We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxed.”
Review of Island Plates

Island Plates
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Speightstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $28
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Island Plates is a lovely Cafe in Town Square, Speightstown, St. Peter (The Mall is located opposite Jordan's Supermarket). It is run by local sisters Pat and Marie. Food is prepared to order and the cafe serves up fresh local juice, hearty salads, hot baguettes, good stuff for the sweet tooth and a variety of pastas, fish dishes, homemade curries and homemade quiches to name a few.Vegans, Vegetarians, Gluten-Free meals are offered here as well. You can do takeaways, sit in or sit on the outdoor decking. Whatever you decide, you will be greeted and served with a warm smile and attentive, friendly staff.Island Plates. Fresh Food. It's in the Delivery!
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very relaxed.”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stopped by Island Plates on our last day in Barbados for a spot of breakfast and we weren't disappointed. We deliberately chose to go because of it's #1 rating on Trip Advisor and it was easy to see why it is so highly held. From the very start the hospitality is superb, very polite and relaxed. The food was tasty and very well priced and I will definitely return again when i'm next on the island.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lewis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_IslandPlates, Owner at Island Plates, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review on us at Island Plates. We were really pleased that you decided to spend some of your last 4 hours in Barbados with us and happy that you enjoyed the service and meal.

We look forward to meeting you again with open arms.

Take Care

Pat, Marie & Team @Island Plates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    92
    15
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Don't miss this!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I stopped for lunch today, fantastic typical barbadian hospitality, had the baguettes.. Very tasty! The smoothies are to die for, going one evening for the dinner menu and Saturday lunch for the curry! Seriously recommend this to everyone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrissy1970190817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_IslandPlates, Owner at Island Plates, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your banana smoothie and your baguettes. Looking forward to welcoming you again for curry and Thursday evening dinner.

Pat, Marie & Team at Island Plates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A welcome rest/meal in the middle of the day”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We visited Speightstown, "discovered" Island Plate. Decided to have a coffee, excellent. A walk around the Town, decided to have Lunch. Wow, what a discovery. Very good food, attentive staff made our visit memorable. Well worth a visit. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stephen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_IslandPlates, Owner at Island Plates, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad that you took the time to stroll around our beautiful Speightstown; it is steeped in historical buildings and you can meet some interesting people who know quite alot about the town.

We hope you find yourself back in Speightstown sometime soon and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Pat, Marie & Team at Island Plates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife and I, decided to try it for breakfast one morning and it was great. The service was exemplary, with all the staff taking the time out to come talk to us, as we had many questions. Truth be told I was so impressed that I tried to talk my wife into staying a few hours so that we could sample the lunch menu.

I must also add that we enjoyed their brownies so much that we ordered a pan the following week, as well as the rum cake balls rolled in toasted coconut, to share at a family gathering. The thing is that they usually require advance notice of 48 hours, however due some communication problems we only were able to make contact that morning and they accommodated us. Thanks Island Plates and Happy Anniversary.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dbmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_IslandPlates, Owner at Island Plates, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review and to wish us all a happy anniversary. We really enjoyed serving you and I try to give you hints on how you can spend 3 hours in Speightstown without becoming bored :-); hope you remember the next time.

We look forward to welcoming you and the family at our doors again.

Pat, Marie & Team at Island Plates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful little spot.”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We spent many happy times at Island Plates. Tasty breakfasts, complete with warm welcomes and always a smile.
Dinner on the terrace was delicious and a lovely breeze from the ocean kept us cool.
Looking forward to 2014 when we will be back again to enjoy good food, friendly fun and warm smiles.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sixtieskids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_IslandPlates, Owner at Island Plates, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thanks so much for writing about us on TripAdvisor. We so look forward to your return next year ; stories and laughter ahead. Do take care in the meanwhile.

Pat, Marie & Team @Island Plates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Plates also viewed

Christ Church Parish, Barbados
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 
Dover, Christ Church Parish
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
 

Been to Island Plates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing