We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and location”
Review of The Fish Pot

The Fish Pot
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Speightstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Fantastic restaurant overlooking the sea, with excellent lobster. Can't believe no-one has reviewed it before!
Poole
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food and location”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had one of the best meals whilst on holiday at the Fish Pot. The tuna tartare was amazing followed by the catch of the day....delicious!

Definiely some of the best food I had whillst in Barbados. Ask for a table by the water.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    959
    407
    156
    52
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barbados, West Indies
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Little Disappointed”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This was our first visit. They advertise they have parking. When we arrived, the space which I saw allocated for parking can hold about 5 vehicles. The staff who greeted us, seemed somewhat distracted and in a rush. We were escorted to our table, which are very close to the other tables. I believe our conversation can be heard by those at the tables around us. The same staff member who escorted us to our table, is the same person who came and took our order. While giving our order, it felt as if this staff member was still in a rush, as they were leaving our table before we were completed giving our order. To be honest I felt like leaving at this time, but decided to give it a try. The wait time for the appetizers was pretty long, also for our main course. The food was not bad. I believe the service takes away from the experience. I had sparkling water, and every time it was poured into my glass, by the same staff member who greeted, escorted us and took our order, it was splashing onto the table, as it was being poured really rough. At one point, I had to remove my cell phone from the table when they were about to pour some. I am not the type to complain about anything when I go into any establishment, which is serving me food. However, as a person who is big on providing quality service, and who has worked in the service industry for many years, I am of the view that those who are in that industry, should always aim to give a high standard service every time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PPWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moondance2010, Owner at The Fish Pot, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
No excuses for sloppy service. Our apologies.

Hopefully your review will be noticed by the staff and they will make more effort going forward.

Regarding the parking - we do have 7 car bays immediately outside the restaurant with a further 6 bays 50 feet further up the road as well as 12 car bays in the hotel opposite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baildon, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great location”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Extensive menu, caters for all tastes and pockets. Excellent service. Great tasting food. Friendly owner and staff. Overlooks the beach and sea, a fabulous location with not much else there except the very quiet, elegant Little Good Harbour hotel across the road. Can be accessed by local bus from Speightstown for 60p, no need for a taxi.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanBrown99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
congerstone
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Such a shame - gone downhill”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Having been to Barbados several times over the last few years we decided to give the Fish Pot one last try after becoming increasingly disappointed with the standards over a few visits. The location is idyllic, and when we first went there 9 years ago it was packed. Slowly, over time, it has become less popular, to the point of desertion. We booked for a 2.30p.m. lunch - the latest they serve it, and when we arrived we were met with many signs inviting us to eat at the Atlantis Restaurant in Bathsheba - not very inviting for another restaurant. None of the staff seemed happy - all were sullen (unlike most Bajans on the island). We were shown to our table then had to wait ages for service for drinks, despite there being only one other table occupied and plenty of staff on duty. Our starter was fine, but we had to keep serving ourselves from the wine bottle - no further service. Before we'd finished our starter (by this time we were alone in the restaurant) a cleaner started working on the restaurant at the next tables - which we couldn't believe. They carried on cleaning all around us throughout the rest of our meal. In addition to this my husband ordered a rare steak and it came well done. The food was plain and overcooked - and extortionately expensive. We were going to have a dessert6, and coffee, but we couldn't wait to leave. We did complain and received an apology and were not charged for the steak to be fair. Please Fish Pot, change your ways because you have an enviable location and when we return to the island in a few months we will feel very sad not to return to you.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank old-ivy-house
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moondance2010, Owner at The Fish Pot, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Sorry that your most recent experience at The Fish Pot did not live up to your expectations.
I am sorry also that whilst we had apologized for the over cooked steak and fully refunded you, that you still felt the desire to further tarnish our product by writing your review.
We have had a great winter, busier than ever before, and now summer has arrived. Staff do tend to become more complacent at this time of the year, and perhaps in this instance, did leave the steak on a little to long.
Perhaps also the cleaning staff were a little anxious to prepare the restaurant for the dinner shift, given the lateness of the day.
My apologies for this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
151 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“One of the best, with a great view”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Right on the beach, chilled (the atmosphere and the wine), relaxed, restrained. What agreat spot. This year we had lunch here, Duck Spring Rolls to start followed by Asian BBQ Salmon and Grilled Lobster. All was delicious. Definitely one to put on your list.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PBW32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish Pot also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
 
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
 

Been to The Fish Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing