We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Speightstown Mural” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Speightstown Mural

The Speightstown Mural
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Speightstown Mural”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

If you are a Bajan this is something to be very proud of ...it depicts life on the island ....Harrison's Cave, Bussa, Bridgetown etc.

Simply Beautiful !!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    22
    13
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Something New in Speightstown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

This mural and the lovely surroundings gives a lift to Speightstown. Former Mango's chef has a grill going and they serve fresh seafood and there are umbrellas and beach chairs for rent as well. I didn't eat there when I visited but the facility is absolutely beautiful and perfect for a lazy beach day.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BarbadosMissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The Mural's other artist”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Not enough credit is being given to the Bajan artist involved in this project. He is Don Small, a teacher and a gifted artist who's diverse paintings of Barbados and it's inhabitants are much sought after and very beautiful.

His artwork can be found in several galleries in Barbados including Speightstown, and if you are lucky enough to be in Holetown during the Festival in February, you may find him there.

I am lucky enough to have acquired several of his paintings over the years and they are always much admired. I think it's sad that so much of the credit for this amazing Mural is being given only to a foreign artist .

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Westiegal3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eley1888, Manager at The Speightstown Mural, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear art appreciative defender of Bajan Artist
Par excellence Don Small
Don is a great artist and this is why he was chosen
You will find in the posted pictures
Quite a few highlighting Don in action on his biggest
Canvas this 80 x 20 mural
He has created the most important part or the mural
And reason for its existence
The comments posted are views by visiting patrons
Who probably met the other artist while he was here
Painting
I invite you to peruse the gallery of posted
Pictures and will happily keep you posted
To our future developments
Our first mural is now complete and in march of
This year we restored the mural at the Basheba
Comunity center and hopefully this fall
Will be the turn if the Speinger memorial secondary
School
And Speightstown's next mural
We will be posting other photos of Don in action
And at his art exhibit at the base if the mural
Some time last year
Hope you will visit the mural soon & experience
It for yourself
All the best to you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

The mural, which is on the side of Jordan's supermarket is one of the largest in the Caribbean and is technically very good but overall did not impress me to any great degree.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eley1888, Manager at The Speightstown Mural, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Speightstown visitor

regretfully the mural left you with "nothing to write home about" The mural reflects on typical old buildings left to decay and no one taking ownership.It shows a broken building with a twist showing 1/2 million years in the making with the composition of the Island, and this out of nowhere 2000 year old bridge depicting the history on this nation. From the Arawacks to where this Island got it's name. Through slavery , christianity, Errol Barrow taking the Island to independance by taking the Trident from Neptune as he holds on to Parliament ( the second olde3st in this hemisphere, to Morgan Lewis wind mill( the only one workinhg in this hemisphere today) a memory of the railway sysyem that existed at one point earlier in the 19th century, running water in the fountain in Bridgetown and the stand pipe giving running water versus the bucket approach. Then we time lapse to the other side. UWI university sir Grantly Adams the scholar with free education, The student, Bussa sculpture, Central Bank, The concorde flying in to BIM sometimes three times a week, Sir Garfeild Sobers playing cricket on the beach with a chattel house in the foreground, Codrington college, crew ships, fisherman, flying fish, gated comunities, and farmer turned buisness man watering cane and no longer harvesting agriculture but realestate. not mentioning the moss and verdant green vegetationtaking over some of the walls.And last but not least Carl Broodhagen the famous Barbadian sculptor looking into the caves and marveling at what he sees before him. All of this is culminated with a promenade boardwalk leading you into Speightstown. A lovely little town sitting therre waiting for something to happen. But yet little has happened untill one individual came forward and got all that was described started and with the support of the friends to Speightown got all of that done, Errol Barrow said in a speach in 1986 " You can sit there or help get another man on the moon"
The town now has a beach it did not have before, windows to the sea, showers on the beach and 6 washrooms ( all done privately ) Unfortunately there was no pamflet encapsulating all of this. there will be soon. Hopefully our shores will be re visited by you sometime again soon, when you wil be able to view this biggest piece of public art lit for all to enjoy at night
See you soon mural side
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level Contributor
126 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Barbados' heritage depicted in Trope L'Oeil style on a massive scale.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This mural,a unique artwork by John Pubh overlooks the stunning Speightstown beach.
Largest mural in the southern Caribbean.
Worth a journey.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseca80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eley1888, Manager at The Speightstown Mural, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
In 2010 I commissioned the famous Trompe L'Oeil artist, John Pugh of California, and local Artist Don Small to paint and erect an 80 feet by 20 feet mural depicting the history of Barbados on a wall adjacent to the Jordan's supermarket The work is now and was completed in March 2013.( over three years in the making )
If you have time visit Speightstown ask for Pierre. (the man behind the mural) You will be entertained.
Speightstown was formally settled around 1630 and in the earliest days of Settlement was Barbados's busiest port . Ships laden with sugar and other commodities left Speightstown bound directly for London and especially Bristol. For this reason Speightstown is sometimes known as Little Bristol. The quaint town has now become the centre of a tourist area as well as a secondary shopping centre.
The area of Speightstown was the first major port and commercial centre of Barbados. The city is named after William Speight, a member of Barbados' first Assembly during the colonial years as well as the former land owner where the city is located. It has a long and colorful history reaching back to the 17th century when it served as one of the main ports connecting the island with the “mother country,” England. Back then Speightstown was sometimes called “Little Bristol” because of these trading connections with Bristol in England. This little village was the port that Ayscue could not take, when dispatched by Cromwell to quell the insurrection in Barbados in 1649. The Barbadians were loyal to Charles I, and would not accept Oliver Cromwell as their protector. For six months Ayscue was unable to land in Barbados, and concentrated attacks on Speightstown were repelled by the small forts along the shore.
These comments were share with us By professor Henry Frazer to whom credit must be given as the person who suggested I contact John Pugh. John was contacted and invited me to his waiting list of projects in progress and a three year waiting list. Somehow John came in early 2010 and met fellow artist Don Small and we managed to get the pole position and become the next mural on his studio wall.
What an experience
What a pleasure to now look at
you are all invited to view and meet the town people
you will find me mural side everyday except mondays till December 15th
We love the mural we love Speightstown
Long life to both
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Speightstown Mural also viewed

Saint Joseph Parish, Barbados
Saint Peter Parish, Barbados
 
Saint Thomas Parish, Barbados
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 

Been to The Speightstown Mural? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing