in the future.
All in all a great spot to vacation - Speightstown is wonderful and this is a comfortable, well located rental to view it from.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing