We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Fabulousness ”

Orange Street Grocer
Ranked #4 of 26 Restaurants in Speightstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed July 15, 2018 via mobile

WOW what an unexpected treat, having visited Barbados almost 30 times and having eaten at amazing restaurants all over the world, it is always an amazing feeling when you eat somewhere that far exceeds your expectations.

So wanting a quiet casual evening, we made a reservation at The Orange Street Grocer for dinner, there was steel drum entertainment and a nice relaxed atmosphere. We were welcomed by Nick, the owner, who explained the restaurant and how ordering worked, we were then shown to our table, beautiful view of the sea and a view of the entertainment.

The restaurant only buys what it needs for that day, so all the produce was fresh and grown or caught locally.

The menus are all on blackboards near the counter and the staff and Nick are on hand to explain the dishes. We ordered a nice bottle of Sauvignon Blanc to drink at under £20 and that accompanied the delicious food.

To eat we had 3 mains, a stir fry (great portion size, fresh ingredients), Tuna with rice and Mango salad (the tuna was freshly caught and perfectly cooked with ginger, the rice was full of little tasty surprises and the mango salad was fresh and tasty), Lasagne (served with salad and garlic bread, this individual dish had a spicy Caribbean twist and devouring every mouthful).

To finish we had warm chocolate brownie, blueberry cheesecake and 3 spoons, the played were scrapped clean. In short the food was amazing.

If you're looking for fancy table cloths, fancy surroundings and posh waiters then go somewhere else. But if you're looking for great food, fantastic staff and a great host then give it a try. We will definitely be going back very soon.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank HappyTrails387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 585 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

This restaurant / deli is what first drew us to speightstown and even though speightstown is developing at a pace it is still our favourite spot and what always keeps us coming back.

Great views and good food made with fresh ingredients , personality and pride!

Breakfast, lunch and dinner are all superb. Check with them when they have music, as it’s a great spot to sit in the evening and have a few bottles of wine and some great pizza.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank aprilsbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2018

We popped in here one really wet morning to have breakfast. It was excellent and my wife reckoned her omelette was one of the best she has had. The evening meal was a bit of a fog for me as I had had a long day at Little Bristol Beach Bar but Jo tells me the pizza's were fantastic. I will take her word for it. Try it, good place for a cheaper, good quality meal in a great atmosphere.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank 56stuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2018

This restaurant/pizzeria is located in Speightstown and well worth a visit. The decor is modern and interesting. We chose pizzas from the blackboard and they were absolutely delicious washed down with a couple of beers. It's the sort of place where you can enjoy coffee and cake or a good breakfast. Will definitely go again.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank belladonna12015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2018

This is a lovely place for lunch, dinner (check opening nights) or just a coffee and cake. Fabulous location, friendly helpful service and really good food.

We are always tempted by the salads and pizzas and what makes OSG stand out from the crowd are the quality ingredients. Pizzas are made in a pizza oven, have lovely thin bases and a range of toppings.

Their salads are great - interesting combinations from roasted cauliflower, to mex-tex.

Portions are generous and everything is freshly made.

I highly recommend this lovely restaurant in speightstown.

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank NICK R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orange Street Grocer also viewed

Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
 
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
 

Been to Orange Street Grocer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing