We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cobblers Cove
Nearby Hotels
Cassandra 2 Beach Apartments(Speightstown)(Great Value!)
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa(Saint Peter Parish)(Great Value!)
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$597
$381
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saint Peter's Bay(Saint Peter Parish)(Great Value!)
$960
$475
Expedia.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Legend Garden Condos(Lower Carlton)(Great Value!)
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lantana Resort(Weston)(Great Value!)
$188
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Royal Pavilion(Porters)(Great Value!)
$742
$526
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$853
$360
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (537)
Filter reviews
537 results
Traveler rating
421
79
20
12
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
421
79
20
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscobblerafternoon teaother gueststhe general managerwater skiinghis teamwater sportssmall hotelocean frontcocktail partyyear after yearcharming hotelenglish country housesandy lanerelais chateauxhis wifethe west coast of barbados
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
295 - 300 of 537 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This lovely little hotel has slipped some in the past year. Gone are some small amenities from the suites. No small torches, no orchid, no flowers anywhere, no room service menu, no breakfast cards, no goodnight card with weather forecast, no Barbados visitor information, no postcards. The gourmet food events in January put heavy demands on the staff to the point that the regular returning guests (most for many years running) were not afforded the usual level of service and the daily rhythm of the resort was disrupted. The restaurant was often chaotic. New top management is required soon and an adjustment should be made to the apparent scatter-gun approach to refurbishment. All that said, we will no doubt return, if only to see all the wonderful people who work at Cobblers Cove. And we hope the current trend will be quickly reversed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annie546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGodsal-CobblersCove, Owner at Cobblers Cove, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Annie - thank you very much for your business and for your review, although I sorry that you think that standards are slipping. You will be pleased to hear though that most of the "missing items" that you list are simply in the process of being upgraded, such as much higher quality books on Barbados in the suites, new breakfast cards, room service menus etc. We did stop the orchids in the rooms as we did not think that they looked good enough, but you are not the first person to comment on this so perhaps we need to rethink this. I fully accept that having Michel Roux Jr cooking at the hotel in January did place strain on the service due to the high number of outside guests eating at Cobblers, for which I apologise. We are in the process of recruiting a new head of restaurant and we have appointed a new general manager, both of which positions were not filled during your stay. I hope that you liked some of the improvements that we did this year, such as the new sun loungers, the new umbrellas round the pool, the new table clothes and lay out of the dining room etc etc? I very much hope that you will come back to us next year, and please do contact me if you would like to discuss this further. I would be delighted to speak to you about this. Yours, Hugh Godsal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Cobbler’s Cove proved to be the perfect hotel for our family holiday. Upon arrival we were greeted with a refreshing fruit punch and led to our rooms. The rooms were beautifully decorated, they are all very large, airy, generous suites: bedroom, dressing room, bathroom, living room with a kitchenette, and a balcony or garden. We were lucky to have communicating rooms, which when open became an enormous area.
The hotel itself is not too big, without it being cramped, it is intimate and the children could wander around easily and with confidence. We loved the gardens - very lush and well planted with different palms, offering shade and views from the terraces or gardens, and a contrast from the beach, when you wanted a change of scenery.
The beach was well kept up, clean sand, and wonderful warm seas to swim in. The children loved snorkelling around the hotel, as well as going water-skiing. Even our five year old novice could feel a pro, as he was given a special ski-board made by the lovely water sports men, which enabled him to stay up in the water.
The food was delicious, breakfast offered a huge choice, from made to order pancakes, to eggs any style to tropical fruits… Lunch and dinner had delicious fresh fish, seafood and salads, as well as barbecued steaks and some local Bajan dishes.
Apart from enjoying the sea, playing tennis and reading, we went off on a few excursions which were easily arranged - to see in the old town the fish market and the synagogue and the museum…
The extremely relaxing, fantastic and attentive service from all the staff, whether housekeeping, restaurant, bar, watersports or reception - made the atmosphere so very easy for an amazingly enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeovonO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I cannot think of a negative thing to say about this delightful hotel fronting the beach. From arrival to departure, the staff were fantastic in every way, making my friend and her daughter and I feel like old friends, and many visitors have returned over and over again for exactly that reason. Cobblers Cove has a relaxed feel, set in lush gardens full of birds and other wildlife. From my lovely balcony room I could see and hear the waves and watch humming birds feeding. The room was immaculate and comfortable with everything one needed and no TV - fantastic! I thought the service was good, despite the complaints of some impatient clients. It is the Caribbean after all and surely that is the whole point, to relax and not be in a mad hurry? The hotel is located further up the west coast away from the "western luxury shops" and other smart large hotels, but a short taxi ride gets you there should you want to sample some of the great restaurants on offer. Eating at the hotel restaurant was delicious and many people come from other hotels to eat there, both at lunch and dinner, so always buzzy and fun. Tea is served at 4pm - a very popular occasion, with cucumber sandwiches and cakes. There are many other lovely touches from lovely flowers on the tables to sorbet served on a spoon mid morning as you lounge in the sun. The beach and swimming are safe and calm and you can walk along the beach to Speightstown which is a small but busy local town with market stalls and small shops. I loved every minute!

Room Tip: I loved my balcony room
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carostraker61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

It is very difficult to find a hotel which combines professional service with a genuinely welcoming, personal feel but Cobblers Cove achieves this perfectly. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted with great warmth and within a very short space of time, felt completely at home there. We had stayed there briefly once before and were even more delighted with the hotel second time around. Nothing was too much trouble for all of the exceptionally friendly staff, and we were most impressed by their helpfulness and efficiency. One of our fellow guests, a charming ex-butler, very thoughtfully alerted the staff to the fact that my daughter was 21 during our time there and suggested that the band sing her 'happy birthday' and the kitchen produce a birthday cake for her. What a lovely gesture that was. It is small, personal touches like these which make a good hotel stand out above the averagely good. We loved the spotlessly clean, pretty bedroom suites, the flowers in our sitting rooms, the beautiful garden which gives everyone vital privacy in their rooms and of course the sensationally good dining. Reception could not have been more helpful in advising us of other restaurants to go to and in booking them, our hire car was arranged by them to be waiting for us at the hotel when we arrived and taken away at the end of our visit (no hideous queuing at the airport, joy); the list could run for pages. It was a very happy experience and we shall certainly return as so many other guests have done before us. (What lovely guests too, everyone happy to chat to complete strangers, so friendly, but at no point invasive). A lovely, lovely hotel.

Room Tip: We have stayed in upstairs and downstairs suites and liked them equally well.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeccaT247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGodsal-CobblersCove, Owner at Cobblers Cove, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear Becca - thank you very much for your lovely review, which I have shared with the team at Cobblers. I am so pleased that you and your daughter enjoyed their holiday. Please come again soon! Yours, Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We have experienced many hotels in the Caribbean over the last 20 years and the most noticeable aspect of Cobblers Cove is that the hotel team do everything they can to warmly welcome new and returning guests, make them comfortable and encourage them to mix. The small scale of Cobblers also encourages this. We were first time guests, in our 50s and a couple we met in their 30s had the same feedback and mentioned that they had chosen the hotel because there were so many good reviews on TripAdvisor from return guests.

Apparently their Chef, Michael Harrison trained with Michel Roux Jr at Le Gavroche in London and we enjoyed his wonderful food. Over the last few days we were very fortunate that our trip coincided with a visit from Michel Roux and we had the opportunity to sample his food and to meet him.

We enjoyed the lovely setting which included a beautiful garden, a deck for sunbathing by the pool and beaches on either side. The daily complimentary water-skiing was also a big plus.

We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews