We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and inexpensive and a great view”
Review of Fisherman's Pub

Fisherman's Pub
Ranked #3 of 24 Restaurants in Speightstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Caribbean, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Come to Fisherman's Pub and meet Clement "Junior" (proprietor)and our friendly staff. This family owned local restaurant has been in existence since 1937. We are located in the heart of Speightstown in the north of island. We offer tasty and affordable authentic Bajan dishes (cafeteria style) in a relaxed and casual setting. We can seat 80 persons indoors and 44 outdoors on the deck. Our business hours are Sun - Sat 11 am - 6:00 pm (kindly book for groups of 6 or more) we serve lunch until 4:00 pm. Join us for dinner (Tue - Sat) in the months of mid Nov - April from 6:00 - 9:00 pm (reservations preferred) as we close early on slow nights. We do open on public holidays (including Christmas Day) 11 am - 4 pm. We do cater to private functions on or off site, and you can also rent the Pub by the hour! Our motto. "Good food, Better prices, Best service!" Our slogan "Get hooked on us!"...Look out for our "new" but still rustic look coming soon!!
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful and inexpensive and a great view”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The food here was awesome and the view wasn't too bad either. We were staying in Holetown, just south of Speightstown. The menu changes daily and we went on a Monday when they had the best beef stew you've ever tasted. This is not normal beef stew as you know it in the US, but tender beef in a rich dark sauce that had island spices. We also had macaroni pie which was amazing. The restaurant sits right on the beach so the view is wonderful. The owners are super nice also. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    287
    53
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Rum Shop and More”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Speightstown is a place to get away from the crowd. And Fisherman's Pub is a ideal spot to enjoy hearty, good food; a cold Banks or some Mt Gay; and enjoy the ocean views.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheBajanQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Owner, best in Speightstown”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We came across Fisherman's Pub by accident. We were visiting Speightstown to see Arlington House Museum. In the lower level of the Museum you could view videos of the locals of Speightstown giving an account of who they were and how they got there. We came across Mr. Armstrong, owner of the Fisherman's Pub in one of the videos and remembered that he said he was born in Trinidad. As we walked through Speightstown, we decided to stop at Fisherman's pub and to our delight we actually met Mr. Armstrong the owner and the person we just saw in the video at Arlington Museum. It was quite a welcoming, easy going pub with friendly patrons. We sat outside just overlooking the beach and enjoyed a lovely meal watching the birds hop along and the tiny crabs scuffle along the beach. As Almond Village closed down, the area has seen a drop in tourists. I would highly recommend that everyone visits Speightstown and go to Fisherman's Pub, meet Mr. Armstrong and help the economy of Speightstown.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ecogranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food with a beautiful view”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We went with another couple and sampled a little of everything. The food was good the owners super friendly the beer cold and the view of the ocean beautiful. They serve food buffet style you just go down the line tell them what you want and they charge you per scoop. We would go back again if we are ever on barbados

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carrieberry99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

This is a fabulous little eatery right on the sea. Food is good Bajan fare, well prepared and tasty. It's laid back and relaxing. Views are stunning. We go again and again when we visit Barbados and it's a must to bring our guests to. Always a great time. Get a Banks and sit back!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PMdivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisherman's Pub also viewed

Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
 
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Fisherman's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing